We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel(Winston Salem)(Great Value!)
US$75
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
US$100
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$137
US$125
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graylyn Estate(Winston Salem)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem(Winston Salem)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Brookstown Inn(Winston Salem)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$120
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
117
36
21
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
36
21
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastold salemb bsback porchquiet place to stayyogurtcookieslovely visitbreakfast was deliciouseach morningeach eveningspent one nightwake forestaugustuslindatavernparlor
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 192 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Found this place on line, and loved the pics. We called, and one room was available at the last minute. We got the least expensive room in the B&B, the old Gunpowder "magazine" room. It was very cozy and comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated with art and quilts & period pieces, or with reproductions. Queen bed was a little soft, but the room stayed cool in the heat and the ac was very quiet. The staff was very helpful and warm, and the buffet style breakfasts were delicious and fresh, with good hot fresh coffee. Our room had a private entrance from a small side street, no stairs, and a private patio, although it was too hot to sit outdoors, as the temps were in the 90's. You did have to use stairs to use the breakfast rooms, as with many B & B's. Location was perfect and quiet, with the Old Salem Tavern directly across the street. Strolling down the old historic street was fun at night. Close to downtown and the other historic attractions in Winston-Salem. Perfect weekend!

Room Tip: Lowest level rooms have private entrances.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank signchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda1283, Manager at The Zevely Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

How wonderful that you were able to get a last minute reservation for the Gunpowder Magazine room which is one of our most popular accommodations here at the Zevely Inn. I am happy that you enjoyed your morning breakfasts as well as our close proximity to the Salem Tavern and downtown Winston Salem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2016

Our room was quiet and nice. We spent the evening on the porch in front of our room by the garden. Very peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast was great. We went for a walk in the village but we wish we had more time to take a proper tour.

Room Tip: We had dinner at the Tavern across the street and it was excellent!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda1283, Manager at The Zevely Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

It is unfortunate that you didn't have the time to tour Old Salem Museum and Gardens but this may give you the perfect excuse to return at a future time. So many of our guests enjoy the quiet times on the porches. We've solved many of the issues of the world while enjoying a cup of tea or coffee on the porches!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2016

Thank you Linda and Harriet for a lovely stay in Old Salem. Everything was perfect - room, breakfast, and of course your professional and personalized attention. Can't say enough good about the Augustus Zevely. It will be my base for years to come when visiting the Winston-Salem area.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda1283, Manager at The Zevely Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Your kind words were very thoughtful and most appreciated. We hope that a visit to the Augustus T. Zevely Inn is a step back in time to a quieter and more gentle era. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2016

We recently spent one evening in the Zeverly Inn and enjoyed our stay there. There is some great history associated with the building and it does not hurt that it is in the center of Old Salem. Without a doubt, the location can not be beat and when you are ready to hit the rest of Winston Salem, the drive is very manageable at any hour of the day. We stayed in the Augustus T. Zeverly room (there are about a dozen rooms to choose from) and fount it to be very comfortable. For those who are TV watchers, the TV in that room is more of glorified computer screen in that it was not very large at all but that was not an issue for us. We had a lovely view of main street old town and had access to a community balcony that was nicely furnished. There is a community den on the first floor of the property which is very nice as well. The breakfast in the morning was more of the "continental" type but there was a quiche option as well which was very tasty. The breakfast room was very nice. The staff we engaged during the stay were nice but not very engaging at all. In many of the B&Bs we have stayed in, the staff are usually engaging and are genuinely "selling" the great things about their town and we did not have that here. A little disappointing in that we usually rely on the locals to provide us the hidden insights / gems of the location w are in. Also of note, even though the property is quite old and we understand that, it can use a little more upkeep (we had a loose ceiling AC duct in our room), nothing serious but just some little details one would expect to be handled in a B&B at the price one pays here. Oh, the bedding was fantastic, very comfortable, we were actually trying to figure out the brand to possibly purchase for our home. Overall, this is a nice property and we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are all differently priced, we went for one of the more expensive rooms but would probably opt for one of the other rooms,
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tswolfe65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda1283, Manager at The Zevely Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

I'm thankful that you enjoyed your short stay at the Zevely Inn as well as our historic community which has so much to offer from the moment you step outside our front door. Please come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2015

We are pleased to frequent this wonderful place as guests of the wise, wonderful, and aware Innkeeper who provides clean rooms, a tasty breakfast, and an historical atmosphere. It has become a refuge of rest for the difficult times, as well as a joyous place of celebration marked with many memories. This Christmas, we were blessed to experience a rare full moon from the third floor veranda! Thank you Linda Anderson!

Room Tip: Any room with a door to the three-story veranda. The Winter Kitchen with a fireplace is especially nice!
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Errol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda1283, Manager at The Zevely Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Thanks for your wonderful review. Your visits to the Zevely Inn have meant so much to me. Our times spent on the veranda, solving the problems of the world, figure into some of my fondest memories. If everyone had a heart and soul like the two of you, there would indeed be peace on earth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews