We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO GLAD WE FOUND THIS HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My son needs special medical help available at Winston Salem Baptist Hospital, we will be coming down at least 8 times in the next year. Our first visit, we stayed at a different hotel and we not impressed. Thank Goodness we found the Hawthorne!! It was clean, the room was nice, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the hot breakfast was delicious, the hotel was secure AND we got a discount because of our affiliation with the hospital.
One of the doctors we needed to see was less than a block away. Although we didn't use it, I understand there is a shuttle to the hospital. An added plus is that it is only a few blocks away from a ton of fun places to eat and shop.
I loved it and plan to return

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olisajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have been staying at the Hawthorne Inn for nearly 20 years, whenever we visit friends and family in Winston-Salem. The staff are always polite and personable...from check-in to housekeeping to breakfast-room and restaurant to front-desk special request responders...everyone goes out of their way to make life pleasant and comfortable.
The rooms and bathrooms are clean and fully yet efficiently supplied. The complimentary breakfast is the best anywhere, with ample choices appetizingly displayed and protected.
Since our visits to W-S usually extend over several days, we appreciate having a place to stay that feels like home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall - away from the ice maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Absolutely perfect! Very clean, quiet, nicely appointed rooms. Respectful, pleasant, helpful staff. Convienent to everything. Comfy beds. No problems at all. Restaurant very reasonably priced. Have found our favorite hotel in this town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Everything at this Inn was excellent, except for the beds. Bedding needs an upgrade. Could take pointers from the Holiday Inn Express. We ended up staying at the Holiday Inn Express the last evening because we had to stay in town one more night due to family member being in hospital. Great location, excellent service, clean, good rate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveldiva24078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Such a good experience, though it was short. Just wondering if you could extend the operating hours of the free shuttle to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrTabbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The entire staff is very friendly and accommodating. The property is very clean and well kept.

Room Tip: Though pet-friendly, pets are not permitted in suites, so plan accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have been staying at the Hawthorne Inn for a few years now,my husband has to come to the Baptist Hospital to see his doctor.This place is very clean and updated,and close to the hospital.We enjoy our stay when we go and stay at the Hawthorne Inn,It also has great food ,will be visiting the next time my husband has to come to the hospital.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
10.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.2 km away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
670 reviews
4.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#25 of 38 in Winston Salem
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
5 km away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Address: 420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: $114 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing