We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most serene and absolutely cozy inn.”
Review of Hotel Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riverwalk
Ranked #3 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband and I attended our Military ball here in Wilmington. I was really hesitant with idea of spending the night away from our four children for the very first time. Needless to say I still decided to look online and behold I found the Clarendon Inn. I immediately felt in love with it. I read the reviews and loved it more. Left my house on Saturday and did not look back. When we got there I sat on the bed and just felt overjoyed with such a lovely place. The ball was not my highlight at all, The Clarendon Inn was. I needed to find myself and I did in this wonderful place. Beautiful and comfortable indeed in every way! We shall return next month.

Room Tip: Room number 5 ( the music rm)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esmeralda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband, daughter and I wanted to visit the historic town of Wilmington and experience the charm of a bed and breakfast. After much research, we chose The Clarendon over the large Southern Style Homes, and so glad we did! Although the exterior of the building did not have the grand appearance of some other B & B's, it certainly had the historic charm and convenience of being downtown, within walking distance to the riverwalk, restaurants and shoppings. The rooms were clean, comfortable and tastfully decorated. Another special feature of this inn is the its friendly innkeeper, Michael. He made us feel right at home, sharing stories about Wilmington's history that definately added to the wonderful experience of staying there. We would highly recommend this to anyone visiting the area!

Room Tip: If you want a B & B, but need more than one bed, room #8 has two queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I stayed at the Clarendon Inn last year with women friends. This September, I was back with my husband. This is the cleanest, warmest, most comfortable place to stay! Every room is a beauty. The Innkeeper, Michael, just makes the whole experience delightful. I nominate him for the "Best Innkeeper in the USA".

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvainTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We rode our Harley 3000 miles, starting in FL and going through GA, VA, TN, SC & NC and needless to say, stayed at several Holiday Inn's etc... We found this place in Trip Advisor and it was our ABSOLUTE FAVORITE. This was the cleanest and most beautifully decorated, most relaxed as well as friendly. I can't believe I didn't get the gentleman's name that ran the Inn because he was so accomodating. I was able to look into the other rooms that were not occupied and was equally impressed. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in the area, plus walking distance to great bars and restaraunts. Fabulous

Room Tip: Room number 7 is a King sized bed and absolutely beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperMichael, Manager at Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

The staff of the Clarendon Inn appreciates each and every review. We strive to maintain the Inn in pristine condition and to treat each guest the way we would want to be treated. It is our opinion that the Clarendon Inn has the best guest of any hotel, motel, inn or B&B in the world. We look forward to seeing our return guest and to welcoming new guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We loved everything about our visit to Wilmington, especially the Clarendon Inn. This lovely inn is so quiet and yet so close to the waterfront and all of the restaurants and shops. We were able to park our car (and the parking behind the inn is spacious) and walk everywhere. Our room was immaculate and very nicely decorated. The bed, linens, and towels are top of the line. There were numerous common areas with plenty of outdoor seating both in front and back of the inn. We enjoyed the Farmer's Market on Saturday morning and a free concert on the waterfront on Saturday evening. We toured the Cape Fear Museum, took a sunset cruise, toured on the horse-drawn trolley, and shopped on Front Street. There are so many restaurants to choose from and all were excellent, but our favorite was Caprice Bistro. Thank you, Wilmington, for your hospitality, and thank you, Glenda, for being such a gracious hostess! (And thank you for mailing my husband's clothes back to us!)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrolltonTXTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This place is so consistently well-reviewed that you wonder if it is for real or whether you will be disappointed.

It is - we weren't.

Nothing really to add to the other reviews on file. You can rely on their own website and the trip advisor reviews to give you a totally accurate picture of what to expect.

This is somewhere you feel very comfortable staying. We stayed for one night on our way South to Charleston and were happy enough both with the Clarendon and with Wilmington itself to arrange a further night's stay on our way back North.

It has to be a good choice for central Wilmington - especially at the $110 special midweek rate offered on their website.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KuwaitGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Clarendon Inn for our nieces' wedding. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautiful decorated. The staff was so nice and helpful in any way all you had to do was ask. The Innkeeper, Michael made you feel welcome as soon as you entered. Parking was great and you could walk to anything that you wanted to do. It was nice waking each morning to coffee and breakfast. I loved going on the porch to read the paper each morning with my coffee. Thanks to Michael and his staff for a great vacation. Will return. I love the Wilmington area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phyllis4267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.7 km away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,442 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
11.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverwalk

Address: 117 S 2nd St, Now Open & Taking Reservations, Wilmington, NC 28401-4458 (Formerly Clarendon Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $171 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverwalk is ideally located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, NC, just steps away from the unique shops, fine restaurants and entertainment offered in the historic district. The property's convenient and central location allows our guests to easily take in all the sights and sounds Wilmington has to offer from strolling down the Cape Fear River Walk, enjoying the great weather, watching a film crew on location or savoring a beautiful sunset over downtown and the river. Formerly the Claredon Inn, Hotel Riverwalk has undergone extensive renovations that provides our guests with a casual yet sophisticated lodging experience. Our spacious and comfortable rooms now feature king beds with upholstered headboards, new luxury mattresses, upscale linens and flat screen televisions. Rooms also provide guests with complimentary wireless internet, expanded cable package, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, iron with board, hairdryer and a writing desk. All rooms have individually controlled central heating and air, ceiling fans and a beautiful bathroom stocked with plush towels and William Roam all-American made toiletries. Complimentary on-site parking is provided and Hotel Riverwalk is a secured facility only accessible to our guests. There are three patio areas that surround the property for guest use. Smoking is not permitted except in designated areas. Each morning our guests are provided a Grab & Go continental breakfast to be enjoyed in the transformed lobby, on the patio or in the guests' room. Office Hours are from 9:00am to 7:00pm. Check-in is from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Check out time is 11:00am. We are unable to accommodate children under age of 12. We are unable to accommodate pets but will be happy to refer you to local boarding facilities. We look forward to having you as our guest and working to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing