We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat.”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Aberffraw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A traditional coastal pub with a small dining area and enclosed beer garden overlooking the River Ffraw estuary and sand dunes. We offer a good range of alcoholic and soft drinks including real ales, and quality home cooked food at an affordable price. Easily accessible from the A4080 and The Anglesey Coastal Path making us popular with dog walkers and families alike.
Reviewed October 22, 2018

A welcoming Inn in a great location close to the estuary with easy parking round and about. The menu is typical pub fayre supplemented with a daily specials board. We had a super tasty lunch of Whitebait to start with followed by pan fried fish. The food was great and portions plentiful. Our first visit to The Crown and we will be back to sample more. After the meal we walked down the Estuary and round the coast to Cwyfan Church which is marooned at high tide. A great way to walk off those calories. Maybe next time we'll do the walk first with the prize of a meal at The Crown to round off the day. Both the pub and walk are highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 479 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2018

A first visit to this little pub, a friendly owner behind the bar and a large, good ham sandwich. What more could you want - lots of happily served customers enjoying what looked like home-cooked meals! For me less crisps , opportunity to add less salad dressing and even a smaller sandwich on more interesting bread ( do some older people eat a little less?) . Decaffeinated coffee or tea would be most welcome to those of us forbidden the boost of caffeine, the choice of tonics was nice though and lemon with ice made it most delightful on a sunny autumn day, I wonder if the pub has more 'pubby' ambience in the evening, I hope so and intend to find out! Lovely people there.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank InesCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

Whilst on holiday in the lovely Anglesey we saw on tripadvisor great reviews for the crown , so we called and the reviews are accurate. Lovely welcome and the food is very tasty also our dog welcomed . Would recommend

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank lynno305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

Lovely meal AGAIN last night,steak was absolutely lovely,the fish pie and the lamb shank meal gorgeous
Working our way through the menu never disapointed with meals at THE CROWN!!
Staff are really nice and so friendly,make you want to go back
C u all soon

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank elerihughes60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Came here with two other couples because the reviews put it in the top 3 pub lunch locations in Anglesey.
We weren't disappointed either. Excellent freshly prepared food. Very generous portions.
Recommend the fish pie and the steak and ale pie.
Very friendly staff and a quick service.
Well worth the visit!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank JGManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 
Brynsiencyn, Island of Anglesey
Rhoscolyn, Island of Anglesey
 
Rhosneigr, Island of Anglesey
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing