We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Majestic Hotel, only some minor flaws...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Having just returned from a 2 week stay at the Majestic Hotel I am a very happy and relaxed person, here is an open and honest review on both the hotel and location. (25th May - 8th June)

Good things about the Majestic Hotel:
On Arrival I loved the amazing look of the Majestic and how grand it looked (and this was at 1am in the morning!) the reception staff were quick at checking us in and we were told that we would be staying in room 622 on the 6th floor, the room smelled and looked very clean and the bathroom was spotless the staff phoned up to check everything was okay with the room which was a nice touch and I was happy enough jumping straight into bed and checking it out more the following day.
The following day pulling back the curtains to see what view we were graced with and it was looking out on to another hotel that wasn't the best looking of hotels, however you could see beautiful views of the mountains in the distance which was lovely, and considering me and my partner aren't to fussed about balconies/vies etc it was good enough.
Both the outside and inside of the hotel are very well kept and gorgeous to look at, it looks like a big pink castle. The pools outside are lovely (cold though!), and have plenty of sunbeds, so there was never a point we went without one or struggled getting some as there were plenty to cater for all guests! none of this 'towels reserved on beds at 5am' in this hotel... BONUS! The hotel is situated quite far from flower street and the busier parts of sunny beach, but its a nice enough walk so I wouldn't complain.


Not so good things about the Majestic Hotel:
When we arrived on the 25th of May the weather was truly miserable and continued to be for 3 days, we found that there was nothing to do in the hotel whilst the weather was so bad! there was a pool table that cost 5 lev in the bar, and a small games room with a couple of run down arcade games! No inside pool and only a spa which me and my partner felt were far to expensive! a lot of people seemed to agree as the staff walked about a lot almost begging people to come to the spa. There was an internet room which cost 5 lev for 30minutes! which wasn't great either, so we became really bored on the rainy days which was a shame.
You can also hear everything in the hotel rooms, every little noise from the corridor you can hear! to the 'Ding' of the hotel lift which wasn't even near our room!! some nights I was woken up by rowdy, loud and drunk guests shouting and arguing and another shouting something about breaking his back? so not very sound proof rooms.


Staff:
Entertainment Team were all so lovely and tried there best getting everyone involved in all the games and activities, they did 'rainy day games' on the miserable days they were very basic like 'Get the tennis ball in the tennis balls holder' and Darts etc but they did try! on the sunnier days they did pool games, polo, badminton, darts and a cocktail game. They were all very friendly, and always smiling even with there very long shifts! Mero was a true gem, always coming over and making time to talk to me and DJ Philip was nice too. All of them were AMAZING! and good at remembering faces.

Waiters and Bar staff were nice enough, they never made conversation but they did there job well and that's all you really expect. The manager and the dining room manager were always at the entrance to check your card and remembered faces well, and always made conversation which is lovely.

Reception staff are all 'Trainees' which we found bizarre, and are quite rude at times and don't really know what they are doing, never smiling or welcoming which was a shame! one of the days we never got our room cleaned, we went down to tell the reception and they replied with 'YOU must have put your sign on the door' we could assure you we never, and it was very rude of them to some what blame us for it? however they did send a chamber maid up to clean straight after which was fine.

Food:
Food was average, great variety every day from chips and pizza to pasta and meats and a great selection of salad and fruit (the soup was fab!) however sometimes they were a bit slow making the food which created long queues at times especially the second week when it became busier; it was like they couldn't handle the sudden change in the amount of guests which tripled the second week!
Also getting a table the second week was incredibly hard, as they were never cleaned up after the person before you!! which was irritating.

Sunny Beach:
Was a great little resort, nice enough beach but not very much to do. Everything through the day is Mini golf or at nights Bingo and Karaoke! lacks a little bit of atmosphere and shows?
A lot of little market stalls and restaurants, everyone trying to get you in! I would recommend 'Steak house friends' and 'La bamba' for food, we had some great lunches there!
At night cocktails are all happy hour in most places, try and avoid 'Fat Cat' as the guys in there are just arrogant and unfriendly, Gullivers is a great place for cocktails! gets you very drunk very quick though as they are so strong!

So on that note, I had a great time at this hotel and would have no problem recommending it to family and friends, I would say it is suited to couples and families. Make sure and visit Nessebar and Khans tent! you wont be disappointed.

P.s Change seems to be very rare in Bulgaria! for being there currency they severely lack it, which is ridiculous! so round up as much as you can as you'll need the change to PEE in all the pubs which is also a joke considering your giving these places custom.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melissa_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 917 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were six adults and four children and all had a great holiday at the Majestic Beach. Large and airy apartment, clean both inside and outside, good and varied food and a great beach just across the road. The hotel is located a little away from the worst noise in the evenings, and it was great for us. One of the families in the group is going back this summer. The hotel is recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leif55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

this hotel was amazing its very big and very clean two large pools water is freezing in may only had two days of sun which was very hot then rain for the rest of our stay id say don't go in may we will go back but maybe july staff was really nice and friendlily once they no your name they don't forget food was really nice the desserts were amazing yum lol we like some rare meats so we was ok but if you don't just eat the salad and the pasta and loads of fruit but there is two resteraunts one Italian and one Bulgarian very nice for free on one night after that for small fee. .we went on a couple of trips the khans tent is a must great night out 4 course meal and bottle of wine each beautiful and the vip cruise on a catamaran nice and relaxing scuba diving see the dolphins up close and a nice lunch unlimited soft drinks coffee and larger really nice the fat cat bar really good fun but you have to pay to pee lol ,jacks good english bar but a good walk to get there we met some really nice people which was good as it was just the two of us the entertainment was poor if raining if you have kids but when sunny they did play games around the pool .

Room Tip: ask for sea view there the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel was definately a 4*,however its a shame it was located in such a horrible resort. Our room was newly refurbished,with air con that actually worked. Whilst on our holiday it rained for 4 days, which the hotel didnt cater for. The food was great and a offered a large choice and variety,cant fault the service in the restaurat either.
Sunny beach itself was a major let down,the place itself was dirty,the only shops we found were selling fake clothes and hand bags,little choice of places to eat and drink.All in all, I would not go back to Bulgaria EVER!!!!!!

Room Tip: request a sea view on a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyandjames2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The hotel itself is amazing! It's huge! It has 2 big pools and plenty to do, if you're going for the night life id get a hotel abit closer to flower street as this hotel is a good 30-40 minute walk! The entertainmet team were pretty good and the spa was superb, and very cheap to, it only cost us about £14 for a 30 minute massage and then around £10 to have a sauna and ateam room before it so well worth it! Staff are so friendly and were constantly having a laugh with us and made us feel welcome! All staff were more than happy to help with anything we needed, hotel is clean and well kept! Food was you're standard hotel food, not the best but you could pay a small fee to eat in there al a cart resteraunt which is very nice! I'd definatly go back at some point but as I mentioned I'd get a hotel closer first as it was a lads holiday and we wanted something abit closer, but I'd defiantly recommend this hotel for couples and families!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adamwayne190423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

When the sun is shining the Majestic is an excellent hotel but unfortunately it rained the majority of my trip and the hotel didn't cater for these events. I was half board and during the thunder/lightning and heavy rain had to head out to the street to buy lunch. A kiosk is available during the sunny times but only Chicken Kebabs are available for purchase, no good if you don't eat chicken.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wend49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Average hotel but compared to the other kitsch hotels in the area majestic seems like the four seasons. Customer service does not standout. Rooms averagewahooe hotel setup a simple ok. Food nothing special.Sunny city is a daytona beach style set up, if you're in for that it's ok otherwise forget going there.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Alexis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#4 of 222 in Sunny Beach
563 reviews
0.2 km away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#11 of 222 in Sunny Beach
372 reviews
2.4 km away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Trakia Hotel
Trakia Hotel
#133 of 222 in Sunny Beach
37 reviews
0.7 km away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#59 of 222 in Sunny Beach
33 reviews
2.5 km away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#38 of 222 in Sunny Beach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DIT Majestic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DIT Majestic Beach Resort

Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $89 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DIT Majestic Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 734
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your DIT Majestic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Residence
Majestic Hotel Sunny Beach
Majestic Hotel Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing