We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great summer time golf spot

What a relief from the hot weather off the mountain.This was our groups first time playing... read more

Reviewed August 13, 2018
ahotelman
,
Winston Salem, North Carolina
via mobile
Mountain golf

Nice challenging course. The greens were tough to read and some picturesque holes. Some heavy... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2018
summerfield4
,
Greensboro, North Carolina
via mobile
Read all 28 reviews
  
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
17
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews uphill challenging picturesque fun nc
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

What a relief from the hot weather off the mountain.This was our groups first time playing here.
The course is in very good condition,especially with all the rain that the area has had.The views are fantastic. The first 3 holes are not the best but once you get comfortable with the uphill and down hill lies you can settle in for a fun round of golf.
The rates are very reasonable. I look forward to coming back.

Thank ahotelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Nice challenging course. The greens were tough to read and some picturesque holes. Some heavy rain made the day tough but overall nice course and look forward to playing again. No alcohol served which is a downside for some.

Thank summerfield4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

The course is so much more than just golf! It’s beauty and views are outstanding. We stayed in Vilas, NC and drove to West Jefferson to golf this wonderful course. It’s challenging but not to hard. You won’t be disappointed!

Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2018

This course is a challenge to walk. Get a cart. The view is beautiful. The course is maintained. The staff is nice. It is a challenging course.

Thank dylanc812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

What a nice surprise to find that the course nearest to my home is not only beautiful, but well cared for, has super friendly staff, and fun as hell to play.

Thank H3387SGscottk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017

Great layout with mint condition greens. Great tee box advantage for the ladies. The green fees were very reasonable.

Thank traveler1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2017

The crew at Mountain Aire do such a great job keeping the course looking fantastic all year long. Philip, Mark and the rest of the gang are some of the nicest and most knowledgeable guys you'll ever meet.

The course hosts several fundraising tournaments throughout the year as well as the annual Twilight League.

Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful course. Greens need to be faster. Friendly staff. Great weather. Beautiful area. Great places to eat

Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

Nice mountain golf layout but the greens were less than average - bumping, lumpy and need of cutting. In addition to the sub par greens, the person who waited on us was quite rude to us. We travelled over 1 1/2 hrs from Beech Mt to play. We thought we would try this instead of playing Red Tail - our mistake.

1  Thank JOHNT903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Average temperature is much cooler than the Piedmont with terrain you only find in the mountains. Well kept greens and scenic views.

Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews