We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Luxury in the Wilderness of the South Chilcotins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

After a 6 day backpack trip into a very remote area of the South Chilcotins Tyax Wilderness Resort was the perfect way to treat ourselves. We were very impressed with the renovations since we had last visited over 4 years ago. Our lakeview room on the first floor looked out onto the lovely front lawn and spectacular lake and mountains. The decor was tasteful and comfortable and the beds were heaven after 6 nights sleeping on a thermorest. The large soaker tub was also a treat. Delicious meals were served in an amazing high ceiling dining room overlooking the lake. We took advantage of the free canoes and paddled around the lake in the morning. All the staff from the front desk to the bartender were very friendly and professional a welcome change from our previous visit 4 years ago when the staff were unfriendly and uncaring. The new owners have done a fantastic job and if you're looking for a wonderful place to be pampered in the wilderness Tyax Resort is worth every penny!

Room Tip: It's well worth it to pay the extra for a lakefront room, the view is spectacular!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnValleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

Just returned from Tyax where we stayed for 4 days. Initially when you arrive you are blown away by the resort, location and the utter tranquility! However, don't be fooled, its not as quiet as you would think. There is a campground beside the resort which seemed to be fill of screaming kids most of the day; and it was almost impossible to get away from. The room and resort were stunningly beautiful and I have no complaints at all about that. However, one night I was kept awake by adults who were clearly drunk, loud, slamming doors, running through the corridors, whistling etc; and the last door slammed at 3am. I did not feel comfortable talking to them myself and attempted to contact the front desk to deal with it. However, they close around 10am so basically you are hooped!! I talked to them in the am and her only reply was she would talk with the bartender. the next night it went on until midnight, still a little late for my liking. I really feel I shouldn't have had to pay for that night seeing as they weren't able to address the problem while its happening. The food was super, however, I think they really need to either have a larger menu to choose from or change the selections more often. It got a little 'old' by the 4th day. Housekeeping was generally acceptable, however, I put my dirty towels in the bathtub as they tell you to do if you want them changed, and the housekeeper just hung them back up, and they were clearly dirty. So, it's a lovely resort, but when asked if I would go back again, I probably wouldn't.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TinDou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Tyax. The hotel had only been open a few weeks for the start of the season and was still very quiet. Consequently we were given lake view rooms which were outstanding. The view of the lake and mountains was a treat to wake up to every morning.
The room was spotlessley clean, modern and well maintained whith very comfortable beds and pillows which were appreciated at the end of long active days.
We used the resorts kayaks which are free to use and spent hours paddling around the lake viewing the local wildlife.
Staff at the hotel were friendly and eager to please and the food was of a high standard.
The spa facilities are very good and we ended one day soaking in the hot tub which is situated on the grass in front of the lake - bliss!
I would also recommend the sea-plane flight over the glaciers - beautiful scenery.
It is true that the journey to Tyax along Carpenter Lake Road is a bit scary for those of a nervous disposition (as I am) but we took the drive carefully and it was well worth the journey to spend time in such lovely surrounding and in such a comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Splash out for a lake view room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susieJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

great setting, lovely chalets...but the care to summer guests left a bit to be desired....no followup once we checked in to see if things were ok, very hard to get a good map or sense of where hiking or different bike trails were at, as the focus is on the winter revenue stream. If the lodge truly wants to make summer guests want to return, they need to step it up on having staff available and well versed in the many many opportunities in the area to enjoy nature. the lodge is under reno, so hopefully most guests get better service under normal circumstances.
Cobwebs in the chalets but otherwise great...the canoes are pretty low end but thankfully are included in the rent.
was disappointed to make such a long drive into the "wilderness" only to find numerous cabins on the lake. Guess a person needs to do more research for a wilderness retreat!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SagebrushCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

I have had an opportunity over the years to explore B.C. staying at many campsites and discovering many lakes. Tyaughton Lake is by far the most beautiful lake in B.C. It is breath taking. You are completely surrounded by mountains and nestled in the middle of this beauty. It doesnt matter where you decide to stay because it is the lake that will keep you coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank langley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We got great weather and experienced no undue road delays but the travel directions were not accurate in many ways and the trip took nearly an hour longer than published. Gorgeous country so it was an interesting drive into autumn weather. The hotel looks great at first glance but inside it s not in great condition - carpets in hallways with holes in them, bathrooms not maintained overnight, our room had big dark stains on the carpets and gradually developed a stale smell. There were only about 6 rooms in use so if they had better rooms I'm not sure why they'd give this one to a guest. We did like the balcony, the food in the restaurant was excellent (pork tenderloin, molten lava cake) Enjoyed paddling in the lake and looked forward to a hot tub before dinner - but a sign on the hot tub said it was not working. It was not a new sign - it has been out of commission for a while. Horses mowing the lawn were a delightful touch. Staff at the desk were unable to answer our questions regarding roads, road conditions, etc. They did not offer to find out from someone else. I was going to bring a group to the resort for a 3 day retreat but I won't do it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speederchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2008

I'm writing this review from Tyax itself which gives it a plus already for having free access to internet.
The journey from Lilloet is pretty hair raising but having a 4X4 helped a lot- that and the fact that the road was almost deserted. We arrived late having travelled for over 5 hours and our first impression was rather spoilt by having only the leftovers of the buffet to eat. That said, the chef did cook 2 fresh steaks and made fresh desserts.
The room is large with a balcony overlooking the lake and the view is beautiful, Staff are very helpful and friendly, especially Mary with the horses and Mike on the ATVs. The food is good but, as others have mentioned, quite pricey and you have no alternative to a buffet even if you only really want one course. I think they should consider going a la carte. The waiver is a pain and, as it stands, means you give away all rights to claims even if injury/damage is not your fault AND you become liable for any repairs howsoever caused. Why don'y they get good insurance cover themselves?
The resort is very remote but in beautiful surroundings and there is lots to do outdoors. If you don't like fresh air then I'd stay away.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MoosemanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing

Address: 1 Tyaughton Lake Road, Gold Bridge, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada (Formerly Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Gold Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Price Range: $221 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa is a unique property, sitting on Tyaughton Lake and surrounded by the towering peaks of the Southern Chilcotin Mountains in British Columbia. The lodge is one of Canada's largest log structures and offers a fusion of luxury and comfort while retaining a rustic lodge atmosphere. The area is renowned for outdoor adventure and recreation, with an endless trail system which provides some of the best alpine mountain biking routes, hiking trails, nature walks, and horseback rides that British Columbia has to offer. Recreational fishing, kayaking, canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, and floatplane tours add to the experience. The resort boasts a beautiful lake view dining room & patio with stunning views, high arched ceilings and a breathtaking stone fireplace. The kitchen features a seasonal à la carte menu from an incredibly talented team of chefs. The Spa includes 3 treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, dry sauna, eucalyptus steam room, 22 person outdoor Hot Tub, yoga studio, and body work professionals who can assist you after sport or during your absorption of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyax Wilderness Hotel Gold Bridge
Tyax Mountain Lake Hotel
Hotel Tyax Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing