We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun at the bar watching football!”
Review of Boondocks Brewing

Boondocks Brewing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Boondocks Brewing was founded in 2012 with a mission to provide a fresh, unique and engaging destination for residents as well as visitors to Ashe County. We are a locally owned and employee run small business that is Dedicated to Excellence and Committed to our Community. We are Ashe County's first and only commercially licensed Craft Beer Brewery and we brew small batches of hand crafted beers weekly. With 2 locations in downtown West Jefferson, Boondocks Brewing offers full service dining, one of the State's best Craft Beer selections, off-site catering, customized special events, private parties and brewery tours. Boondocks Brewing is where the locals go and is a must stop destination for visitors to the High Country. Boondocks Brewing's Tap Room & Restaurant located at 108 S Jefferson Ave is our main location with the High Country's best Craft Beer selection and an extensive and diverse menu with both inside and covered outside full service dining areas. Open 11:00 am 7 days a week. Boondocks Brewing's Brew Haus located at 302 S Jefferson Ave is the home of our Brewing operations and is also our special events venue where we can customize virtually any special event. This location is open by appointment only or when we are are brewing (normally each Tuesday).
Reviewed November 19, 2017

We stopped in for beers and snacks on a very wet and dreary Saturday afternoon. The bar and restaurant were busy but the bartender was very attentive. Lots of fun beers to choose from and they had all the college games on the multiple tvs in the bar area. Appetizers were good including the flatbread pizza. Although not the weather for it on this trip, the covered deck which is doggie friendly is another favorite of ours.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WillowOak09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoondocksBrewing, Owner at Boondocks Brewing, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Thank you for spending some time with us Saturday and for posting your kind review. The day started nice enough but it sure turned a bit on the crappy side after the Parade. We hope to see you again soon.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 503 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2017 via mobile

Acoustics in this place are irritating at best horrendous at worst. Food is really good, burgers top notch as are most items but the noise level is the big downer. Its virtually impossible to carry on a conversation when its crowded inside. Outside is far better but their tendency to have the background music volume turned up is disturbing even then. Could easily get 5 stars if the noise levels were addressed.

2  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoondocksBrewing, Owner at Boondocks Brewing, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Thank you for posting your review. I apologize that the noise level does make it hard to carry on a conversation at times. Our building is quite large with high ceilings and although we keep the background music low, when we are busy and our guests are having a good time it can get a bit loud.

If you are seated on the deck and the music is too loud, please ask your server to turn it down. They are supposed to keep that music at a low level but sometimes they do turn it up a bit much.

We will be doing some needed renovations over the Winter and will certainly look for ways to improve the ambiance and acoustics but please understand that although we can control the volume of our sound system, there is little we can do to "turn down" the volume of our guests enjoying themselves.

We will continue to work hard to address your concerns and we hope to serve you again soon.

Gary - Founder/Head Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2017

Servers described the new fall beers so well, we HAD to try both of them!
All four of us had different brews and LOVED them. And the food - WOW - we came for the burgers and ended up having pasta, salmon with amazing seasoning, and ahi tuna.
We’ll be back!

Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoondocksBrewing, Owner at Boondocks Brewing, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017

Thank you so very much for allowing our team to serve you.
I greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your very kind review. I love to share these types of reviews with our team as this is the type of experience we work hard to make sure that every one of our guests has.
Unfortunately a lot of people only take the time to post a review when we mess something up, so again, thank you for letting us know we got it right.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Safe travels where ever they may lead.

At your service,
Gary - Founder/Head Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017

We fully enjoyed our meal at the Boondocks, prices were fair and the service was great. We will visit again

Thank leannamtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoondocksBrewing, Owner at Boondocks Brewing, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Thank you for allowing our team to serve you and for taking the time to post your kind review.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Safe travels.

Gary - Founder/Head Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch on the deck at Boondocks along with people watching. First we ordered a Bells Amber and Flattop Oktoberfest beers (we were surprised that there weren't any Boondocks brews on the menu). Next we ordered a margherita flatbread and a bratwurst sandwich. The cheese on the flatbread was different tasting, but the bratwurst was homemade with a pretzel bun. Yumm! The deck is a good place to watch the people walking around W. Jefferson on a warm day. Parking nearby was very easy with no parking meters in W. Jefferson.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dougb269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoondocksBrewing, Owner at Boondocks Brewing, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Thank you for spending some time with us and for posting your kind review.

We actually have 5 to 6 of our own beers on the menu at all times and they are listed first on the menu so I am sorry that you missed them. Your server should have also pointed that out.

Hopefully we will have a chance to serve you again in the near future and I hope that you will find one of our beers to your liking.

Thank you again for allowing us to serve you and for taking the time to post your review.

At your service,
Gary - Founder/Head Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boondocks Brewing also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Boondocks Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing