We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
791 results
Traveller rating
525
193
48
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
525
193
48
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies and milk wine and cheese cotton mill old salem exposed brick old mill resident cat high ceilings hotel cat before bedtime charming hotel lovely courtyard lots of character visitor center huge room historic building chain hotels
Filter
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 791 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2015

Room was unbelievable. Wine/cheese, cookies/milk, and the best continental breakfast we have ever enjoyed. Close to everything. Staff outstanding. Will bring my husband here so he can experience the wonderful experience I have had. Staff recommended a wonderful Italian restaurant that was exceptional (think the name was Dilesio). I would highly recommend this rustic, romantic, right in the middle of everything, hotel.

Room Tip: We went with the number of beds in the room because we were 3 friends traveling together.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2015

Kellie D, thank you for choosing the Historic Brookstown Inn while traveling with friends to see Korner’s Folly and Old Salem. We appreciate you taking the time to share about your stay. Thank you for your kind remarks on our "unbelievable" rooms and outstanding staff. Will let the team know to keep up the great work! We certainly look forward to seeing you on a return trip with your husband. Until then, best wishes and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2015

We have stayed here several times. The rooms are so quaint and each is different. Love the wine tasting...Everyone is always nice and helpful. We would recommend The Brookstown Inn very highly...plus its in a great location to downtown and our favorite neighborhood bar...Second and Green Tavern!

Room Tip: I think we have stayed in 6 different rooms...all are worth staying in! Great place!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MissEllie306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2015

MissEllie306, thank you for continuing to choose the Historic Brookstown Inn while visiting Winston-Salem and for sharing your positive experiences with the Tripadvisor community. We love to see familiar faces! We strive to provide friendly and exceptional service to all of our guests. I will be sure to let our staff know to keep up the good work! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip down. Until then, best wishes and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2015

This hotel provided a fantastic experience while staying in Winston-Salem, NC. Outside of the historical element, the rooms were oversized, breakfast was comprehensive and complimentary, and the evening wine and cheese coupled with cookies and milk was a positive touch.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank carlvickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2015

Carlvickie, thank you for your fantastic review! We strive to go above and beyond in our service and amenities here at the Historic Brookstown Inn. It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and evening wine and treats. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again. Until then, best wishes and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2015

The setting of the hotel in the old Salem area of the city was beautiful. The brick walls, high ceiling and spacious interior created a charming stay. The room was very clean and the beds soft and comfortable. We stayed on the third floor and the carpets in both the hallway and the room seemed worn. You might want to request another floor.

The price was moderate. They offered free wine and cheese in the evening (at least once with live music) and cookies and milk later on.

We thoroughly enjoyed out stay and we plan to return on our next visit to Winston Salem.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the city. The view was beautiful, especially at night.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2015

Bruce B, thank you for letting us know about your experience while staying with us at the Historic Brookstown Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed the features of our historic building, as well as the comfort and cleanliness of your room. We so look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Winston-Salem. Until then, best wishes and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2015

This hotel is the best kept secret in Winston-Salem. I love to cozy atmosphere and the staff is very very friendly and eager to make sure you have a wonderful stay. My room was HUGE!!!! I love the exposed brick and the couch and dining room table in the room. Made entertaining a few friends very easy. Wine/Cheese hour and Cookies and milk are a great touch to cap off your evening. My brother had a small issue with the tv in his suite and they immediately came to try to fix the problem and when they could not they just offered to move his room no questions no issues. I visit Winston-Salem often each year and this is where I stay. You will not be disappointed if you choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "other" building. 1st floor.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, Front Office Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2015

Sonya H, thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We strive to provide all of our guests with comfortable accommodations and excellent service. We are so glad to have succeeded in this during your stay. We LOVE that you loved your room! It is great to hear that we were able to quickly and efficiently help your brother with his television issue. Thank you for your support in continuing to choose the Historic Brookstown Inn. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Winston-Salem. Until then, best wishes and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews