We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
15
25
7
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
25
7
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews young people pork good size reception staff nice hotel pool bar big variety night life sunny beach other hotels animation team salad internet balcony darts sunbeds sea
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 64 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

This was my first trip to Bulgaria, personally I wouldn't return. Our party was travelling with a wheelchair user, although Thomas Cook ensured us the hotel was suitable we came across alot of problems during our stay. There is a ramp to get into the hotel & we were given a ground floor room however, the disabled toilets were too small to get a wheel chair in & the support rail was also broken. The lights in the room didn't work, although asked for someone to fix them several times they weren't fixed during our whole stay. The pool area doesn't have a ramp but a small step which was easy to maneuver but not ideal.

The hotel itself was very clean & the staff were very helpful, can't fault them there.

The food was very limited, alot of pork and a very limited vegetarian menu. Although there is lots of bars and restaurants you can eat at a reasonable price (only a few with disabled access)

The entertainment/animation team were poor, the 2 girls running the animation team occasionally went round and asked people if they wanted to join in games. We weren't asked once during the week. There is a time table with activities etc at main reception however, never actually coincided with the day.

Pool area is lovely, although make sure you hurry and secure a sun bed. Space is limited and if you don't claim one, you won't get one.

Golden sands itself is a very acquired taste, my family seemed to enjoy it. Lots of places to drink, again at a reasonable price. Night life is always buzzing. Great for stag/hen do's.

The beach we visited once, alot of the area's are restricted and if you are caught in these areas you are given a fine. So I'd advise to read the signs and look out for the free areas, usually at the back or right at the front of the loungers. Although these are very small and often get very busy!

All in all, not a bad week away. Hotel would have been more than suitable if the disabled access was improved.

Part of 4.
UK.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Deana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Smartline arena mar Bulgaria.
what a horrible holiday.
After being to a few smartline hotels we were quite happy to take our family to this FAMILY resort
BUT “lively and relaxing” = PARTY PARTY PARTY.
Hotel and pool was nice, food not as good as other Smartlinr.the area around us was horrible.Our rooms view was just strip joints and night clubs, the night time was even worse clubs blaring music out till 6 in the morning even if we had the balcony door shut you could still hear it. NO SLEEP.
The 1st day by pool was like club 18-30 holiday.
90% of the clientele was aged around 18-22 German/Czech large groups of girls/boys no respect to anybody else in the hotel no wonder the staff looked miserable.
We spent the rest of week trying to avoid them even tried the indoor pool but groups of lads in there with no lights on in the pool having there own party even the beach turned into there own private resort.early hours in morning listening to them going on club/bar crawls then back to the hotel music blaring screaming and banging on hotel doors.
Sick in the lift!!!
Arguably the most misleading holiday info - using the words family & relaxing. Party Drink Noisy, more honest words to use.
Very Very unhappy “family”

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank skipratt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Stayed here for two weeks from 7th to 21st August with another couple.
Positives - hotel is modern and kept clean and tidy. Rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels and bedding changed twice a week. Food was good for an all inclusive with plenty of variety, although some of the dishes needed to be kept hotter. Very close to the beach and all the night life. Entertainment was quite good. Vikki and Nick were very good.
Negatives- not for British people mainly Eastern Europeans. There were only 12 British at the hotel in the two weeks we were there. Most of the staff couldn’t crack a smile or speak English. Pool wasn’t kept clean it was murky and you couldn’t see the bottom. Banging music round the pool all day.

Overall we had a lovely holiday and considering the bad reviews the hotel had before we travelled we didn’t have any problem staying here. However, not sure that I would return to Bulgaria it is mainly for groups of youngsters and bars are aimed at Eastern Europeans.

Room tip: Rooms over the pool are quiet the ones at the front of the hotel are noisy
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

Stopped at the hotel for 2weeks can not moan at the room was clean and tidy and food is ok. Would not recommend it for families.this hotel is not for English people.think thomas cook shouldn't have it in there book there was 12 English people in the hotel and we was 4 off them.same entertainment every day.the pool was dirty u couldn't even see the bottom of it.full of Germans.Romanians.irans.french.hotel staff don't smile or even try to talk to you.the only member of staff that you could have a laugh with was Alex on the top bar.this is more of a party hotel as it was full of group's of young girl's and lads..

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jojo2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Is the most horrible experience we ever had in Bulgaria, this is the 4th time this year on Bulgarian shore, but this hotel is horrible.
4 familes, 4 rooms
5 euro a day parking, but there are no parking spaces, so you are called by reception to move your car everytime someone wants to leave. If you complian the reception staff tells you to move your car somewhere else...
Staff- reception extremly rude. You should know the international sign language, because they don’t speak english... be ready to use your hands a lot to explain.
Rooms -are anything but clean. We called the cleaning staff to clean the toilet as it still had poop on it from the previous guest... the cleaning lady came to clean and yelled at us, was very rude because we were bothered by few splashes of poop on the toilet cover.
They clean with the same mop and water all the rooms, they don’t use fresh water or detergent...
Toiletries- there aren’t any... and don’t bother to ask you won’t get any. Better to go and by yourself.
Beach- no beach acces
Pool- very dirty
Food- at least the vegetables are fresh... the tomatoes pasta sauce is so sweet is mostly sugar, but kids like it, is like dessert
Internet- there is no free wi-fi as they advertise. Free wi-fi only around reception area. But wait! You can pay for internet in your room, the best there is 5 lv a day, just don’t expect that it actually works... it doesn’t, don’t waist 5 lv on internet, better go buy shower gel and detergent!

If by any chance you read this review and still have time to cancel, then cancel. There are many other good hotels near by.
Rude staff, very dirty, bad food, dirty pool.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank cristina4092016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews