We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cuckstool Cottage

Cuckstool Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cuckstool Cottage
Kitchen, Cuckstool Cottage Well equipped kitchen, Cuckstool Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Cuckstool Cottage
Kitchen, Cuckstool Cottage
Well equipped kitchen, Cuckstool Cottage
Dining Area, Cuckstool Cottage
Living Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Living Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Living Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Double bedroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Double bedroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Double bedroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Double Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Twin Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Twin Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Landing area, Cuckstool Cottage
Single Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Bathroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Bathroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Garden (Spring) Cuckstool Cottage
View over the Cricket Field, Cuckstool Cottage
Denby Dale Pie Dish 1968
Denby Dale, the Pie Village
Pugneys Lake and country park
Local woods, near Cuckstool Cottage
Local woods
Sid's cafe, Holmfirth
Welcome to Cuckstool Cottage
Cuckstool Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Denby Dale, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wald007
wirral
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed for a week 18th onwards.
No problems ,great location and a lovely cottage.
Woulld recommend to anyone wishing a great base to explore.
Everything you need is catered for with an excellent kitchen ameneties,ect.
thanks very much for a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: excellent throyghout
Liked least: entrance not great for a pram
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2015
Glad you had a good stay. Thank you for your review and would be great to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
294ianh
France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a very comfortable and welcoming property”
Reviewed December 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Property itself is very clean and comfortable and fully matched our expectations. We wanted a dog friendly let and this provided it. Shops and restaurants are within walking distance and the house itself was well stocked on arrival. Loads of useful information, books, games etc all provided. Philippa is an excellent host and was extremely helpful and very quick to respond throughout the lead up time to our arrival. We will certainly return if circumstances permit ( we traveled from France to visit family before Christmas and combined it with work commitments ) and would recommend the property to anyone looking to stay in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan R
Stromness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable & well equipped.”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Cuckstool Cottage as it was in a good location for us to visit family and friends in the area. We were very pleased with the cottage, found it to be comfortable, well equipped and would certainly use it again for future visits. The bottle of wine provided was very enjoyable and welcoming. An added bonus was being able to take our dog along with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Garden could do with a little pruning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Thank you for your review. Glad you had a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_mc27
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Stayed in better places for the price”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my wife and family and although the cottage is a good size we have stayed in better cottages for less money across the UK.

The cottage itself doesn't give you much privacy has you can hear everyone walking around on the landing and all the doors were very squeaky. Our room had unfinished plaster on the wall, which wasn't the most aesthetic.

On a plus note the location is very good in terms of the village and looks out on to the village cricket / bowling grounds and the accommodation comes with most of the modern amenities needed to get by comfortably with. The living room is of a good size but the garden is small, but it is secure if you wanted to take your dog.

We would go back to the area but maybe to another cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: BBQ and local area
Liked least: Noisy house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
I'm sorry to see that you've only given an 'average' rating for your 3 night stay. The accommodation is homely, comfortable and affordable (£85 per night for up to 6 people, in a 3 bedroom detached property) We try our utmost to give guests a 'home from home' experience and our efforts are reflected in the excellent reviews that we have had from other guests, with several returning. I have no idea which room you are referring to when you mention unfinished plaster as this is simply not the case. All rooms are fully decorated. Our bedroom doors are new pine doors, so again unsure what could be done to make them soundproof to people walking along the landing area. Don't really understand how this can affect your 'privacy'. We will attend to any squeaky hinges. We mention that the garden is small on our description, so I'm sorry if this came as a surprise to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely cottage in good location with very helpful and welcoming hosts. Ideal for walking straight from the door and convenient for local take-aways shops etc. We stayed with our dog and found it spacious warm and comfortable. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you. Pleased you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentriman
Edenbridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy Comfortable Cottage”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and felt at home almost as soon as we set foot into the hall. Everything was spotlessly clean and the kitchen is well equipped in order to make a good meal. The wifi was very handy to have and we enjoyed perusing the books and dvd's on offer. We were staying primarily in order for my husband to do a Footplate Experience, driving a steam train at Elsecar Heritage Centre which he really enjoyed and we can recommend - good value for money. We also took the underground tour at The National Coal Mine which was fantastic plus a tour [by car] of the glorious Peak District and a visit to Wentworth Castle Gardens. The weather was kind to us - misty mornings and mostly sunny afternoons - no rain. We loved shopping at the Good Health Store in Denby Dale - they have a great deli. We had a tasty meal at The Sovereign and cream tea and delicous ice-cream at Dearne Lea Tearooms. All in all a very pleasant stay indeed. But then we're slightly biased as we love this part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So many good bits, it's difficult to pick one
Liked least: The towels were a little tired
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
So pleased you had a good time in the cottage. Thank you for your review. Hope to welcome you again here in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like a real home from home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing