We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at Tyax for two nights and loved it. The room was spacious and very well decorated, the beds were extremely comfy, the room was clean and the toiletries of a high standard. We had robes which were useful in the room but also to go to the spa in. We had a room at the bottom so we had a patio which over looked the lake (the view was stunning). But it can be noisy when people are walking around in the room above.

When staying at the resort the spa is complimentary, this includes, sauna, steam room, outdoor jacuzzi etc. The washrooms at the spa are kept clean and well stocked with complimentary shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and large towels. There is also water available in the spa and treatments can be booked at a charge.

Unfortunately whilst we were there the large sauna was out of order and also the outdoor jacuzzi.

There is also complimentary table tennis, table football, library, outdoor tennis, canoes and paddle boats. These can all be used at any time throughout the day. Activities like horse riding and a sea plane ride can all be arranged at a charge.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The house keeping staff do seem to be under staffed as they were still cleaning rooms at 5pm, which is well after check-in time.

The meals in the restaurant were very nice and the service was extremely good. They are a little pricey but the patio menu served at lunchtime is a little cheaper and is still excellent quality.

The drive to Tyax is somewhat of an adventure in itself. We travelled via Carpenter lake Road which meant passing logging trucks on a gravel road with a sheer drop at the side is quite scary. There is another service road to Tyax but it is not recommended for small vehicles as it is a service road. However, it is well worth the drive!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view as these are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

We spent five excellent days biking and exploring the Tyax area (two middle aged parents and a 12 year old boy/grade 7) . There are numerous amenities from the expensive (flying your cross country bikes by float plane into the alpine and biking back to the resort) to the free (canoeing to your heart's content on Tyaughton Lake, or pedal boating for the younger set). The biking is rigorous, so for intermediate to advanced only! We were budget minded (but we did do the Spruce Lake bike track) and when we read that the resport was renovated for this year, we jumped at staying. Be sure to have a lake view room. Ground level is best for kids and frankly adults, so as to have the ability to walk right out your door to the docks for canoeing, fishing, etc. Food in the restaurant and lounge is expensive, but not overly so. We knew this before heading to the resort so we packed a large cooler full of cereal, fruit, milk, etc. for breakfast and lunches and we had dinners in the hotel. There is an ice machine in the resort, centrally located to the rooms. The food is first rate. You will not be disappointed. You can save a few dollars by ordering the signature burger, fries and chipotle sauce in the lounge (open till 8 pm for kids). We did not hear a peep from the campgorund down the road. The walls were a bit thin, but it seemed everyone was in bed early and up early. We had no issues at all and the resort appeard 100% full. And EVERYTHING has been renovated in the lodge and rooms. It was very luxiourous. Our rate of $203/night (add on 12% HAST, etc.) is a steal. Before heading to Tyax, be sure to talk to / email Dale at Tyax Air for all your biking and hiking needs. He is the most knowledgeable person in the southern Chilcotin area for biking (and flying, as a pilot). For nostalgia, you must visit the community of Bralorne (30 minutes away) and have a bite and brew at the Mineshaft Pub. The road to Tyax was in quite good condition. Any vehicle can make it to Tyax in the summer. Just take your time as the road from Lillowet is very tortuous.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toutelemonde123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I usually stay at the campground but we were celebrating a 40th birthday with a float plane drop into Warner so decided to treat ourselves to comfy beds and our own bathroom before and after the 40 km ride.

Unfortunately between the room door not sealing well and sleeping with the window open for fresh air it sounded like anyone walking down the hallway talking or the people in the rooms either side and below us were in the room with us!

Lukily none of our "neighbours" stayed up too late but we had a room on the entrance side of the building and were woken at 4.45am the first morning by people loading up their vehicle and driving off.

It is a spectacular setting and I love riding in the area but I doubt I would stay at the Lodge again for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a second floor lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nakilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel is beautifully set at a lake and you are blown away by the view at your arrival. The rooms are redone, are spacious and have beautiful new baths, but...the service was far below what you assume of such a resort. Dinner was tasty, but they seemed to be understaffed and uncoordinated. The rooms weren't made before 6 pm in the evening (!), and only after we had a word with the manager on duty. It is a real pity that such a nice hotel is such poorly staffed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyax, General Manager at Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear Guests,

First off thank you for your constructive feedback from your recent visit to our resort. Over the last 3 weeks our resort has seen a dramatic increase in bookings and walk in customers which caught us somewhat unprepared in some of our departments. From the feedback that we have received in the last 72 hours we have since brought on 2 new servers for our restaurant and added 2 new employees to our housekeeping department. All 4 employees are now in place.
The 2011 summer is a new start for Tyax and as such we are encountering a few growing pains. We are however committed to delivering the best level of service possible and are listening to our guests comments.
Our restaurant does offer both a bar and fine dinning menu which includes a children's menu. This has been in place all summer.

Thank you for helping us to continue to raise the bar here at Tyax

Sincerely,

Cliff Umpleby,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at Tyax for 2 nights of tenting. I would have given it a better rating, but I have two issues.
1) They let campers/tenting arrive at anytime during the night, while there a group arrived at 1:30am in a diesel pulling a their trailer and did two laps around looking for their friends, not happy at all about that and let the staff know about it the next morning.

2) ate at their lodge restaurant, was nice to do when camping, lol. The menu selection was very limited, no real side dishes, like maybe a hamburger or something to that effect, and also they need to have a children's menu, people travel with kids.

I would tent again here, because of the location, but would not stay at the lodge unless a few things changed, some not mentioned.
You'll love tenting and listening to the loons at night and woodland creatures talk about.
Oh yes, one more thing.They have a float plane service from the resort, be prepared for morning take offs at 7am most days if your tenting.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigcahoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Absolute stunning venue, worth the drive from Vancouver for sure. The room was spotless and everything looked great, but when we went for dinner, the kitchen seemed helpless in coping with the dinner crowd. Our dinners were scrumptious, but the wait was interminable. The next morning's breakfast took 45 minutes..... absolutely unacceptable,and after a brief chat with one of the guides/hosts, the breakfast was comped. Yes, they have a potential for a world class getaway resort, but boy, you have to keep your diners happy, especially when there is no alternative for miles. On a plus note, take the float plane trip for sightseeing or mountain biking..... worth every penny. we'll go back, but we'll definitely do our homework first vis a vis the kitchen situation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fresno888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

After a 6 day backpack trip into a very remote area of the South Chilcotins Tyax Wilderness Resort was the perfect way to treat ourselves. We were very impressed with the renovations since we had last visited over 4 years ago. Our lakeview room on the first floor looked out onto the lovely front lawn and spectacular lake and mountains. The decor was tasteful and comfortable and the beds were heaven after 6 nights sleeping on a thermorest. The large soaker tub was also a treat. Delicious meals were served in an amazing high ceiling dining room overlooking the lake. We took advantage of the free canoes and paddled around the lake in the morning. All the staff from the front desk to the bartender were very friendly and professional a welcome change from our previous visit 4 years ago when the staff were unfriendly and uncaring. The new owners have done a fantastic job and if you're looking for a wonderful place to be pampered in the wilderness Tyax Resort is worth every penny!

Room Tip: It's well worth it to pay the extra for a lakefront room, the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnValleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing

Address: 1 Tyaughton Lake Road, Gold Bridge, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada (Formerly Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Gold Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Price Range: $225 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa is a unique property, sitting on Tyaughton Lake and surrounded by the towering peaks of the Southern Chilcotin Mountains in British Columbia. The lodge is one of Canada's largest log structures and offers a fusion of luxury and comfort while retaining a rustic lodge atmosphere. The area is renowned for outdoor adventure and recreation, with an endless trail system which provides some of the best alpine mountain biking routes, hiking trails, nature walks, and horseback rides that British Columbia has to offer. Recreational fishing, kayaking, canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, and floatplane tours add to the experience. The resort boasts a beautiful lake view dining room & patio with stunning views, high arched ceilings and a breathtaking stone fireplace. The kitchen features a seasonal à la carte menu from an incredibly talented team of chefs. The Spa includes 3 treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, dry sauna, eucalyptus steam room, 22 person outdoor Hot Tub, yoga studio, and body work professionals who can assist you after sport or during your absorption of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyax Wilderness Hotel Gold Bridge
Tyax Mountain Lake Hotel
Hotel Tyax Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing