We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peacefull”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Palm beach villa

20 metre pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
20 metre pool
courtyard 8000 sq ft of living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
20 metre pool
courtyard
8000 sq ft of living space
luxury suite
1 acre garden
breakfast balcony
en suite with Jacuzzi
en suite
family room
en suite
satellite tv
theatre recliners in Tv room
12 seat dining table
1300 sq ft dining and living room
huge pantry
the Villa beach
Sea food delights
birds of paradise
courtyard
Pool with jacuzzi
secluded beach
view from the sea
spacious villa
Large living room, which can seat 10 persons comfortably
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Wadduwa, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tomba75
Tuusula, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peacefull”
Reviewed February 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We were visiting this lovely villa middle of November and it was a little castle. Lasitha, Shriaani and Sambal were all very polite and helpfull. I don't understand this moaning about noise next door. There is a banquet hall were poeple are selebraiting weddings so ofcourse there is a little music and laugh, but not that much that your holiday is ruined. Electricity is cut some times, but you would understand this if you have travelled alittle bit more. There was a spare generaattor on the villa so not a problem. This 20 meter long big pool was unbelievable and we were swimming every day with my two sons (3 and 5 years). If I have to find something not so good, it would be the area around. I have travelled in Thailand and you miss this caffees and shops, but you have to remember that it is only 2009 when the war ended. Sri Lanka people were all so warm, polite and autentic smile and not spoiled by stupid turists. I definitely recommend to go there and maybe after few years you can find caffees and shops also. Peace and open mind!
- Thomas Mattsson from Finland

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: People and beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPW1954
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa”
Reviewed January 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Beautiful Villa run on a shoe string, if you stay for 2wks or less ok, they can paper over the cracks we were there for 5 wks and they couldn't, it does not mention about the bar next door with music so loud the cups rattle on table at the villa it is supposed to stop at 11.30 but this never happened so take a good pair of ear plugs with you because they have another 2yr lease. The pool is dangerous all round edges the grandchildren and myself were cut on numerous occasion's because of missing grout also we could not use the pool one day because of green algae all round the sides, washing machine didn't work when we arrived it had broken down then it broke again after a couple of weeks, A/C maybe 1wk out of 5 it worked in the main bedroom it was so hot we slept on the balcony this was repaired on 3 occasion's one of the other bedrooms also had problems with the A/C so my son slept in the TV room ,TV did not work for the first 3wks unless you wanted to watch fuzzy black and white. Fridge freezer broke down and ruined all our food and we were not even asked if we wanted it replacing so wasted money, But the best one is the " Security Guard" we found out he had only started maybe the day before we arrived he was not a trained or vetted guard ,we had money stolen out of 2 bedrooms while we were out, they don't supply you with a key to lock them and he had the run of the house, food went missing at night we were repaid some of the missing money but not all of it or the price of the food and his employment was terminated not once has the owner contacted us on any of these issues, bathroom flooded with water coming from under the floor my wife fell on this and had to go to hospital as 6mths earlier she had hip replacement but nobody inquired how she was, Lasitha the villa manager tried his best to rectifies all the problems but when its run on a shoestring what hope has he got ,It is a beautiful place when everything is replaced instead of keep repairing it and the building site on the other side has finished.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2016
These guests requested a booking in 2016 for a return visit,
prior to their review. Management refused to have them back.
A negative review was expected. Our guests who have stayed with us
know are Villa and our staff and do not need to be convinced
on whats legitimate and whats fiction.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma G
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing stay”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed here for 8 nights and its perfect for a relaxing stay. From walking out of the gate straight onto the beach and watching the fishermen to sitting in the garden watching the sunset. Lasitha and Sriani looked after us fantastically well, nothing is too much trouble for them and always with a smile. A wonderful place.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna12340...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous holiday villa!”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We travelled as a family of 4 (2 children aged 4 and 8) and had a wonderful week at Palm Beach Villa. The house was beautifully presented, clean and comfortable with everything we needed and more. Lasitha, Sriani and Patrick made us all feel very welcome and very much at home - a great team! The food was delicious and gave us the opportunity to try lots of different Sri Lankan dishes. The wildlife in the stunning garden was incredible too (lizards, iguanas, squirrels, monkeys, bats) and even an elephant came to our gate one morning! A fabulous week and one which we will definitely be recommending to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and pool areas
Liked least: Some of the tiles in the pool were a little rough so care was needed on the steps in certain areas.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Heist...
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Your own private boutique hotel that meets all of your needs.”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Palm Beach Villa is an outstanding villa situated right on the edge of the beach in Wadduwa. It is essentially a boutique hotel that you can rent out for a large single family or, with friends. We are a family of four and stayed at Palm Beach Villa with another family of four and we all had plenty of room. Lathsita, the manager, is extremely attentive and goes out of his way to make sure that you are comfortable during your stay. First and foremost by picking us up directly from the airport and taking us straight to paradise. We stayed for one week, but wish will definitely return...hopefully soon! The villa has excellent amenities with a great pool, balconies, ping pong table, basketball court, shaded areas to sit by the pool and a private access to the beach. Wadduwa is about 1 hour drive from Colombo and close to many tourist areas. We were able to reserve a great day of diving with Island Scuba as well as a half day sailing trip in the Topaz catamaran with Sail Lanka Charter. Both we very highly recommend if you are in the area. This was our second holiday in Sri Lanka and Palm Beach Vila did not let us down! We have already given the information to many of our colleagues because we loved our stay that much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: best of both worlds, pool and beach all in one
Liked least: if I had to find a negative...rough tile in pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eurodolph...
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the ultimate hideaway if you want to be spoiled by amazing staff!”
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a very long review but please read on, you won't regret it if you decide to book the villa!
We are a Belgian couple, late forties and stayed at Palm Beach Villa for 2 weeks in February 2015. Although we have traveled quite a lot before, this was our first time in Asia and we can honestly say we couldn't have made a better choice. Once we found the villa on the internet, we contacted Ranil, the owner . He was very quick in replying to us and he answered all our questions (and they were numerous) by e-mail in a friendly and accurate manner. Thank you Ranil!
Arriving at Colombo airport, Lasitha who manages the villa, was there to welcome us to Sri Lanka with a big genuine smile. He took us to the villa in a comfortable, airconditioned van (transfer included in the rental price) offering us some cooled waterbottles which were much appreciated. From that very beginning it was clear that Lasitha was going to be a valuable asset to our vacation. Not in the least because he is a very cautious, responsible and skilled driver and we can assure you that is extremely important in Sri Lankan traffic!! Lasitha is also a real people-person, it is obvious he enjoys meeting people from all over the world and likes to show them the true Sri Lankan hospitality.
When we arrived at the villa, he introduced us to the rest of the staff; Sriani who does the cooking and cleaning and Patrick who is the night watchman and he also helps cooking, cleaning and doing all kinds of chores in the house and garden. They were both also full of smiles, eager to please yet discrete when needed.
The villa itself is lovely, the pictures you find online are truthful and the place looks even better in real life. Its a big house, sleeping 8 with lots and lots of room, comfort and amenities for everyone, as described on the website., Even if it was just the 2 of us, and eventhough it is a big place, we felt comfortable and at home. The quality of the bed and linens was very good.
This house has the option of selfcatering but we decided to let Sriani cook for us each and every day (we only had to pay for the groceries which came to +/- 15 to 20 euros a day for all meals) and we didn't regret it! She is a wonderful cook and we had delicious, fresh, authentic meals everyday!
The villa has a wonderful garden with a very big, clean and inviting pool, lots of palm trees,
Beautiful flowers, comfortable sunbeds with lots of nice sunny and shady spots. You can see interesting (harmless) wildlife like herons, squirrels, bats, iguana's and colorful butterflies, a delight to observe! At the end of the garden you simply walk onto the beach with the continuous sound of the waves. If you are a good swimmer you can swim in the ocean which has a constant warm temperature of about 29' C. You can walk the beach for miles if you want to or you can join the fishermen in the morning when they pull their nets out of the sea. Your help is much appreciated!
We did a few trips with the van, being really safe with Lasitha at the steering wheel. Not only is he a skilled driver but he is also a very knowledgable guide who knows alot about his beautiful island. One of the trips you just have to take is the whalewatching, you drive to the port of Galle where you can get onboard of a navy vessel for a 5 hour trip. It's only since a couple of years that it is known that the blue whale (biggest mammal) frequents these waters,
So a once in a lifetime opportunity to see these giant creatures. Chance of sightings is very high. We saw 2 blue whales, an exceptional experience! Just tell Lasitha you would like to do it and he will phone and make the reservation, price is 50 usd per person.
If I have to mention a negative, although beyond control of the villa owner/staff: the neighbouring property called the fisherman villa is a restaurant that hosts parties and functions. This means that there can be pretty loud music on saturdays. It usually ends around midnight, but when it bothers you and you tell Patrick, he' ll go there to ask to turn it down which they usually do, so it is not a big deal.

I could go on talking about this amazing vacation and especially about the wonderful staff who really go the extra mile to make your stay unforgettable but I suggest you go ahead and book, so you can see for yourself.
Thanks Ranil, Lasitha, Sriani and Patrick! We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the way the staff pampers you
Liked least: the neighbouring restaurant was sometimes noisy in the evening
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChanellDo...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house on the beach with exceptional service.”
Reviewed October 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled with 3 adults and 2 very young kids aged 1 and 2.

The villa is massive, has a great pool and is on the beach. The beach wasn't the best for swimming but great for the kids to play in etc.

There is a big hotel a few hundred meters down the road which is great to walk over and have dinner or glass of wine etc.

Food was absolutely perfect.

Strong wifi.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Pool, beach and great service.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing