We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pemberton Hotel(Pemberton)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pemberton Gateway Village Suites Hotel(Pemberton)(Great Value!)
US$136
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pemberton Valley Lodge(Pemberton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
4 Pines Motel(Lillooet)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De Oro(Lillooet)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$68
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reynolds Hotel(Lillooet)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Log House Inn(Pemberton)(Great Value!)
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hitching Post Motel(Mount Currie)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoria(Lillooet)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
120
53
20
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
53
20
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloat planehot tubmountain bikingtwo nightssteam roomspruce lakebritish columbiaremote locationgravel roadlake viewan adventurebeautiful placetake your timefood was greathour drivepool tablerooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 207 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2008

This was the third time I have been here but the first in summer.
All thee times i have stayed in the large chalets.
The drive is long and the road is fair no matter where you come from but is definitely worth it. Very beautiful country.
The food served in the dining room was top notch and enjoyed my stay here once again.
I would recomend staying at the main lodge instaed of the chalets as we had many ants in our unit. The couches could be replaced as well. You must pay top dollar for a chalet so i think they should provide better furniture in these units.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank stickmanPittMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2007

My wife and I had passed the resort a few years back on our way to one of our all-time favourite backpacking trips in the nearby Taylor Basin (Tyax offers ATV tours there). We returned with our three-year old for three nights and were absolutely delighted! Tyax has some campsites a little removed from the hotel and at $ 30 per night, you get the use of quite a few resort facilities free of charge (canoes, rowboats, paddle boats, pony rides for kids, exercise room, etc.) plus excellent shower and washroom facilities, and even firewood. We had one of the spots right on the lake, make sure you request one of these, there are others that are essentially without shade.

We greatly appreciated a few cold drinks from the bar, the excellent facilities, and friendly staff. I took an hours' worth of unguided ATV fun, it was great equipment (4x4 ATV with automatic, two-way radio and GPS, map, and first aid kit all included) and I had a blast for just over $ 60. My wife went for a guided trailride on horseback and was really happy with that, (cost: $32). Hiking around the lake, we found one of their trails a bit overgrown, but turned around when we saw fresh Grizzly cub prints.

Overall, we were very happy at Tyax and will return for sure. It is great to see stars at night that aren't blurred out by city lights, the remoteness is quite soothing and yet you have all the amenities of a really classy resort. I shake my head at some of the reviews that criticize the lack of anything to do or the remoteness of the resort. You can do so many outdoor activities that you would be hard pressed to do them all in a week, and the drive is partially gravel, but totally non-technical if you come from Lillooet

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bueffix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2007

We travelled to Tyax via the road from Lillooet. We were in a normal car and found the journey fine. Yes its gravel at times and narrow in a few places but if you take it easy it is fine.

On arrival they immediately insisted we sign a disclaimer absolving the hotel from responsibility for all mishaps, even those caused through their own negligence. The disclaimer is alarming, its 2 sides of A4 with sections in bold red type against a yellow background. It completely spoilt our stay and made me not want to use any of the facilities. We had no choice but to sign it as otherwise we would have had to drive 100km back to Lillooet to find another hotel.

The hotel is ok as far as accomodation is concerned but be aware that there is nothing to do there if your not into hiking, ATV vehicles, cycling etc.

The food was excellent if expensive. We bought a meal package on arrival but this offered no savings over the menu prices at all so I would not bother with it. There is nowehere else to eat so its their restaurant or nothing I am afraid. The hotel switches at their discretion between ala carte and buffet style depending upon the number of guests staying. Even so the food was excellent regardless.

Overall we were really really disappointed with Tyax and have to say it was nowhere near worth the hours your going to spend driving to and from the place. The staff were poor and service was slow.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Shrimpfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyaxGM, General Manager at Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2007

Firstly, thank you for all your comments , we rate highly the open forum provided by such services as TripAdvisor.

It is clearly outlined to our guests on our website that a waiver (release of liability) is required to be signed by all guests partaking in activties at our resort. We offer a diverse range of activities: mountain biking, floatplane sightseeing, guided and non-guided hiking, canoeing, row boats, guided and non-guided fishing, trap shooting, tennis, and interpretive trails to name a few. Many of these activities are operated on Crown Land (owned by the Privinceof British Columbia) and as such we are required to have our guests sign a waiver. While we understand this may be inconvenient, strange or unexpected it is required and is commonplace for said activities right across North America.

The adminstration of the waiver has been reviewed recently and the goal is to get the nesessary paperwork out of the way upon arrival in one fail swoop so guests can enjoy all the facilties and services sooner.

We are glad that reviews on our cuisine are good. Most of the ingredients are made from scratch and have to travel huge distances to get to our reomte location...as such, we believe that one can be reasonable expected to pay a little more.

Again - thanks for all you comments...keep them coming.
MW




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We stayed here for 1 night during a touring holiday. The resort and location are absolutely stunning - but it's very isolated and make sure you're prepared for the roads getting there. We had a 4x4 but the drive from Lillooet takes several hours on twisty roads, often with a sheer drop and no crash barrier. At least 30 miles of this was loose gravel and we managed to get a flat tyre. Fortunately, a local driving past stopped and helped us out (very necessary since the jack provided with the hire care broke!). But once we got there and saw the resort, the drive was worth it.

The resort includes restaurant and bar, games room, gym (although the equipment is a bit old and worn), jacuzzi, and laundry. There is a gift shop and there are drinks and ice machines as well.

Canoes, paddleboats and rowboats are available free of charge. Just grab a lifejacket and off you go. The resort also does other activities for which they charge - tennis, fishing, sailing, windsurfing, mountain bikes, archery, ATVs, gold panning - the list goes on ... Example prices are $10/hour for mountain bike hire, $144 for a 5 hour horseback ride round the lake including lunch, $20 for 2 hours tennis.

We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. We asked about walking and they provided us with a local map and marked some suggested routes for us.

The room was very large and comfortable with a double bed and a single bed, plus sofa, table and chairs. There is a wonderful view over the lake, with ponies grazing on the lawn (presumably these are the same ones used for the horseback riding).

The food was very good although the prices are not cheap and choice is limited. For dinner, there was a buffet for starter and dessert, and main course was either lamb shank or seafood risotto (and I'm not that keen on either!). You can one set price depending on how many courses you have. I think for all 3 courses it's about $35 each (there is a reduction for children). You are a bit of a captive audience because the nearest town, Gold Bridge, is about 20 miles away and according to the sign, it has a population of 43 so don't expect to find a large choice of restaurants.

After dinner, we spent a long time chatting in the bar with 2 people who turned out to be the owner and the head chef. Both very nice people and we got some helpful advice about where to get our spare tyre repaired.

This resort is in an idyllic setting and of a very high quality. Not cheap but if you want a break in the middle of nowhere, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Good Names All Gone!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2006

We did a 6 day bus tour with Jackson Tours of which the last 3 nights were at Tyax resort. We took the bus from Lillooet and arrived 2 hours later. The weather was quite warm for late September. The road coming up was winding and had 2 stetches of gravel road, but our bus managed to get up there with no problems. Its the route from Pemberton that I'm told is very difficult. Coming from Lillooet is the easier way. The resort itself is a nice place built in late 1986. There were a couple upkeep issues we had while there, but they were minor issues. They close down for a couple months in mid October to do renovations. The setting is quite beautiful around the lake. It is very quiet up there. It seemed strange with no city noise permeating my ears, but it is very peaceful. A group took the plane tour for an hour which they enjoyed and they got to see the glacier that is nearby. Others took out the row boats and horse back rides. There were bunnies all over and they let the horses loose on the main lawn at times. The horses are quite friendly. The service was good and meals well done. The meals will add up if they are not included with your package. I did the walking trail by the lake while there. There are many trails around which you can walk, take the ATVs on, or horseback ride on. I would recommend Tyax for people wanting a peaceful getaway from the city.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank braxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews