We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I usually stay at the campground but we were celebrating a 40th birthday with a float plane drop into Warner so decided to treat ourselves to comfy beds and our own bathroom before and after the 40 km ride.

Unfortunately between the room door not sealing well and sleeping with the window open for fresh air it sounded like anyone walking down the hallway talking or the people in the rooms either side and below us were in the room with us!

Lukily none of our "neighbours" stayed up too late but we had a room on the entrance side of the building and were woken at 4.45am the first morning by people loading up their vehicle and driving off.

It is a spectacular setting and I love riding in the area but I doubt I would stay at the Lodge again for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a second floor lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nakilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel is beautifully set at a lake and you are blown away by the view at your arrival. The rooms are redone, are spacious and have beautiful new baths, but...the service was far below what you assume of such a resort. Dinner was tasty, but they seemed to be understaffed and uncoordinated. The rooms weren't made before 6 pm in the evening (!), and only after we had a word with the manager on duty. It is a real pity that such a nice hotel is such poorly staffed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyax, General Manager at Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear Guests,

First off thank you for your constructive feedback from your recent visit to our resort. Over the last 3 weeks our resort has seen a dramatic increase in bookings and walk in customers which caught us somewhat unprepared in some of our departments. From the feedback that we have received in the last 72 hours we have since brought on 2 new servers for our restaurant and added 2 new employees to our housekeeping department. All 4 employees are now in place.
The 2011 summer is a new start for Tyax and as such we are encountering a few growing pains. We are however committed to delivering the best level of service possible and are listening to our guests comments.
Our restaurant does offer both a bar and fine dinning menu which includes a children's menu. This has been in place all summer.

Thank you for helping us to continue to raise the bar here at Tyax

Sincerely,

Cliff Umpleby,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at Tyax for 2 nights of tenting. I would have given it a better rating, but I have two issues.
1) They let campers/tenting arrive at anytime during the night, while there a group arrived at 1:30am in a diesel pulling a their trailer and did two laps around looking for their friends, not happy at all about that and let the staff know about it the next morning.

2) ate at their lodge restaurant, was nice to do when camping, lol. The menu selection was very limited, no real side dishes, like maybe a hamburger or something to that effect, and also they need to have a children's menu, people travel with kids.

I would tent again here, because of the location, but would not stay at the lodge unless a few things changed, some not mentioned.
You'll love tenting and listening to the loons at night and woodland creatures talk about.
Oh yes, one more thing.They have a float plane service from the resort, be prepared for morning take offs at 7am most days if your tenting.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigcahoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Absolute stunning venue, worth the drive from Vancouver for sure. The room was spotless and everything looked great, but when we went for dinner, the kitchen seemed helpless in coping with the dinner crowd. Our dinners were scrumptious, but the wait was interminable. The next morning's breakfast took 45 minutes..... absolutely unacceptable,and after a brief chat with one of the guides/hosts, the breakfast was comped. Yes, they have a potential for a world class getaway resort, but boy, you have to keep your diners happy, especially when there is no alternative for miles. On a plus note, take the float plane trip for sightseeing or mountain biking..... worth every penny. we'll go back, but we'll definitely do our homework first vis a vis the kitchen situation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fresno888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

After a 6 day backpack trip into a very remote area of the South Chilcotins Tyax Wilderness Resort was the perfect way to treat ourselves. We were very impressed with the renovations since we had last visited over 4 years ago. Our lakeview room on the first floor looked out onto the lovely front lawn and spectacular lake and mountains. The decor was tasteful and comfortable and the beds were heaven after 6 nights sleeping on a thermorest. The large soaker tub was also a treat. Delicious meals were served in an amazing high ceiling dining room overlooking the lake. We took advantage of the free canoes and paddled around the lake in the morning. All the staff from the front desk to the bartender were very friendly and professional a welcome change from our previous visit 4 years ago when the staff were unfriendly and uncaring. The new owners have done a fantastic job and if you're looking for a wonderful place to be pampered in the wilderness Tyax Resort is worth every penny!

Room Tip: It's well worth it to pay the extra for a lakefront room, the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnValleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Just returned from Tyax where we stayed for 4 days. Initially when you arrive you are blown away by the resort, location and the utter tranquility! However, don't be fooled, its not as quiet as you would think. There is a campground beside the resort which seemed to be fill of screaming kids most of the day; and it was almost impossible to get away from. The room and resort were stunningly beautiful and I have no complaints at all about that. However, one night I was kept awake by adults who were clearly drunk, loud, slamming doors, running through the corridors, whistling etc; and the last door slammed at 3am. I did not feel comfortable talking to them myself and attempted to contact the front desk to deal with it. However, they close around 10am so basically you are hooped!! I talked to them in the am and her only reply was she would talk with the bartender. the next night it went on until midnight, still a little late for my liking. I really feel I shouldn't have had to pay for that night seeing as they weren't able to address the problem while its happening. The food was super, however, I think they really need to either have a larger menu to choose from or change the selections more often. It got a little 'old' by the 4th day. Housekeeping was generally acceptable, however, I put my dirty towels in the bathtub as they tell you to do if you want them changed, and the housekeeper just hung them back up, and they were clearly dirty. So, it's a lovely resort, but when asked if I would go back again, I probably wouldn't.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TinDou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Tyax. The hotel had only been open a few weeks for the start of the season and was still very quiet. Consequently we were given lake view rooms which were outstanding. The view of the lake and mountains was a treat to wake up to every morning.
The room was spotlessley clean, modern and well maintained whith very comfortable beds and pillows which were appreciated at the end of long active days.
We used the resorts kayaks which are free to use and spent hours paddling around the lake viewing the local wildlife.
Staff at the hotel were friendly and eager to please and the food was of a high standard.
The spa facilities are very good and we ended one day soaking in the hot tub which is situated on the grass in front of the lake - bliss!
I would also recommend the sea-plane flight over the glaciers - beautiful scenery.
It is true that the journey to Tyax along Carpenter Lake Road is a bit scary for those of a nervous disposition (as I am) but we took the drive carefully and it was well worth the journey to spend time in such lovely surrounding and in such a comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Splash out for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susieJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing

Address: 1 Tyaughton Lake Road, Gold Bridge, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada (Formerly Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Gold Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Price Range: $264 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa is a unique property, sitting on Tyaughton Lake and surrounded by the towering peaks of the Southern Chilcotin Mountains in British Columbia. The lodge is one of Canada's largest log structures and offers a fusion of luxury and comfort while retaining a rustic lodge atmosphere. The area is renowned for outdoor adventure and recreation, with an endless trail system which provides some of the best alpine mountain biking routes, hiking trails, nature walks, and horseback rides that British Columbia has to offer. Recreational fishing, kayaking, canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, and floatplane tours add to the experience. The resort boasts a beautiful lake view dining room & patio with stunning views, high arched ceilings and a breathtaking stone fireplace. The kitchen features a seasonal à la carte menu from an incredibly talented team of chefs. The Spa includes 3 treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, dry sauna, eucalyptus steam room, 22 person outdoor Hot Tub, yoga studio, and body work professionals who can assist you after sport or during your absorption of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyax Wilderness Hotel Gold Bridge
Tyax Mountain Lake Hotel
Hotel Tyax Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing