We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (891)
Filter reviews
891 results
Traveller rating
430
294
95
50
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
294
95
50
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews karaoke bar main restaurant beach bar asian restaurant st vlas private beach animation team plenty of sunbeds evening entertainment a la carte restaurants lovely hotel walk in shower welcome drink sea view indoor pool pizza plenty of wardrobe space
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 891 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2018

Hi all

Well we had a great holiday at this hotel. So not much we can add to the positive reviews that you will know doubt see.
So, I just wanted to add some Pros and cons and a few helpful suggestions that may make things easier for you when you arrive.

Pro’s

4 outdoor pools and 1 indoor
Private beach area, with sunbeds and own restaurant with drinks
Small water slides for the kids
Lots and lots of sunbeds. no need to rush to get one in the mornings
Self-service ice-creams all day from the pool restaurant
Self-service soft drinks all day from pool bar.
New towels from the towel room with your towel exchange card when you need them.
Very clean hotel, and grounds are very well looked after.
Security patrol the grounds
Reception staff all speak English well.
5 restaurants. 1 main and 4 that need to be booked. We tried 2 of the booked restaurants and the Italian was excellent.
Self-service drinks in restaurant including wines and beer.
Kids evening entertainment is good

Cons

There is a safe in the room, but you need to pay at reception 40Lev approx. £18 for the week.
No kettle in the room, but you can hire one from reception. Or take a travel kettle
If you don’t like kebab meat, have the grilled chicken at the beach grill restaurant. All meat is kebab on skewers. And not very tasty. I bit of a let-down and we did witness 2 tables with people leaving in disgust.
Adult evening show at 9:30pm is ok but not 4-star hotel grade.

Tips & Tricks
You can walk out the back of the hotel along the prom to Sunny beach nice stroll took only 20min. There’s just a short bit where the path is not complete, and you need to go on the sand. Lots of shops selling the usual tourist sort of items.
You can get free 2 ltr bottles of water whenever you want from reception
Fridge in the room but with nothing in.

We had 7 socket outlets in the room standard European type
Hairdryer in bathroom with shaver outlet.

Fairly large LCD tv with lots of inputs at the rear. BBC news channel and 2 music were the only ones in English. However, if you put some videos on a memory stick and use the usb input at the back the tv automatically changes screen and you can watch what you have. Great to keep kids entertained.

We only got one room entry card issued from reception, you then put this in the card slot by the room door to activate the power. So, when you leave the room the aircon goes off etc... However, any plastic credit card in the slot will keep the power on.

Main restaurant gets very busy at 7pm to 8pm, but the waitress and waiters are very attentive and sort you with a table asap.

There are 3 coffee machines in the reception area, but non-make a decent milky coffee. However, you can get half a cup of hot milk from one machine and half a coffee from another. Witnessed a few people doing this

Nessbar is a nice tourist attraction to visit and can be seen directly across the bay from the hotel. There are a few options to get there. Tui excursion Very expensive for what you get. Taxi from reception 50lev return (£22.73) Bus ride from directly opposite the hotel 1.3-lev one way. there are warnings of pick pockets. But it’s Very very busy. You would probably need to stand. Bus numbers 5 & 8. But what they don’t tell you is there is a double decker open top sightseeing bus directly from the bus stop opposite the hotel every half hour, lots of room and only 2-lev one way (£0.91 pence) it takes you straight to Nessbar. And then back to the hotel bus stop.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank electricmegawatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

So far up to now can't watch any football in hotel . Not many channels available .beach minging the decking is dangerous to walk on .the burgers in snack bar 1-10 come on riu your better than this this is the worst IV ben too

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank davedrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Helios Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your current stay with us.

We regret to read that your first impression of the hotel has not lived up to your expectations; however, it is remarkable that the dissatisfaction you are describing did not come to our attention up to now.

The Front Desk is always glad to look into any concern that our guest may have. For this reason, we always encourage guests that are still at the hotel to contact our Front Desk staff in order to resolve any issues during the stay.

We hope you can resolve this with our Front Desk staff during your stay and we look forward to hearing about the rest of your stay.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Helios Paradise
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018

On arrival was greated with a glass bucks fizz which was a nice touch, then escorted to our room which was great we had the superior deluxe room with sea view. The views were beautiful. Hotel is very very clean with cleaners brushing the floor, and general cleaning within an inch of its life! Amazing!
The only criticism is the main restaurant, food was mediocre, was edible just, food was cold most nights. Buffet style is fine but if food is cold not so enjoyable. The only saving grace is that they have a Asian, Italian and Bulgarian restaurant's which serve beautiful hot food, which we did for evening meal's. You can book at breakfast with no extra charge for these restaurants.
The hotel itself is very quite no problems at night with noise.
It's about 10 minutes taxi to sunny beach centre, not much there really but worth a look.
It's about 20 minutes taxi to Nessebar the old town, well that is amazing it's beautiful a must visit.
The hotel has there own taxi service.
English is not that we'll spoken, so they don't understand the great british sense of humour!! Yet!!
Overall holiday fantastic, food could have been better hence given 4* . Once they get the food sorted out it would be a perfect 5* from us.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank courage39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous weeks break with my wife .
The hotel complex is huge one of the largest all inclusive hotels we have stayed at.

We arrived just before midnight after landing at 9.25pm this was mainly due to delays in getting everyone through security so be mindful the 30 min transfer stated by TUI isn't accurate .

Check- in was smooth and our room was really spacious, nice batthroom with walkin shower and plenty of wardrobe space with great views across the pool and sea view. Although it was late the hotel had food available in the Bulgarian restaurant, it was only soup and cold meat and salad which was a bit dissapointing .

On the plus side the whole complex is very clean and well kept , there were always plenty of sunbeds available despite the 8am crowd sneaking at to put towels on the best spots .

The food is good with lots of variety and choice , the themed restaurants are ok and we found the Bulgarian to be the best of the lot .

We did take a trip to Nessebar in the old town which was nice if a little over commercialised ( too many souvenir shops) .

We went to Sunny Beach strip during the day , it looks a bit sinister and we were warned about pickpockets so we didn't bother going back at night .

There are a few niggles that have been mentioned in previous reviews but we would definitely go back to this hotel .

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank McrDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Just had two weeks here. And whilst it does leave some things to be desired on the whole it provides a good level of service throughout. Though the staff do need to smile a bit more when speaking and that is the reception staff and the senior management were much better at looking slightly interested in you as a customer. The staff in restaurants and room cleaners were excellent. Bar staff were very good too even if they did not always understand something. Friendly at all times and provided a high level of service. The reception staff do need to go on a customer care course as they were beyond a joke at times. And they are front of house and first impressions can last. That said we have booked already to return to the new adults only hotel next door for next September. Would definitely recommend this hotel for families and couples.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank BrixhamColey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews