We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Golden Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Grand Hermitage
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Timisoara
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best in Golden Sands”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We were 3 years ago in Golden Sands.
Bugaria is a lovely destination,but only in touristic areas,like sea-shore.Here,some profesional brands,like RIU,MELIA etc.are present,with their know-how,so you feel like in the famous resorts from Italy or France,much better than Greece.
Melia Grand Hermitage,former Kempinsky Grand Hermitage,is the right example for low-cost luxury.For this money,you have almost nothing in Italy resorts.Of course,sometimes the services are not top level,but they are more than you can expect for this money.Large rooms,quality furniture(in Italy you have to spend ten times more for the same ).
Also,Golden Sands have a night life very attractive,lot of restaurants and bars with live music,good food,and friendly people.
You will never find this kind of atmosphere in the Italy or French coast,so ,if you like to have more than a restaurant and a walk in the evening,just try it!

Room Tip: "level" rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danmirela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear danmirela,

Thank you very much for choosing Melia Grand Hermitage and Bulgaria for your holiday. We believe that each destination has its own priorities and our main goal is to give the best of them to our guests. We are glad that we have reached your satisfaction and we hope that you will come to visit us again.

Greetings from sunny Golden Sands,

Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    320
    149
    65
    50
See reviews for
454
343
31
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We have just spent two weeks at this hotel and I must say, the service was exceptional. we upgraded to The Level and it was well worth it: We had a large superior room on the 6th floor with sea view. Big bathroom with shower and bath, dressing gowns and quality toiletries replenished each day. free minibar housing still and tonic water, fresh orange, Fantas cokes and beers. Nuts crisps and a toblerone. You could have asked for more I expect. No tea or coffee, although from 2.30pm to 10pm you could get it in the Level Lounge exclusive to Level guests, No kids allowed) and between 2.30pm til 5 pm there was free alcoholic drinks both International and Local, (all spirits), soft drinks and tea coffee and hot chocolate. afternoon tea started at 4pm with a selection of cakes and nuts. Comfy lounge with large screen tv located on the 8th floor with fab views. Included in the package was free use of the sauna and Hamaman (Turkish Bath). Also a separate dining area for level guests. We were on breakfast only, and the service in the Level restaurant at breakfast was superb. We had freshly squeezed juice every day and the breakfast buffet was extensive. Some days we had champagne and there was smoked salmon. The waitresses always looked happy and were there to replenish drinks and clear plates in a jiffy.Separate check in (which was supposed to be express but there were some Chinese people with a hundred questions in front of us so it took 25 mins to check in). The hotel is set back from the road so it is fairly quiet. Nice beach in front and the hotel has its own beds and brollies free for Level guests. Make sure you go to the white parasols as some gorilla was trying to charge us (blue parasols), and he was quite aggressive. Plenty of beds around the pool, free towels, separate area for the Level guests. If you are on an ordinary package, it could get costly as costs inside the hotel including sauna etc expensive specially for Bulgaria. Also the Hermitage Restaurant did not look as nice and when there is a lot of guests it was noisy when we walked past. If you want the buffet in there and are not on half board it costs 36 levs each, 44 levs in The Level restaurant, (which would be worth the extra for the good service.)The only thing we didn't like was the animation team. We arrived in Bulgaria 19th May which is about a month into the season, and we found there was no proper timetable of activities and they did not motivate the guests to do anything. The weather was rainy some days and the team was nowhere to be found. On the last day 1st June when it was sunny all day, they started annoying water polo in the main Pool, annoying tannoy announcements while you were sat around the pool (Salsa Lessons come and join etc) and then later a show and kids disco so noise from 8.30pm til 11pm. Tannoy was because they were too lazy to approach guests. I got caught for indoor pool aerobics the day before I left, (only just started then don't know why not the week before) and it was boring, more strength than aerobic, full of silly Russian/ Ukraine girls giggling and fawning over the instructor. Check out was efficient and breakfast waiting at 02.30am before we left which was nice of them even though could only manage a bit at that time of the morning. Apart from the animation saga, the only other annoyances were the Al Dente restaurant was closed the whole time we were there, and The hamaman wasn't in operation for a few days as there was a problem with it. Ask for a non-smoking room unless you smoke. My husband had the Tibetan Ritual massage and I had the Balinese massage in the hotel. Although pleasant, I don't think we had the full works which were described for the types of massage such as I was supposed to have hot stones which never materialised and I think my husband had almost the same as me and it was supposed to be different. We had a good massage on the beach from a lady almost directly in line with the hotel who charges a lev a minute and that was the cheapest along the strip. It was well worth it and she found the problem area in my shoulder which i did not tell her about so she knew what she was doing. I would not have bothered with the hotel one if I had found her first. I would recommend this hotel for a stay as I think it is the best one in Golden Sands. We had cakes in the Viennese cafe in the Admiral which is a five star and also looks good but has not got the same finesse as the Melia and it is also nearer the road. I slept well in the big kingsize bed better than at home, and the two weeks there passed far too quickly.

Room Tip: 6th floor great sea view, allocated to Level guests You definitely need THE LEVEL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Honesty183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear " Honesty183", my name is Anna Gancheva.
First of all I would like to thank you very much for choosing us for your vacation and sharing your experience with us. We highly appreciate your positive comments about our service and our "Level" facilities in particular.
On the other hand our animation manager has taken immediate actions to improve the animation program. Here are some of them: 1) during bad weather more indoor activities and more funny happenings in the lobby; 2) to decrease the volume of the microphone during the daily program and more public relations in order to reach and involve more guests in the activities.
Meanwhile in the YHI Spa was provided refreshing training for all procedures and treatments but just for your information according to the brochure and confirmed by the Spa manager, only the Mandala treatment and Tibetian massage include stones in the process.
We are sure that next time you come to visit us we will exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braila, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

First thing first,
it's not a tipicaly 5 star hotel , more like 4 star. Quite new with large room with all that you basicaly need but the made in 3 day change only the towels but not the sheets and she diden't dust.
Food: breakfast was basic and we had the same every day. Restaurant in the hotel is not sow good value fot money.

Overal you coud find better value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Valentin B,
I am Anna Gancheva, Quality MAnager at Melia Grand Hermitage.
First of all I would like to thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your vacation. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and we are taking your comments, about the cleaning service and the restaurant, into consideration. Our main task is to maintain high standards of service, and it was very surprising for us that you are not completely satisfied with the housekeeping department as they constantly are keeping high quality. Meanwhile we have conducted refreshing training about the cleaning procedures.
Once again thank you very much for your comment. Looking forward to see you again in Melia Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Some weeks ago , together with my wife , we spent a three-days holiday ( 13.04 -16.04 .2012 ) in this hotel , all inclusive system . Before and after this short holiday we have read all reviews on Trip Advisor and would like to say that we agreed with most of them ,good and not so good . However we like to emphasize two remarks :
- This hotel has the most beautiful sea-front view , with two large teraceses ( one of them with a big swimming-pool ) followed by a nice garden , wich goes down-hill towards the beach ; during the nights , a special light-system on the front of the hotel reflects on the swimming-pool water,creating a fairy-tale image .
-The sea-front rooms have a marvellous sea-view ; unfortunately , some of these rooms , especially on the 5-th floor ,have a cnnecting - door ( in order to make a two-bedroom , if necessary ) ; if in this connecting-room happens to be a family with a baby or a small child , the noise is rather big ; it is better to check with the Reception before you take a sea-view with a connecting door .

Room Tip: See our remark above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SanduBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear SanduBucharest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Here in Meliá Grand Hermitage each feedback from our guests is valuable and important and we are taking all your advices into consideration.
We are happy that we have met your expectations and you had a pleasant stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

5-star hotel is very big, you lose your way through .The rooms spacious and very clean, we slept well in very large "king size "beds. Verry helpful staff, English speaking.The pool outside very large end clean. Underground parking was 10 euros per day.Sea ​​near the hotel 70-100 meters.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mario_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Mario_Germany,

Thanks for your great review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your visit and your expectations were met.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Best regards,

Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Last summer i stayed with a friend at the hotel and everything was excellent the room, nice and with a good view, the food was perfect and the staff were very friendly and helpful, providing excellent service. I would strongly recommend this hotel to all my friends and if i go again to the Golden Sands definitely will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Svetlana337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Svetlana337,

Thank you for the lovely words! We all are what we are because of you – our guests! We will always do our best to make everyone’s’ holiday memorable and amazing.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your friends in Melia Grand Hermitage.

Best wishes,

Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Great stuff, great conditions! very large rooms, cozy beds, excellent food....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vlad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityhermitage, Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Vlad S,

Thank you very much for being our guest and for the short but very essential review here in Tripadvisor. We hope that you will come to visit us again. We are trying to constantly improve and implement new ideas and trends so we will positive surprise you.

Greetings from Golden Sands,

Anna Gancheva
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.2 km away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#11 of 110 in Golden Sands
144 reviews
0.4 km away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#3 of 110 in Golden Sands
466 reviews
1.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
HVD Viva Hotel
HVD Viva Hotel
#7 of 110 in Golden Sands
190 reviews
0.0 km away
Orchidea Boutique Spa
Orchidea Boutique Spa
#26 of 110 in Golden Sands
100 reviews
0.7 km away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Grand Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Grand Hermitage

Property: Melia Grand Hermitage
Address: 1 Grand Hermitage Alley, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#4 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#5 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Grand Hermitage 5*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a place with a unique atmosphere and service where you can relax and enjoy the serenity, the sun and the sea... Imagine a place that will exceed your expectations... Located on a quiet hill and surrounded by a green park, this exquisite luxury hotel offers the tranquility you are longing for. The 5-star resort welcomes you with stylish atmosphere, quality service and refined cuisine. Lounge on the sunniest balconies, relax in the SPA centre or have fun on the beach with the water sports available. Indulge your senses in the 5-star YHI SPA Centre: exclusive high quality massages, therapies and procedures offer a chance to get away from the stress and enjoy the serenity of your vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Grand Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Grand Hermitage Hotel Golden Sands
Melia Golden Sands
Melia Hotel Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage Golden Sands, Bulgaria - Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing