We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (891)
Filter reviews
891 results
Traveller rating
430
294
95
50
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
294
95
50
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews karaoke bar main restaurant beach bar asian restaurant st vlas animation team plenty of sunbeds a la carte restaurants themed restaurants are private beach lovely hotel evening entertainment walk in shower sea view welcome drink pizza indoor pool
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 891 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Our last day tomorrow, we have had a fantastic stay here. Sunny beach is to busy for us but this hotel is a lovely location where we can walk to the busy part as and when we want to. We got a taxi (hotel has there own) to Nesebar which is beautiful and had lunch and then walked back along the beach at night.
We hired bikes (from the hotel) and went to st vlas this wasn’t a great idea as the bikes was heavy and it there was a big hill but we can laugh about it now.
We went on a trip to szozpol and the castle and also khans tent. All amazing.
Plenty of sun beds at this hotel. All staff are friendly. Food was always good, Bulgaria and Asian was our favourite. Grill was nice to have a beach front setting for dinner one night.
We booked with TUI and Dobrin the rep was always friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank rose0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018

Our first time at this hotel and can honestly say it was one of our best holidays,we were with our 8 yr old son and he loved it,we had a room on the 9th floor which was great lovely and clean and great view of the pool and sea .
Maid came everyday to clean room and fresh towels if needed.
The food was lovely such a selection of everything,The staff were all welcoming and very friendly.
The pool felt cold when you first got in but was lovely once you where in,there is two other pools too whichwere great .
The beach is only 5 mins away and the sea was warm,we went parasailing,jet ski and inflatables which my son really enjoyed.
The entertainment at night was good,they have kids disco first then other entertainment after that.
I would highly recommend this hotel and we shall definitely be returning.

Stayed: August 2018
2  Thank Trace0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018

The hotel is modern and is splendid in its exterior and interior , the bedroom we had was a superior double with balcony with a sea view and exceeded our expectations in size and presentation , however you have to pay extra for a safe 40 lev per week and you have to hire a kettle at 20 lev per week , i think with the cost of the room and it being superior it should have been included in the price ?
The pool areas are first class and afford numerous sun beds and parasols without the need of getting up at 6am to park your towel on one , as this was peak season i found this to be most favourable , numerous activities take place in the activity pool but my wife and i chose to lay amongst the more sedate poole which was enormous and very inviting .
The dining rooms are well presented and you have an option to book 3 other on site eaterys including chinese and Bulgarian but you must book early to get a place or you will miss out ,the menus are varied and well presented and well cooked along with desserts which were similar throughout the week .
Lunch times were very much the same offering hot and cold foods although these were of the fast food types such as burgers . sausages pizza chicken but this was well cooked and very inviting if you had happened to miss out on breakfast .
Taxis were available for the trip into Sunny Beach central for 15 lev each way up to 4 persons and it was worth the trip into the hustle and bustle of the centre .
The most dissapointing of all the holiday was the abysmal bordering on criminal excuse of entertainment for the adults , up to 21.30 hrs the children were well catered for from then on it was disaster after disaster resulting in my wife and i going elsewhere 3 nights of our stay , i can only compare to the worse episode of stars in their eyes from the 70`s ( some may enjoy stars in their eyes ) but please please please get you act together in providing at least watchable material

Room Tip: we were on floor 5 to the right of the main complex with sea vea beautiful
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ian201060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018

First visit to Bulgaria was to The Riu at Obzor. Enjoyed the stay very much so were happy to have a further holiday in this lovely country.
Visited in June 2018 as mature couple!
Booked superior seaview room which had massive private balcony upon which we spent many relaxing hours (with drinks of course) particularly before retiring to bed.

Obviously few hotels are perfect so I would just like to list the pros and cons.

Cons:
Superior room but no mini-bar....just water and soft drinks would have sufficed as there was a built-in fridge.
No tea/coffe facilities in room (Unusual). We like hot drinks when we awaken.
Very expensive tarriff for room safe so didn't bother with it.
No wine served in Beach Bar and no beer til 12 noon if I remember correctly.
Nice sitting area sea side of pool bar but unfortunately no sunshades at tables so were little used during the day.

Pros:
Excellent room service with regards to cleaning and change of bed linen and towels.
Lovely room with view across the bay to Sunny Beach and Nessebar.
All hotel is kept immaculately clean.
Loads of sunbeds....seemed to be too many for number of guests....excellent.
Super friendly and jovial staff throughout the hotel particularly at the bars, (thank you Ilyas).
Good quality food which was well presented in all restaurants....no excuse for going hungry!
Beautiful well tended gardens which we loved walking around.
Very nice sandy beach with beach bar for guests (but see comments above).

Overall a most enjoyable holiday so thanks to all the hard working RIU staff for making it so.

Room Tip: Definitely book a superior Seaview room.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MERRIOTT712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

We paid for a day pass to this hotel 4 of us also paid a deposit for towels, went to the swim up bar was asked where was our wrist bands had to explain we paid for day passes so had to go get the receipt from our bags to show trying to avoid getting it wet! dont you think it would be better to have day wrist bands to avoid embarrassment we were made to feel like outsiders, it gets worse, my 17yr old daughter was served at the bar was offered shots to drink with the barman then she told us he pulled something out of his pocket offered her drugs ! complained to manger who disappeared to a meeting! when I challenged the bar staff the one in question also disappeared! we left the hotel immediately leaving our phone number for the manger to call back while he investigated, no call came! no refund offered! we shall be taking the matter further.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank shez2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Helios Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Shez2018,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

As all our staff sign a commitment to avoid any type of non-professional treatment and any kind of inappropriate behaviour & illegal activity is not tolerated on our premises, we were very surprised to read your comments about a member of our team.

Since we have not been able to track your case with the information provided, kindly encourage you to contact your travel agency or our Customer Service Department only in case of direct booking via crm@riu.com for further assistance.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the high standards of service and quality that are typical of our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Helios Paradise
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews