We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Place for Excellent Coffee”
Review of Port City Java

Port City Java
Ranked #7 of 36 Coffee & Tea in Wilmington
Description: Port City Java has been waking up Wilmington, NC since 1995. Since we opened, Port City Java has evolved and grown to operate over 25 cafes as well as its own bakery, roastery and distribution center. Our menu offers a diverse selection to satisfy all of your sweet and savory urges. Beverages include a rotating selection of remarkable coffees, carefully crafted espresso drinks, smoothies made with real fruit, milkshakes made with rich ice cream and award winning teas among other items. We bake fresh daily and our breakfast sandwiches and wraps are made on site and are served hot all day. Our signature sandwiches, salads and wraps are all made to order. Our baristas bring creativity, fun, and sincerity to the bar continuing what has become a tradition of unstinting hospitality at Port City Java. We treasure the relationships we've built and hope you'll join us soon.
Restaurant details
Description: Port City Java has been waking up Wilmington, NC since 1995. Since we opened, Port City Java has evolved and grown to operate over 25 cafes as well as its own bakery, roastery and distribution center. Our menu offers a diverse selection to satisfy all of your sweet and savory urges. Beverages include a rotating selection of remarkable coffees, carefully crafted espresso drinks, smoothies made with real fruit, milkshakes made with rich ice cream and award winning teas among other items. We bake fresh daily and our breakfast sandwiches and wraps are made on site and are served hot all day. Our signature sandwiches, salads and wraps are all made to order. Our baristas bring creativity, fun, and sincerity to the bar continuing what has become a tradition of unstinting hospitality at Port City Java. We treasure the relationships we've built and hope you'll join us soon.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

This was only the second time that we have been here, but we love this place, since it's a little different than the coffee shoppes in Queens, NY. We had the dark coffees which were brewed perfectly & we both had the hummus veggie wrap. Perfect service like before & the prices are reasonable.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Gary P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 34 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2017

PCJ is a staple on every trip to Wilmington. Great selection and customer service by the staff at this location! Love the house blend flavor. The Iced coffee is good too; the flavor is bold and doesn't get diluted by the melting ice.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank BrianS7125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

Used the drive thru. Service was quick and friendly. I got the mocha shake and I looooove it! I was in town visiting but use to go to college there. It has been years since I had had a mocha shake. They are the BOMB.COM.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Q8998YSkimberlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

Loved this place! Mocha shake was so yummy. Not low calories but definitely worth the treat! Can't wait to visit again!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank pammy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2016

I have enjoyed visiting Port City Jaffa branches mostly downtown in Wilmington for nealry 20 years but had a very bad experience in this location on Sunday, 6 November 2016.

I asked for a flat white; but neither of the staff behind the counter had any idea what that was; remarkable for a specialised coffee shop. I explained that it was about half way between a cappuccino and an Americano; and was offered a "Black and Tan Mocha".

I remarked that some people from Ireland might find that name offensive and attempted to explain that the Black and Tans were the Temporary Constables, many of them British Army Veterans raised by the British Secretary of War, Winston Churchill to assist the Royal Irish Constabulary in the Irish War of Independence; suffice to say their role and deployment were extremely controversial.

Not only were the staff not interested in this advice; but they were rude and smirky.

I asked to speak to the Manager; but she didn't answer their phone call.

I have made a formal complaint to their Head Office.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank ashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port City Java also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Port City Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing