We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of The Wilmingtonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wilmingtonian
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I only got to spent 2 nights here...wish it was longer!
It's in the perfect location.
I stayed on the ground floor in the cinema building.
The room was spotless. Big full kitchen, comfortable living room, bedroom was great.
Nice flat screen T.V and dvd player. A nice big patio area with 2 rocking chairs looking out into the beautiful gardens.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Parking was very convenient and everything is within walking distance.
I will definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurielennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

Centered just off the main path of downtown Wilmington, this is a great location to walk (literally) a block and be in the heart of nightlife. The hotel feels like more of a bead and breakfast, with homespun decor and furnishings. It's kinda like a staying a night at grandma's house. Even when considering the great location, I thought it a bit overpriced. It passed for clean, but old stains and such could be seen on the furniture in our room. All considered, if the price were a bit lower, I'd consider it a value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. We hope that you'll contact us with the room that you stayed in so we can address the problems listed in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed at the Wilmingtonian on a recent bicycle trip down the east coast. The hotel is well located in the hitsoric part of town, and the hotel's accomodations were quite nice. I had a suite for what seemed like a very reasonable price. The suite was large enough to have accomodated a longer stay, although I was only there for one night. If I'm back in Wilmington I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I picked this one as it was right downtown and we could get a suite with a separate liviningroom and a small kitchnette very reasonably. It was extremely comfortable and clean....just old. My husband really liked it as he could play his guitar in the wee hours without disturbing me. I loved the location and the city was great. Don't miss Wilmington if you visit NC.

Room Tip: We had the mariner's suite and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thanks for the recommendation. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

If you are looking or enjoy historic type atmosphere. Then this is the place for you. The staff here have Soithern Hospitality mastered. I brought my dog and when we got into the room they had a dog pillow for him, 2 bowls and treats. The location is awesome and the rooms have a ton of character.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natmo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thanks so much! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Comfortable suites, helpful staff, and a great location in the middle of downtown. Pet friendly was a big plus, but the daily was a bit much and the only downside. Unfortunately, "pet fees" seem to be an increasingly common way for hotels to increase their rates. I always ask what extra services are performed because a guest stays with a pet and the answer is always the same: nothing. The room is cleaned in the exact same fashion whether a pet has been there or not, so why the extra fee???

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holenhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for this great review. We hope to see you again soon and your furry family member, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed in the Maritime House. It felt more like a small apartment than a hotel. It's got an older feel, but everything is clean. The room has a small fridge and a microwave. The bathroom is spacious. The wifi was a bit weak. I could access it in the living room area but not in the bed area. The lobby has a small room with a fridge stocked full of bottled drinks and yogurt. In the morning, there's fresh fruit, huge muffins, and granola bars. There's also a computer with internet in the small room. The staff was friendly. And of course the location was amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
3  Thank extrajourneywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.9 km away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.6 km away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
1,480 reviews
0.5 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#29 of 45 in Wilmington
166 reviews
11.1 km away
Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmingtonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmingtonian

Address: 101 S 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4401
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#18 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $198 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wilmingtonian 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in historic, downtown Wilmington surrounded by beautifully restored 19th-century homes and tree-lined neighborhoods, the meticulously renovated Wilmingtonian Inn extends an invitation to unwind, relax, and absorb the romantic ambiance of Cape Fear Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Wilmingtonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington
Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing