We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chase Country Inn Motel(Chase)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Overlander Motel(Chase)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jade Mountain Motel(Chase)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nancy Greene's Cahilty Hotel & Suites(Sun Peaks)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sun Peaks Lodge(Sun Peaks)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hearthstone Lodge(Sun Peaks)(Great Value!)
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
7
11
2
1
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
11
2
1
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe blue roomshuswap lakecaboosedormtoiletbanffsurroundingspropertyhighway
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 29 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2017

I did book the blue room a private room. The room was very clean and well kept the bed was excellent and the room very well ventilated which was important since I visited during a very hot time. Shower had hot and cold water! The manager provided pancakes for breakfast which tasted very good! If you travel as a group or are on lower budget you can ask for a dorm bed in one of the trains on the property. The train wagons looked very nice and is indeed an odd overnight possibility! The property had to different places there one could go for a swim in the Shuswap lake. One of the piers was under maintenance during my visit but this work is probably finished by now! The manager provided leaflets and very useful information about the near surroundings. I did recommend a visit to this place you will save money and have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jan-OlofO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile

Super friendly owner, Blaire, welcomed us and recommended some great eateries and activities nearby and on route to Banff. The room was basic but comfortable. Don't miss the delicious pancakes for breakfast!

We decided to stay in Shuswap as a breakpoint from the drive from Vancouver to Banff. We were pleasantly surprised to find there is quite a lot to do in the region and wished we had more time to explore.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Harriet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017

The location for this hostel is fantastic, right on the Trans Canada Highway yet feel remote, and it backs on to the Little Shuswap River. It's a stunning setting, and the converted cabooses are original and charming, although not stunningly clean. When you're staying somewhere that lets you kayak the river and also use a traditional sweatlodge you're more there for the experience than the facilities

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016

The host is friendly and wonderful, and the location is wonderful. However, this hostel has a very hippie vibe and is not clean. It has a very strong musty smell, like it hasn't been thoroughly cleaned in the last 20 years. I wouldn't stay here again. The view from the dock of the hostel is amazing; the sunset is one of the most beautiful I've seen.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2016

I'm surprised to read all the other comments saying this place is pretty bad. You are sleeping in a caboose in the middle of Canada - so it's not a fancy HI Hostel in a major city..! We had a great time and I would return. The beds & bathroom were fine and showers a few cabooses away. The property is peaceful and the lake added to the atmosphere! The camp fire at night is fun to sit around, although we didn't have it on in summer. If you want 'something better' don't come to this small town! If you want a true Canadian experience on a beautiful lake with amazing pancakes with real maple syrup then visit this hostel! No free WIFI, but you wouldn't want or need it here - free parking.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James94_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews