We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds but lacking hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Dawson Creek
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Dawson Creek
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here on our way to Alaska. Hotel is conveniently located on Alcan. Room was clean & the 2 queen beds were very comfortable & the linens were nice & in good condition. Downside - no view of anything except a parking lot & the guy who checked us in at 4:00 pm was unfriendly. He was still there the next morning & his disposition hadn't improved! We're accustom to good ole southern hospitality which was lacking here!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anntricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Dawson Creek
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

Room was clean & modern but the bed was absolutely the worst I have ever slept in (assuming I was able to sleep, which I was not.) we had a room with a king bed that was very much akin to sleeping on lumpy concrete! The towels were rough enough to peel the first two layers of skin off! Next time in Dawson will pay the extra $20 and stay @ Holiday Inn or Podollan! I will go with a rating of "poor" due to the extreme poor quality of the bed, as a decent place to sleep is pretty much what staying in a hotel is all about.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knorthernlyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two nights while on business in Dawson Creek. This is one of the top 5 hotels I've ever stayed in. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel if you are staying in Dawson Creek for business or pleasure. The rooms were simply amazing (huge, clean, well furnished, excellent beds), the staff was great and the breakfast bar was superb! Absolutely NOTHING to complain about at this hotel, and NOTHING to suggest to improve it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JArnoldussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

My cousin and I headed to Dawson Creek to Visit a friend of mine & to see a concert that was happening at the Encana Center.
Upon check-in the lady at the front was very nice and offered up some ideas on things we could see around town etc.
That was the extent of the "great service" that we received.
I booked this room on-line, and at that time there were only a couple of rooms left to be had. So really didn't have much of a choice but to book it for the alloted time we needed it for.
When we walked into the room, we noticed some kind of a smell, wasn't sure if maybe it had been a smoking room or something else that was causing the mild putrid smell.
I did specifically book a non-smoking room.
We arrived on a Thursday , on Friday we were gone for the whole day, only to get back to our room that had been missed for cleaning, no clean towels or anything . So had to go hunt down some towels on our own when we returned.
Also on the Thursday evening/Friday morning at 3:00 A:M, people upstairs from us were having a party or something, all we heard all morning long was yelling & stomping from all the drunkards, so no sleep that night for us.
We told the clerk about it upon our emerging from our room, and said if there was a problem again that we could probably be moved.
On Friday night upon our return to our room, our magnetic keys wouldn't work to access our room, so off to the front counter again so the girl could reset our keys for entrance. But first she had to make sure we were still booked into the room.
We were at the far end of the hallway on the main floor, and there is a storage room right next to the room we were in. That was another inconvienience as that door was being opened and shut every morning starting at about 5:00/5:30 by the staff, and the noise echoed like crazy in our room.
Also did a load of laundry the morning we left, and had to go buy a bounce sheet for the dryer at the front desk, so I asked how much it was?
The guy working the counter, said he wasn't sure, probably a couple of dollars. So that's what I gave him. He brings out a box of bounce sheets, and asks me how many I wanted, so I said I only needed one. So he then gave me back one loonie! what a deal!!
The breakfast in the dining room was also nothing to write home about, the scrambled eggs tasted like they were made with sour milk or something. Ended up going to Safeway and just buying some decent fruits and yogurts. The only really safe thing to eat was the toast, and the bacon was pretty good.
When we checked out, the kid working the counter asked how the stay was, so we were honest and told him what we thought . Didn't seem at all concerned about our gripes, but did happen to say, he didn't know why we were put on the first floor as those rooms are generally for people with animals.
We paid 437.00 for 3 nights, and it was so not worth it!
Would never stay there again....

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trailblazer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I had to flee the Alaska Inn in the middle of the night (see my review of that one) and ended up at the Comfort Inn. The woman working the desk was very nice to me on the phone and when I showed up in person. The rooms are quite plush and comfortable, beyond what I was needing for this trip, but great for a business traveller or someone looking for above average accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strontium87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

this is one of the best comfort inns you will find, brand new with spacious super clean rooms, the staff is VERY HELPFUL in everyway, easy to find right on the ALCAN highway, just head north and you are on the historic highway. If you pass the hotel by you are making a mistake. A GEM!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HURRICANEBOB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer im Erdgeschoss verfügen über eine eigene Tür zum Parkplatz
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dawson Creek hotels
2.7 km away
Stonebridge Dawson Creek
Stonebridge Dawson Creek
#2 of 12 in Dawson Creek
118 reviews
2.5 km away
Days Inn Dawson Creek
Days Inn Dawson Creek
#3 of 12 in Dawson Creek
243 reviews
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dawson Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Pomeroy Inn & Suites Dawson Creek
2.4 km away
Aurora Park Inn & Suites
Aurora Park Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Dawson Creek
8 reviews
2.0 km away
George Dawson Inn
George Dawson Inn
#6 of 12 in Dawson Creek
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Dawson Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Dawson Creek

Address: 1200 Alaska Ave, Dawson Creek, British Columbia V1G 1Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Dawson Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Dawson Creek
Price Range: $179 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Dawson Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and Unwind at Mile 0 of the picturesque Alaskan Highway. The recently built Comfort Inn Dawson Creek is conveniently located with all the amenities that make for an enjoyable stay. Comfort Inn Dawson Creek provides our guests with free internet, ample parking, easy highway access, deluxe continental breakfast, guest laundry facilities and personable welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Dawson Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing