We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ sandwich”
Review of Moe's Original BBQ

Moe's Original BBQ
Ranked #136 of 768 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: US$9 - US$10
Description: Moe's Original BBQ is a Southern soul food revival where great food is served in an atmosphere that is relaxed, spontaneous, yet civilized....well, sometimes
Restaurant details
Description: Moe's Original BBQ is a Southern soul food revival where great food is served in an atmosphere that is relaxed, spontaneous, yet civilized....well, sometimes
Reviewed October 18, 2017

We came here with a buy one get one free coupon for the BBQ sandwich meal. Surprisingly, there were pickles on my BBQ sandwich. Not being a fan of pickles I removed them immediately!!! The BBQ had a faint taste of pickle juice, but I washed that down with the delicious squash casserole. We had never heard of this restaurant, but we will return (and I will remember to ask to hold the pickles!) The BBQ was good, not too spicy. Restaurant and restrooms were clean.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deeremom430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Owner at Moe's Original BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Thanks for the support and review! Glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2017

We didn't realize it was a chain restaurant until we pulled in, remembering a visit to a Moe's in Charlottesville Virginia recently and recognizing the logo. Usually we dropped into Flip's when in town and wondered what was going to happen to the building when he was forced to close over the ridiculous sign ordinance. The property inside has been upgraded with an attractive bar to the right and the causal main open dining to the left. It is a counter order with your food brought to the table. The tomato based pulled pork was good and the banana pudding was very good. Baked beans and potato salad were ok, but didn't care too much for the vinegar flavor of the Cole slaw. Would return to try more of the menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Owner at Moe's Original BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Thanks Mark! We rotate sides daily, so always something new to try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the bbq (pork) and key lime pie is excellent. So glad we stopped.

Thank Explorer287953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Owner at Moe's Original BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Thanks for stopping! Glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

The food here is absolutely fantastic for the price and the atmosphere is nice and laid back with super friendly staff. You can sit down and eat in about 20 minutes generally and won't be disappointed by the food.

Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017

We shared two platters, one with ribs and the other turkey. We had as our sides slaw, collard greens, mac n cheese and Brunswick stew. Everything was delicious, smoked and/or seasoned correctly - not too much, not too little. Extremely reasonably priced and generous portion size. Would definitely visit next time we're in Wilmington.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoeSnert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Owner at Moe's Original BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thanks Joe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moe's Original BBQ also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Moe's Original BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing