We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok good location”
Review of The Outpost Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Outpost Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cardston
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We stayed here for two nights because if was close to the entrance to both Glacier and Waterton Lake. For this price in the US we would have had to stay 2 hours away and this hotel was only about 30 minutes from both. The trip thru customs was never a problem nor was there a line. There are many signs in the room and in the office telling you what to do and how management only wants to see you when necessary. We had a one of the new rooms with the kitchenette. It was dark but mostly clean. One of the sheets was stained but there was an extra one to replace it with. You also have to sign a waiver saying they are not responsible for items getting stolen from your room. We had never seen that before but just to be safe we removed everything from our room even though we were staying two nights. We also stayed at the Flamingo across the street for one night and liked that a little better. There isn't much for early breakfast in the town but we found the Subway in town opens at 7am and the people in there were real friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelOutpost, Manager at The Outpost Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

I think it is worth pointing out that we do have prices that can not be compared to 'state-side' in and around Glacier, so if you have a passport, it is worth crossing over into Canada and staying with us!

Thanks for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017

Comfortable and quiet. A bit dated but there were no issues. Good value. The town is a bit sparce on restaurants and you can't buy liquor anywhere in town. There were 10 of us on motorcycles staying here for one night and no one had any complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Monthlystays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelOutpost, Manager at The Outpost Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thanks for the kind words....( they seem few and far between with the people who take the time to type up reviews ... LOL

We are working ion the dated thing.... retroffited every room with new furniture recently and have renovated 15 out of 25 rooms, so far..... things are looking up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Room was clean and big enough with clean linens but the bathroom certainly didn't have much privacy since the door and frame didn't properly fit. When a family pays over 100.00 for a room during low season, we expect it to be decent but that was not the case here.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank tlkehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelOutpost, Manager at The Outpost Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

FYI, June 22 is our high season, you got a steal of a deal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

The room was plenty big. The linens were clean and in good condition. The bed was comfortable. The microwave and fridge were clean and in good working order.

As you can see by the photos I have included, the space above and on the side of the doors allows for anyone to be able to look into your room even when the door is shut and locked with the deadbolt. This was the case for all of the rooms in my corridor. The bathroom sink was old and chipped and the handle on the faucet wasn't attached and came right off. The shower corners are yucky and black. One of the lightbulbs above the bathroom sink was broken with wires sticking out. The guest laundry room was stinky and dirty. The hot water in the shower needed to run for a full three minutes before it actually became warm. The online posting for the motel amenities is fairly accurate, but the sign in front of the motel is not. There is no hot tub, no exercise room (under renovation), no phone (at least in my room)

I am bracing myself for a lengthy reply from the owner/manager as he has done on other reviews. It appears as though he does not want the motel's issues to be posted online. He wants issues to be discussed with him directly. He has said that complaining online changes nothing. I, however, am not interested in whether he changes the hotel since I would not consider returning anyway. The point of this review is to inform potential guests of what they might encounter during a stay at the Outpost Motel. I can see by the pictures that there are some better rooms (or were at some point in time), but mine wasn't one of them. For $68 USD, I did not expect a suite, but I did expect that you wouldn't be able to see into my room with the door shut.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ANels_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelOutpost, Manager at The Outpost Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

I am quite happy to respond to reviews online, it just aggravates me when people waste their time ranting online about little things (like broken faucets), rather than coming to tell me about it, so I can fix it.... and I can assure you that it really does not change anything as far as how many people stay here... WHY? Because we are the cheapest place to stay within 200 miles of Waterton National Park, and that's why people choose us.... the funny thing is, is that its only the odd person that feels that it is necessary to to write a 2 page essay on what they feel that they should get for their measly $68 bucks...

What I want to know, is where does everyone think the money comes from to pay for all these little fixes? Money dont grow on trees, and for $68 bucks it dont leave much for us to replace $10,000 dollar signs after we are finished feeding the kids..... just saying

YES, The rooms are basic, but CLEAN, that's our primary focus, the lights function, but might be missing the odd cover.... not the end of the world, we are trying to renovate rooms, and so we have little time to worry about what might be wrong with our cheapest rooms.... (which btw will not be renovated until all the other rooms are done, so if you want a decent room, dont rent our cheapest ones...LOL)

You get what you pay for, and if you want to pay $350 a night for a room I would be happy to give you the number for Waterton Lakes Lodge....

Meanwhile, As far as the open space on the doors go, it is something that concerned me as well, however there is a reason for it... with old boiler systems that have baseboard heating, there has to be proper air flow to prevent areas from freezing up, and those spaces on the door are necessary for that air flow.... rest assured that someone would have to be 8 feet tall to look through those open spaces at the top of the doors, or carry a ladder up the stairs to get up high enough to see through the cracks, so your concern is really more of a misconception than a genuine complaint, but I will be sure to send a letter to the engineers that designed the building back in 1972, and let them know that you are not happy with their way of thinking.... LOL

The faucet has been corrected, the re-circulation pump (for instant hot water) is on back order, (but I expect to get it this week), the new signage has been ordered (thank God), and the guest laundry is next to the boiler room, so it smells like a boiler room... but rest assured, if you use laundry detergent your clothes come out smelling just fine! LOL

I hope this clears up some of the items that compelled you to waste a large portion of your day telling the world about your frustrations.... but as long as you feel better, then I have a reason to wake up tomorrow and forge ahead.... LOL







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and because we had stayed at this establishment several years ago and enjoyed our stay very much, I booked a room online. When we arrived we were told that the room we reserved was on the second floor. I am elderly and suffer from arthritis and asked for a ground floor. The cost was an extra $10.
We had no choice. It was too late to cancel without forfeiting the total fee. The room was a huge disappointment!
The entry door was poorly fitted and light showed between the door and frame. The room was cramped with two queen beds. The bathroom window was old, poorly fitting and didn't lock and the blind was broken. We hung toilet paper over the holes in the blind for privacy and hoped that no one would test the window.
The room itself was reasonably clean albeit very shabby and worn. The beds were poorly made, the sheets were wrinkled which led me to suspect that they hadn't been changed from the previous guests.
To add insult to injury, when I booked the room there was an indication that there was only one room left to rent. I checked a couple of times throughout the night and in the morning and there were only half a dozen rooms in use.
The picture in the online ad are obviously from an earlier time and are completely misleading!
If this were the only motel in Cardston I would drive back to Lethbridge than stay in this slummy place.
I definitely would not recommend this motel to anyone!

Room Tip: Choose a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enalyu95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelOutpost, Manager at The Outpost Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Happy Anniversary!

You had a choice.... Its not our fault if you are too cheap to pay a measly $10 for a nicer room...LOL

If you insist on paying for the cheapest room, in Southern Alberta, then you must expect to get what you paid for...LOL

For the rest of the customers who want to look at what we have available, I recommend that you book one of our kitchenettes, as those are the ones that we have been renovating, and they cost a little more, but they are the nicest rooms in town, BAR NONE...

I will be updating our website to reflect the new pics as soon as I get the opportunity, I have just been too busy renovating rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

No hot water, no privacy, Ill fitting door so anyone who walks by your room can have a peek inside even when it's closed and locked. The owner/manager cares very little about anything. Sheer curtains for no privacy and you're up with the sun. You're better off in a tent. On top of all that, is overpriced!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelOutpost, Manager at The Outpost Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

I was just at the dump, and it doesnt look anything like this motel.... LOL

As far as the open space on the doors go, it is something that concerned me as well, however there is a reason for it... with old boiler systems that have baseboard heating, there has to be proper air flow to prevent areas from freezing up, and those spaces on the door are necessary for that air flow.... rest assured that someone would have to be 8 feet tall to look through those cracks, or carry a ladder up the stairs to get up high enough to see through the cracks, so your concern is really more of a misconception than a genuine complaint.

I will be sure to write a letter to the engineers that built this building back in 1972 and let them know that you are unhappy with their way of thinking! LOL

The curtains are being replaced this week, so that will no longer be an issue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The owner was attentive and friendly. We were surprised, because he offered us a free upgrade to sleep at honeymoon suite. There was a jacuzzi, fireplace, fridge and microwave. Good quality towels, sheets and pillows. Room was cozy, clean and well maintained. I don't know about other rooms, if they are good, but it seems the owner is making improvements.
I recommend and plan to stay there again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MonicaJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardston
0.7 km away
South Country Inn
South Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Cardston
91 reviews
22.7 km away
Bear Country Inn and Suites
Bear Country Inn and Suites
#2 of 2 in Mountain View
27 reviews
0.3 km away
Cobblestone Manor
Cobblestone Manor
#2 of 3 in Cardston
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outpost Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outpost Motel

Address: 37 8 Ave W, Cardston, Alberta T0K 0K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Cardston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cardston
Price Range: $76 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Outpost Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Outpost Motel is the most cost-effective, clean, and comfortable choice for overnight & weekly stays in Cardston, Alberta. No other place in town can boast about how large and spacious their rooms are. Under NEW management, the motel has newly renovated rooms, with parking right in front of the rooms. From the community fire pit, there is a clear view of the ever-famous Mormon temple, lit up at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Outpost Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outpost Motel Cardston, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing