We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Time of My Life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Wadduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Time of My Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Spending 15 days in a paradise garden with excellent people to serve me and surround me. I had the time of my life. Being working in tourism for the last 38 years I discovered an amazing place to spend your holiday but also to have excellent Ayurveda Treatments. The Accommodation is really innovating food is very well balanced between Sri Lankan and continantal service and cleaness are perfect. The swimming pool is very nice and maintaince of garden breath taken.If by next year the beach will be available it is going to be superb.Only thing to be claimed are the prices of the treatments.

Room Tip: I stayed standar room (102) It was perfect.The sea side rooms more big and better view of the sea.Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohan C, General Manager at Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us on Trip Advisor. Your positive comments – especially as someone in the industry; have given us much encouragement and we appreciate and value them and will share them with our team as well.

It is indeed great to hear that you had the time of your life. We are happy to have made your holiday experience so memorable, and to hear that you found the treatments, the food and the service to your satisfaction.

Continuous improvement is important to us and guest comments are invaluable to that effort; so thank you for your positive comments and your review. We have made a note of your concern regarding the pricing of treatments, and we will try to address that in due course.

We do hope you will visit us again for another enjoyable holiday with us, so we can serve you even better.

Sincerely,


Rohan Colombage
General Manager
Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    69
    16
    13
    13
See reviews for
34
58
60
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Great Ayurvedic Treatment
I came last year and lost 12 kilos, I am here now and in a week, I lost 5 kilos, nicely cleaned up and recharged. Resort is calm, clean with pleasant stuff. Great Ayurvedic Spa , Warmly recomending , regards Jan , Spinal Surgeon UK

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Babaji_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohan C, General Manager at Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your stay with us. We appreciate and value your comments and will share them with our team as well.

We are proud to have helped you to achieve your goals in maintaining a healthy lifestyle. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location and our facilities to your satisfaction. Thank you for your positive comments and for recommending our resort. Continuous improvement is important to us and guest comments are invaluable to that effort, so we believe your next visit to us will be an even better experience.

We do hope to welcome you back to our resort, soon.

Sincerely,

Rohan Colombage
General Manager
Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We are proud to say this is the 04th time we were stayed at siddhalepa with Ayurveda treatments.We no need to think twise to have an ayurveda treatments at siddhalepa, because of they are the best in Sri lanka and Asia, only one company making all the Ayurveda product with their row matireal.We have seen all the thing in our own eyes.We have been several ayurveda hotel in Sri Lanka and Kerala in India. but siddhalepa is the best.

In the morning we started with yoga and we finshed with Meditation (optional).Day by day We having differant kind of Ayurveda meal.They have frendly spacific staff.They are the asset of Hotel, Spacially Chef Anil ,Suranga Front desk manager and Rohan - Genaral Manager, they are really take care about the clients.

In front of the beach there is a sea break.How ever half of the way removed that. Now we have facillty for sea bathing.Hotel situated at the remort village but every things are there.If you need to go for shopping or tours arrange by hotel in nice way with good price.But when you dealling with beach boys you should think twice.

if you need, you can have heli tour also there.it's nice experiance.

Room Tip: We stayed at nice sea view newlly renavated room facing to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohan C, General Manager at Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very encouraging review and we appreciate your taking the time to write on Trip Advisor about your stay with us. We value your comments immensely and will share them with our team as well.

We appreciate your repeated patronage as your fist choice and glad to have offered you an exceptional holiday for the fourth time. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again and that you found the location and our facilities to your satisfaction.

Continuous improvement is important to us and guest comments are invaluable to that effort; we have already removed the sea break and improved facilities for sea bathing. Many other improvements to the resort have also been made, so the next time you visit us you can enjoy an even better experience.

We do hope to welcome you back to our resort, soon.
Sincerely,

Rohan Colombage
General Manager
Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
x
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel in November 2011. The service was good and hotel stuff is very friendly and polite. The bad thing I noticed during all the period is very bad wi-fi connection.
Moreover, it is almost not possible to swim in the ocean near the hotel, because of very hard waves. We could swim only in hotel's pool.

the most important thing I want to say about, happened in the last day of our visit. When we were going to airport, local three-weels drivers attacked our car driver near the hotel. They started a fight with our guide, also they scarred my child. Nobody from the hotel "polite and friendly" stuff wanted to help us. They said to me, that the fight is outside the hotel, that's why they don't care... Stay away from this hotel, there are many better places in Sri-Lanka.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank natalie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohan C, General Manager at Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for the points you have raised and steps have already been taken to address them. We are glad you found us to be friendly and polite and that the service was satisfactory. We are however, concerned by your comment asking people to stay away from the hotel, we are certainly sorry you feel that way. The incident that upset you happened outside of the hotel and despite being beyond our area of responsibility, we informed the Wadduwa police and action was taken immediately.

Continuous improvement is important to us and guest comments are invaluable to that effort; so thank you for bringing the issues to our attention.

We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel, to offer you a more satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,


Rohan Colombage
General Manager
Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

At first i was impresed not very good, because was going to the 5* hotel and it was look like 5*+ in Europe. But few days i could relax well.All the managers & Staff are very positive and helped every time spacially Mr.Suranga & Driver Jerad.We felt very comfortable here with excellant service.They have arranged good excurtion to kandy and it really remarkable because of good arrangment and good diver.at all we had agood holiday with siddhalepa team.All the people smiling every time good food,good treatments,nice envirnment and colity servise

Room Tip: Try to booke with Deluxe bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slava M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohan C, General Manager at Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your stay with us. We appreciate and value your comments and will share them with our team as well. Your positive remarks on our level of service are a great encouragement to us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you found the location and our facilities to your satisfaction. Continuous improvement is important to us and guest comments are invaluable to that effort. Many improvements have already been made to the hotel and the facilities, so you can have an even more enjoyable holiday next time you visit. .

We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel, soon.

Sincerely,

Rohan Colombage
General Manager
Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

The Siddhalepa Hotel offers Ayuverda treatment and this is the reason I specifically chose this hotel, as in European terms Ayuverda could be translated into health spas etc, however this is not what Siddhalepa Hotel unfortunately offers not only because it offers accommodation also to families with children. Although the Siddhalepa Hotel resort is located in garden like area which has nice flora and fauna, good pool, good food, and it is only a few meters away from the Indian Ocean which is seductively warm, the colour of the sea and the sand looks dirty. Also the beach is polluted with rubbish which makes the walk on the beach less than desirable unless you think that looking at the rubbish along the beach is attractive. There is also some sort of building site at the end of the beach and the beach seems short. The beach is also polluted with beach boys who gather right at the hotel entrance to the beach and who are more than annoying, you cannot walk on the beach and relax, if you are female or male, you will feel always hassled by them. What has got being hassled to do with coming to Sri Lanka to relax? The beach boys will try to sell you taxi services exactly at the same price as the Siddhalepa Hotel and there are not exactly cheap. Secondly, the Siddhalepa Hotel that focuses on the Ayuverda treatments could not for me deliver the ambiance that should come with the Ayuverda treatments, because of the guests that stayed in the hotel. The hotel attracted some sophisticated people but also tramps. There was a married Russian man who stalked me in the middle of a night to my bedroom and asked me if he could come and have a conversation with me on my bed, needless to mention his friends who shouted at me every time I passed by the pool. There were two Saudi Arabian men who I cannot decide if they were worse than the group of Russian men. They were sexually obscene towards me and asked also members of the hotel staff to get me into their bedroom. I felt disgusted. Finally, there was a group of Czech people and in particularly two women would not shut their mouth ever in the restaurant so much so for the other hotel guests consideration who came to relax in European like health spa resort. If you are looking for holidays to relax in hotel with Ayuverda I would not recommend this place to you – I stayed in better one in Sri Lanka. I ended up walking around the hotel resort on alert, scanning carefully the environment so I could avoid the Russian and Saudi Arabian men who refused to leave me alone at all costs. Finally, if you take a trip to Kandy to see elephant orphanage, expect to be discriminated against if you are not Sri Lankan. Apparently government supports higher prices for tourists so in the elephant orphanage you will see prices being advertised for foreigners and for Sri Lankas and there is a significant differences in prices. Sri Lanka has nice fauna and flora and I met on this trip desperate people that spoilt the potential that Sri Lanka has.

Room Tip: the back of the hotel, you won't find there beach boys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kamile K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohan C, General Manager at Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for the comments you have made. If you had raised awareness of the issues you had with other guests at that time, we could have taken immediate steps to address them in some way. Whilst the hotel cannot be responsible for the behavior of its guests, we would have been able to offer some solution if this matter was even mentioned to us while you were staying with us.

Sadly most of the concerns you have raised such as the colour of the sea, the beach boys, and the rates for foreigners at attractions for instance, are well beyond the control of the hotel. However, we apologize for the disappointment you have experienced because of them. We have noted your comments, and taken necessary steps to address issues wherever we can.

Continuous improvement is important to us and guest comments are invaluable to that effort; so thank you for bringing the issues to our attention.

We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel, to offer you a more satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,


Rohan Colombage
General Manager
Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

After 10 days trip in Sri Lanka we stayed 7 days at Siddhalepa. To make it clear - we are not "ayurveda" people but we wanted to try it. During 10 days trip we tried some ayurveda face and body massages.
We are 2 young women travelling alone without any problems during 10 days on Sri Lanka and the only thing we wanted was TO RELAX and ENJOY SILANCE AND COMFORT after months working so hard.
First impression: we got another room standard we booked and paid in advance but after complaint we got the right one....can happen, no problem.
Resort is located in a nice garden and around resort there is a fence local people not to enter the resort. There is 24h security. In spite of this we did not go out as behind the fence all the time young men waited for tourists all the time offering something, shouting ... we minded this as we wanted to walk on the beach and relax next to the sea and it was not possible. Nevertheless small road next to the sea was dirty and close to the resort they built something. True is that resort has is own small beach but if you do not want to listen whole day to offers done by local men then we rather spent al the days next to the swimming pool.

Swimming pool is nice, clean, also pool guys were fine. They prepared beds with towels every morning. We would expect more service next to the swimming pool - fresh juices that were excellent there - but only 2 days someone came asking if we wish something.

All guests live in apartments located in villas or in bungallows. Most of them are renovated and are nicely furnished, clean and well serviced. There is air condition and ventilator so we did not have any problem with mosquitos.

Ayurveda treatments: finally we did not take ayurveda package as we did not spend enough days there and we took some massages. To say truth we were not so happy. We had much better treatments in cheaper hotels in Sri Lanka than here. Here first of all you have to go to the doctor who measures your blood pressure:-) in spite of the fact you only take body relax massage...but we cannot say whole concept is bad. We talked with other people who spent weeks here and it helps! They felt like new borns. Also the promo of the ayurveda was so bad. Nobody was able to explain us what some concrete massage means, what we should take etc.. And it was not because of the languages. We speak 7 languages.

What we did not like is that because of the fact we did not take ayurveda package they looked at us as some lower-level guests. All people with package had on the table in the restaurant written AYURVEDA GUESTS but we not. We probably were not so valuable:-) But we spent there most probably much more money as we took massages that were more expensive than 1 day of treatment but... it was the fact:-)

Food: horrible. We did not know what to eat. First of all on 4 star hotel level we would expect something different in sense of variety of food, how food is fresh etc.. Here - every day the same, most of warm foods were ayurveda meals (they new that not only ayurveda guests are here and we were deffinitely the only people without ayurveda package), salads did not look fresh, if some meal finished it took time if they delivered it again, if delivered at all. Taste of food - nothing special. Service provided by waiters was not good. FOOD WAS THE WORST PART OF OUR STAY!

What we also did not like is that during our short stay 2 parties took place next to the swimming pool and on the resort beach - probably for some sponsors or hotel promotion. Nobody told us what happens, we could not use the swimming pool, there were many people we did not know and privacy nowhere.

There are also not so many possibilities to visit other places in Sri Lanka from this hotel. Everything is too far. Resort is located in a small village, there is nothing to do - also in this resort. We know the main reason why people are coming here are ayurveda treatments and to treat body and mind but this place is too boring.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colombo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohan C, General Manager at Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for the comments you have made. If you had raised awareness of the issues you had with us at that time of your stay, we could have taken immediate steps to address them in some way.

As an Ayurveda health resort the type of holiday we offer our guests is unique and different from an ordinary vacation. It involves a very specific regime of diet and treatment as well as relaxation which is individually created to suit each guest’s health requirements. Hence, the positive responses you heard from the guests who have enjoyed the benefits of this treatment. However, we do not discriminate our non-Ayurvedic guests in any way and we are concerned that you felt that way. Places are specifically marked at the restaurant for Ayurvedic guests since they are on special diets as recommended by our doctors, and it enables us to ensure that they are served the correct, prescribed food – it is done for this purpose only, and not to create a bias between the two types of guests.

As a health resort we adhere to strict principles and therefore, guests are required to consult a physician prior to treatment – however basic it maybe. Such practices are for the benefit of our guests, and we believe it is necessary and vital to the kind of treatment we offer at our resort. We promote the concept of a relaxing holiday – away from the stresses of active life with nothing to do but enjoy peace and healing. Indeed, those who come to us in search of it have never found it boring. However, activities and excursions are available for guests – we would have certainly been able to arrange them for you if it had been requested.

The concerns you have raised about the beach boys for instance, are sadly beyond the control of the hotel. However, we apologize for the disappointment you have experienced because of them. We have noted your comments, and taken necessary steps to address issues wherever we can.

Continuous improvement is important to us and guest comments are invaluable to that effort; so thank you for bringing the issues to our attention.

We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel, to offer you a more satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,

Rohan Colombage
General Manager
Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
2.0 km away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.3 km away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
4.1 km away
Taprobana Wadduwa by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
4.1 km away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
1.5 km away
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Villa Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 10 in Wadduwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort

Property: Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort
Address: Samanthara Rd | Pothupitiya, Wadduwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort surrounded by woodland & meadow and fronted by sparkling blue waters of the Indian Ocean. Enjoy a harmonious holiday in our Ayurveda resort comprising 50 Rooms. Luxurious Chalets with TV, Radio, A/C, attached Bath with Hot water, Hair Dryer, IDD Tel, Electronic Safe, Mini Bar in Theme Rooms. The Architectural Designs of the Resort depict the ancient heritage and culture of Sri Lanka transcending different eras.Siddhalepa Provides Traditional Ayurvedic Therapy to Cleanse, Detoxify, and Rejuvenate Mind, Body and Soul to promote general Wellness for Health conscious clients using 100% Natural Ayurvedic treatments under the guidance of experienced Ayurvedic Doctors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siddhalepa Ayurveda Health Hotel Wadduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing