We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel would stay again but not for the food..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Royal Beach
Ranked #17 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed half board, great location and staff were very helpful. The rooms are big spacious and clean, and serviced daily. If I was going back I would stay here again for the hotel.

My one negative would be the food. It was all a bit bland and lacking in any real imagination. Salads were given names like nicoise, tabbouleh but were extremely bland. The special dishes each night of beef stew, chicken curry, pork casserole, coq au vin all promise so much but tasted the same - a different meat in a different coloured sauce each night.

There was however every night freshly grilled beef, fish, chicken, and pork chops however the lack of culinary imagination for a 5 star hotel did leave it all feeling a bit like a canteen. The only dish that actually tasted like it should was a chilli con carne...

All in all a nice hotel however with year one catering student cuisine. But if you can live on grilled plain meat and green salad and chips each night then 'fill your boots' :-)

I personally would opt for the bed and breakfast option and eat local until the food matches the hotel 5 star rating.

PJ

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PJMCM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights AI, from the 28Th May 2012....food, staff and facilities excellent, rooms very spacious, though finish is very poor in some areas, shower door had a massive gap, so water leaked out everywhere, Arrived early hrs so staff had placed a tray of cold food in room, which was very welcome. The hotel boasts it is within a shopping Mall of over 90 shops, they may be 90 but only about 20 trading, sun worshippers delight around the 4 outdoor pools, plenty of beds and for those with children, saw at least 2 lifeguards on duty at all times. Heated indoor pool with jacuzzi was also manned with Lifeguard,Pool bar well equipped, pizzas excellent ! Would stay again but only AI ( they do, do apartment only) as Sunny beach didn't appeal to me .

Room Tip: rooms on 1st floor have canopies on patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mancmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

very good !!!
food is excelent !! rooms are big
stuff are very nice
i will back next year to this hotel !!!
guy

Room Tip: standard rooms is big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guyorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I'm recommending this hotel to everybody! The staff were very friendly and all of them speaks English.

Room Tip: Big room and very quiet and also with big terase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank radu_pojoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

its a wanderfull hotel exalent service and nice people iv been there six times and hope to be there again tomorrow !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RONIT !!!

Room Tip: all rooms are ok !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RONIT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I went to Bulgaria with my partner, the value for money is amazing we took minimal spends but still ended up coming home with at least a third left, the Barcelo hotel is outstanding, and is why I am taking anOther holiday in this resort!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Staceylindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

what can i say.From the time we arrived at the hotel to start the beginning of our holiday,till the time we had to leave.we had the best holiday ever.And we are so glad are hotel was named 'the royal beach'the staff were fantastic and always so very pleasant and very helpful,the complex was fantastic and always so very clean and tidy.the food was 5*.and the pool was to die for

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank ricky1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.3 km away
Trakia Hotel
Trakia Hotel
#133 of 222 in Sunny Beach
37 reviews
1 km away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#37 of 222 in Sunny Beach
65 reviews
2.2 km away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#61 of 222 in Sunny Beach
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,440 reviews
2.1 km away
Longoza Hotel
Longoza Hotel
#24 of 222 in Sunny Beach
85 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#21 of 222 in Sunny Beach
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Royal Beach

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: $87 - $910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Royal Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Royal Beach Hotel Sunny Beach
Barcelo Sunny Beach
Barcelo Hotel Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing