We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
52
68
30
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
68
30
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coast guard ship washer and dryer hilton hotel bedroom condo the cape fear river buy groceries owned condo area rug view from the balcony condo rental false alarm living kitchen area in easy walking distance full size appliances pool and exercise room the uss north carolina full kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 185 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2018

Stayed here with 3 other families, 3 of the rooms were on the 6th floor. All I can say after walking 2 blocks in 93 degree weather because we had to check in at another hotel (surprise) and because of construction there was no access to the hotel parking lot (another surprise). We were then greeted with filthy, broken down disgusting rooms. The staff was friendly but had no information regarding access or how to manage through the construction for access to our hotel (this is a management issue). I cannot believe that Hilton actually associates their name with this dump.

Room tip: Don't stay at this hotel
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptrljp011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Dear Ptrljp011,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your comments. We were disappointed to read about the issues you encountered regarding the cleanliness of the rooms and parking lot access due to construction. Providing a fresh, clean room for our guests is our highest priority along with an enjoyable stay, and we apologize that steps were missed. We will pass this information along to our team. Thank you for noting our friendly staff, and we hope you will consider staying with us again so we can demonstrate the hospitality and service we normally provide.

Daniel Perkins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night in room 604. I rarely write reviews unless it's incredible or horrible. This was the latter. Let me preface this by saying we are not very picky people. Prior to our stay here we stayed in a one room tree house out in Asheville, NC with no plumping. HOWEVER, we were told that in the description and charged appropriately. This "suite" was far from worth a total of $189/night (base rate $149 + taxes and fees PLUS parking on the other side of construction is $12/24hrs). Aside from a great view and a very comfy bed this place was no where near worth the money. First, we checked in at hotel Ballast AFTER calling because we were confused with the construction and not told otherwise. The hotel staff was very kind and helpful but that's basically where the good ended. We parked and lugged out suitcase about a 3min walk to the not clearly marked back door. Once up to our floor we walked into a musty and dusty room where the previous guest's trash was still on the floor, a carpet that hadn't been vacuumed in a long time (pet and human hair), a disgusting hard wood floor covered in dirt, a broken stove top, a leaky bathroom sink with rust and broken cabinets. The bedroom sheets/bedspread looked ancient and smelt weird but luckily we had out own sheets that we brought for the aforementioned tree house. The construction was the least of our worries because the loud ac system drowned out those sounds. The pool was at hotel ballast on the other side of the construction so not exactly relaxing. When we go back to Wilmington we'd rather just at hotel Ballast, Embassy Suites or any other airbnb/vrbo place further down the river walk. It's a shame Hilton is associated with this dump.

Room tip: Don't waste your money, stay elsewhere
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank beachbum4421086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Dear Beachbum4421086,

We appreciate you choosing our hotel. We are committed to ensuring the comfort and satisfaction of our guests, so we apologize for your disappointment with your room and the construction currently happening at our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our team to prevent the issues you had with the cleanliness of the room you experienced from happening again. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a more enjoyable stay.

Daniel Perkins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2018

This place far exceeded my expectations and i was a little skeptical when i first seen the place. However it was perfect. Very roomy and clean with a great view of the riverfront and walking distance to just about everything. I will stay there from now on.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Crystal, thank you for your nice review of Riverview Suites Wilmington. We are pleased everything went great for you during your visit and that our wonderful location made it even better. We enjoyed hosting you, and hope to welcome you and your friends again in the near future.

Daniel Perkins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018

Though the property has no control over the construction next door, they are fully responsible for many other failings. Unit 409 smelled like a cigar upon entry, the toilet runs constantly, the coffee maker has the wrong pot and doesn't work. The dishes in cabinets were dirty, probably because the kitchenette sink doesn't work. The parking situation described in other reviews is ridiculous.

When you call the property for reservations, the female rep is snippy to start with. Unlike most places she wouldn't match the internet price, so I politely told her I'd make arrangements via the web. That saves you $25, but don't even think of staying here until the construction is finished.

Large generators from the construction run all night, pile drivers began at 6:30 AM. I'll be leaving early, God knows how much noisier it gets later in the day.

Room tip: Find another property.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RealDonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, Assistant General Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Hello RealDonn,

Thank you for sharing your review and the details surrounding your recent stay. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention and assure you that corrective measures have been taken. Our team's first priority is making sure that every guest has a comfortable and relaxing stay, and this time we really missed the mark. We regret that our staff did not respond to your requests while you were here and apologize for that inconvenience. It was our pleasure serving you this time, and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Daniel Perkins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2018

We were very disappointed with our one bedroom condo. There were TV issues and poor maid service. Also because of construction nearby, we couldn't park close to our building. The check-in location was different from the property location, yet all we had was an address which we had difficulty finding. They failed to let us know that this address was for a hotel.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annabell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, Manager at Riverview Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Annabell, thank you for sharing your review with us. We are sincerely sorry that our location was not very appealing to you, and also for the issues you had which inconvenienced your stay. We have made a note of your feedback as it gives us a scope of improvement. We hope to host you again so that we can redeem ourselves on your next visit.

Daniel Perkins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews