We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Okay place, but screwy booking system” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wrightsville Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbor Inn
United States
Level Contributor
431 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Okay place, but screwy booking system”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Our stay was overshadowed by a dispute with them.

My wife made a reservation, but never received a confirmation. She called back weeks later and they had no record of our reservation. So, she made another. Again--- no confirmation.

Luckily, when we showed up, they did have us in their system.

On the day of our return, they called us saying we were no- shows and were charging us for one night.

Turns out, they claim we made a reservation at their "sister" property. We reasoned that we did stay at one of their properties, couldn't possibly stay at both properties, but they were insistent and refused to refund the one night's fee.

We called AmEx, disputed the charge and they will deal with it.

As for the motel, it's nice. I say "motel" because there are no interior hallways, no services, and the soaps are the tiniest things you've ever seen. I have packs of gum bigger than their soap bars.

One towel was torn and ragged (inexcusable).

Rooms are nice: think Ikea. New, modern furnishings, appliances and fixtures.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HomoQuiScitOmnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

The Harbor Inn was perfect for a group of 6 female friends spending a week at the beach! It is located in a perfect location. We were 5 minutes walking distance to the beach and to the restaurants and bars of Wrightsville Beach. The size of the room was not too small for the 6 of us. There was a Queen size bed, pull out sofa bed, and set of twin bunk beds. We found all the mattresses comfortable. The room is updated and modern. The kitchenette was the right size for a one week stay. We ate our breakfast and lunch in the room everyday. All the rooms have a view of the harbor. The staff was all very helpful. And all of this for a great price! I would definitely return and would definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbbunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Greetings! I went to Wrightsville Beach and stayed in this GEM of a hotel on the sound side of the beach. At first I was disappointed at not having found a beach front property, but as soon as I walked in my room, I immediately changed my mind. The room was just GORGEOUS. BUNK beds ( !!!!!! ) a huge king-er bed, a kitchen, a dining and living area with LARGE couch and two GI-NORMOUS captain-type chairs, ( all three items of leather, ) nice roomy bathroom, and a porch on the back with comfy deck chairs and the most AMAZING VIEW of the harbor. I was in HEAVEN. The view of the harbor was so beautiful and it was so quiet and peaceful, and just mezmerising. Also I wanted to mention that the rooms are spotless. The hotel is right on the bridge and you can walk right into town and get to the beach or a restaurant or pub or whatever..It is walking distance to the post office, and a huge civic center where you can get into a touch football game, or frisbee, or an aerobics workout, or a yoga class or....A couple miles away is a very nice shopping center with a big grocery store, drug store, a tons of little shops and restaurants. About four miles away you will find a huge shopping center with all the favorites and a few local treasures. The Saturday I was there, the church on the next block had an outdoor film viewing! The Harbor Inn has all of the advantages of a beach front plus more, and none of the ususal noise associated with beachfront properties. Special thanks to the desk staff. ( I believe they are nichole, and melissa. ) They were stellar gals and very helpful. You HAVE to check out this place! It is BRILLIANT! And the off season rates are VERY reasonable. Best regards!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candlejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgaw, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

i got a room for one night to throw my sister a birthday party. It was great i walked in and it was so clean couldn't find any dust anywhere! the lady at the front was so nice and helpful. the pool is small but what do you expect with a hotel that only has 20 rooms. the view at night was amazing. honestly I've been back there 4 times to stay. the more u go the more like family they make you feel. I would recommend this hotel to everybody going to Wrightsville Beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estycaitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

This is a nice place to stay! The view is great, the rooms are clean and modern, and the general "feeling" I get from here is good. I stayed over the Christmas break so it was kinda slow, which was peaceful. I want to come back in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGHbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

The hotel is in a good location. We were told it was non-smoking, but people next to us not only smoked in the room, but on the balcony. When I went down to the office to complain, the manager was smoking in the office. We were told entire hotel was NON Smoking.
They also offer Wifi, but when we got there were told it was not guaranteed and we had to sit outside the office to get it to work. We never had it in our room.
Pool is small and not well maintained.
The room was clean and nice. Bed was very small for 2 people, so one of us had to be on the bunk bed.

  • Liked — the room was nice except for bed size
  • Disliked — smoke, smoke, smoke couldn't get away from it
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFam_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2008

stayed here again this past weekend.. nothing is better than a clean room!!! ok. a pefect view of the harbor.. great staff, and the location!!!!! romantic voodoo here.... you think all is awesome during the day.. but nighttime brings magic.....

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank panache1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.9 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
4.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
22.9 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville ...
#2 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn

Property: Harbor Inn
Address: 701 Causeway Dr, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1908
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel at Wrightsville beach with boat docks, we are in the heart of Wrightsville beach. Harbor inn has 20 suites with kitchen, living room, dining area, queen size bed, 2 bunks, pull out sofa and private balconies overlooking the harbor. Swimming pool and wi-fi. The suites sleep up to 6 guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbor Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing