We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food in a wilderness setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We came looking for some rest and exercise in a wilderness location and Tyax delivered. The roads are a challenge but that is part of the experience. Our room was comfortable and spacious, with a lovely view over the lake and mountains. We enjoyed the hummingbirds visiting the flower basket and all the swallows who had established nests around the lodge. The food was delicious at every meal, with fresh ingredients and innovative selections. We found the staff helpful and engaging. Our hike to Ault Lake was harder than "easy" but it was a worthwhile experience,including the canoe across the lake. We enjoyed the canoeing around Tyaughton Lake and the swimming was great. It was good value and we came home refreshed.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burnabytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2008

This was the third time I have been here but the first in summer.
All thee times i have stayed in the large chalets.
The drive is long and the road is fair no matter where you come from but is definitely worth it. Very beautiful country.
The food served in the dining room was top notch and enjoyed my stay here once again.
I would recomend staying at the main lodge instaed of the chalets as we had many ants in our unit. The couches could be replaced as well. You must pay top dollar for a chalet so i think they should provide better furniture in these units.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank stickmanPittMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

My wife and I had passed the resort a few years back on our way to one of our all-time favourite backpacking trips in the nearby Taylor Basin (Tyax offers ATV tours there). We returned with our three-year old for three nights and were absolutely delighted! Tyax has some campsites a little removed from the hotel and at $ 30 per night, you get the use of quite a few resort facilities free of charge (canoes, rowboats, paddle boats, pony rides for kids, exercise room, etc.) plus excellent shower and washroom facilities, and even firewood. We had one of the spots right on the lake, make sure you request one of these, there are others that are essentially without shade.

We greatly appreciated a few cold drinks from the bar, the excellent facilities, and friendly staff. I took an hours' worth of unguided ATV fun, it was great equipment (4x4 ATV with automatic, two-way radio and GPS, map, and first aid kit all included) and I had a blast for just over $ 60. My wife went for a guided trailride on horseback and was really happy with that, (cost: $32). Hiking around the lake, we found one of their trails a bit overgrown, but turned around when we saw fresh Grizzly cub prints.

Overall, we were very happy at Tyax and will return for sure. It is great to see stars at night that aren't blurred out by city lights, the remoteness is quite soothing and yet you have all the amenities of a really classy resort. I shake my head at some of the reviews that criticize the lack of anything to do or the remoteness of the resort. You can do so many outdoor activities that you would be hard pressed to do them all in a week, and the drive is partially gravel, but totally non-technical if you come from Lillooet

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bueffix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We travelled to Tyax via the road from Lillooet. We were in a normal car and found the journey fine. Yes its gravel at times and narrow in a few places but if you take it easy it is fine.

On arrival they immediately insisted we sign a disclaimer absolving the hotel from responsibility for all mishaps, even those caused through their own negligence. The disclaimer is alarming, its 2 sides of A4 with sections in bold red type against a yellow background. It completely spoilt our stay and made me not want to use any of the facilities. We had no choice but to sign it as otherwise we would have had to drive 100km back to Lillooet to find another hotel.

The hotel is ok as far as accomodation is concerned but be aware that there is nothing to do there if your not into hiking, ATV vehicles, cycling etc.

The food was excellent if expensive. We bought a meal package on arrival but this offered no savings over the menu prices at all so I would not bother with it. There is nowehere else to eat so its their restaurant or nothing I am afraid. The hotel switches at their discretion between ala carte and buffet style depending upon the number of guests staying. Even so the food was excellent regardless.

Overall we were really really disappointed with Tyax and have to say it was nowhere near worth the hours your going to spend driving to and from the place. The staff were poor and service was slow.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Shrimpfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyaxGM, General Manager at Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2007

Firstly, thank you for all your comments , we rate highly the open forum provided by such services as TripAdvisor.

It is clearly outlined to our guests on our website that a waiver (release of liability) is required to be signed by all guests partaking in activties at our resort. We offer a diverse range of activities: mountain biking, floatplane sightseeing, guided and non-guided hiking, canoeing, row boats, guided and non-guided fishing, trap shooting, tennis, and interpretive trails to name a few. Many of these activities are operated on Crown Land (owned by the Privinceof British Columbia) and as such we are required to have our guests sign a waiver. While we understand this may be inconvenient, strange or unexpected it is required and is commonplace for said activities right across North America.

The adminstration of the waiver has been reviewed recently and the goal is to get the nesessary paperwork out of the way upon arrival in one fail swoop so guests can enjoy all the facilties and services sooner.

We are glad that reviews on our cuisine are good. Most of the ingredients are made from scratch and have to travel huge distances to get to our reomte location...as such, we believe that one can be reasonable expected to pay a little more.

Again - thanks for all you comments...keep them coming.
MW




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

We stayed here for 1 night during a touring holiday. The resort and location are absolutely stunning - but it's very isolated and make sure you're prepared for the roads getting there. We had a 4x4 but the drive from Lillooet takes several hours on twisty roads, often with a sheer drop and no crash barrier. At least 30 miles of this was loose gravel and we managed to get a flat tyre. Fortunately, a local driving past stopped and helped us out (very necessary since the jack provided with the hire care broke!). But once we got there and saw the resort, the drive was worth it.

The resort includes restaurant and bar, games room, gym (although the equipment is a bit old and worn), jacuzzi, and laundry. There is a gift shop and there are drinks and ice machines as well.

Canoes, paddleboats and rowboats are available free of charge. Just grab a lifejacket and off you go. The resort also does other activities for which they charge - tennis, fishing, sailing, windsurfing, mountain bikes, archery, ATVs, gold panning - the list goes on ... Example prices are $10/hour for mountain bike hire, $144 for a 5 hour horseback ride round the lake including lunch, $20 for 2 hours tennis.

We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. We asked about walking and they provided us with a local map and marked some suggested routes for us.

The room was very large and comfortable with a double bed and a single bed, plus sofa, table and chairs. There is a wonderful view over the lake, with ponies grazing on the lawn (presumably these are the same ones used for the horseback riding).

The food was very good although the prices are not cheap and choice is limited. For dinner, there was a buffet for starter and dessert, and main course was either lamb shank or seafood risotto (and I'm not that keen on either!). You can one set price depending on how many courses you have. I think for all 3 courses it's about $35 each (there is a reduction for children). You are a bit of a captive audience because the nearest town, Gold Bridge, is about 20 miles away and according to the sign, it has a population of 43 so don't expect to find a large choice of restaurants.

After dinner, we spent a long time chatting in the bar with 2 people who turned out to be the owner and the head chef. Both very nice people and we got some helpful advice about where to get our spare tyre repaired.

This resort is in an idyllic setting and of a very high quality. Not cheap but if you want a break in the middle of nowhere, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Good Names All Gone!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2006

We did a 6 day bus tour with Jackson Tours of which the last 3 nights were at Tyax resort. We took the bus from Lillooet and arrived 2 hours later. The weather was quite warm for late September. The road coming up was winding and had 2 stetches of gravel road, but our bus managed to get up there with no problems. Its the route from Pemberton that I'm told is very difficult. Coming from Lillooet is the easier way. The resort itself is a nice place built in late 1986. There were a couple upkeep issues we had while there, but they were minor issues. They close down for a couple months in mid October to do renovations. The setting is quite beautiful around the lake. It is very quiet up there. It seemed strange with no city noise permeating my ears, but it is very peaceful. A group took the plane tour for an hour which they enjoyed and they got to see the glacier that is nearby. Others took out the row boats and horse back rides. There were bunnies all over and they let the horses loose on the main lawn at times. The horses are quite friendly. The service was good and meals well done. The meals will add up if they are not included with your package. I did the walking trail by the lake while there. There are many trails around which you can walk, take the ATVs on, or horseback ride on. I would recommend Tyax for people wanting a peaceful getaway from the city.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank braxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2006

I cant understand why people complain about the road. We have been there twice, the first time over the "easy road" which is no problem if you take it carefully and then out over the Hurley, and the second time we went in and out over the Hurley. Surviving the Hurley is more likely than surviving the North Circular Road in London. Patrick, the new manager, looked after us like a dream and we did so many things here. Where else can you stay that is TOTALLY silent at night, with horses sleeping ourside your window on the lawn, where you can kayak for hours, trek or horse ride or atv ride on different tracks for hours around the lake, take a floatplane and see glaciers, heliski in the winter, clay pigeon shoot, archery, it goes on and on, yet it is sooooooooo relaxing. This place is so special I urge you not to worry about the road, take the easy road and drive slowly and you're fine. We didn't want to leave. The rooms are good (although they need an upgrade now) and as one other reviewer said, make certain you book on the lakeview side. This is a place from heaven

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RichardHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing

Address: 1 Tyaughton Lake Road, Gold Bridge, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada (Formerly Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Gold Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Price Range: $218 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa is a unique property, sitting on Tyaughton Lake and surrounded by the towering peaks of the Southern Chilcotin Mountains in British Columbia. The lodge is one of Canada's largest log structures and offers a fusion of luxury and comfort while retaining a rustic lodge atmosphere. The area is renowned for outdoor adventure and recreation, with an endless trail system which provides some of the best alpine mountain biking routes, hiking trails, nature walks, and horseback rides that British Columbia has to offer. Recreational fishing, kayaking, canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, and floatplane tours add to the experience. The resort boasts a beautiful lake view dining room & patio with stunning views, high arched ceilings and a breathtaking stone fireplace. The kitchen features a seasonal à la carte menu from an incredibly talented team of chefs. The Spa includes 3 treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, dry sauna, eucalyptus steam room, 22 person outdoor Hot Tub, yoga studio, and body work professionals who can assist you after sport or during your absorption of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyax Wilderness Hotel Gold Bridge
Tyax Mountain Lake Hotel
Hotel Tyax Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing