We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Dozen & Grilled Crabcake Done Right”

Washington Crab & Seafood Shack
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: We have the best food around and a relaxing atmosphere to match. Our recipes are authentic and time-tested. The ingredients are always fresh and always North Carolina seafood. We're not fancy! Just great food! We are Amy and Tony Tripp. We offer raw North Carolina Seafood at Washington Crab and Oyster Company, so it just seemed like a natural step to offer the greatest seafood available cooked as well.- You cook or We cook! The best of both worlds!
Restaurant details
Description: We have the best food around and a relaxing atmosphere to match. Our recipes are authentic and time-tested. The ingredients are always fresh and always North Carolina seafood. We're not fancy! Just great food! We are Amy and Tony Tripp. We offer raw North Carolina Seafood at Washington Crab and Oyster Company, so it just seemed like a natural step to offer the greatest seafood available cooked as well.- You cook or We cook! The best of both worlds!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped to try the local oysters and were very pleased. The museum docent referral was a winner. This place had fast service and was clean. The oysters were raw and just right. They had green Tabasco and saltines, Amen.

Thank rogersober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyT3431, Owner at Washington Crab & Seafood Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks Roger. So glad you gave us a try. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 147 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2018

Did I say already - BEST Shrimp I have ever eaten - don't change anything! The hushpuppies were sweet and crispy, slaw very fresh too! You must give this place a try!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyT3431, Owner at Washington Crab & Seafood Shack, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thanks, Shane. You really can't beat fresh NC shrimp. Glad you enjoyed your mea.l

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

truly a shack type seafood joint. order at a window and they bring it to your table. some of the place has a/c, small clean bathroom on the outside. orders are taken quickly and the food comes out very quick. we stopped twice on a trip to ocracoke and had the incredible fried shrimp both times, sold by the 1/2 pound. this is the go to order. the crab cake was very reasonably priced and very good, though definitely not the lump stuff, but mainly crab. tried the fried oysters and they were crisp and perfectly fried. the cocktail sauce is house made and great, as is the tarter sauce. the coleslaw is home made too, and exactly the type i like, not too sweet or too mayonnaisey. we will return each time we pass thru the area. the advertise steamed crabs and i would guess they are fresh however, we did not have the time or desire to get messy so we passed on their specialty

1  Thank 888rp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, Owner at Washington Crab & Seafood Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thank you RP. So glad you enjoyed your meals. Hopefully, on the next time thru you can try some steamed crabs...or if it is later in the fall, our steamed oysters. But shrimp is always a sure bet, it is my go to order too!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

It can be a little warm during the hottest part of the summer but the food makes it worth it! Try the fried flounder in the summer. In the fall the steamed oysters are always excellent.

Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, Owner at Washington Crab & Seafood Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Thanks Lisa. So glad you enjoyed your flounder. Unfortunately, we try our best to air condition the inside with two systems but in the heat of the summer that gets difficult because it is truly a shack - with a non insulated tin roof. We'll keep trying to cool it off!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We eat here about once a week. Like the shrimp and crab cakes. Can order how well done you want items cooked. Fries are ok if you don't mind Ole Bay on them. Order at window and find a seat, they'll bring your food out. Definitely should try it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, Owner at Washington Crab & Seafood Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Thanks, Karen. So glad you enjoyed your meal. And if you would like, you can order your fries without any seasoning. We realize that everyone does not have the same tastes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Washington Crab & Seafood Shack also viewed

Washington, North Carolina Coast
Washington, North Carolina Coast
 
Washington, North Carolina Coast
Washington, North Carolina Coast
 
Washington, North Carolina Coast
Washington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Washington Crab & Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing