We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
126
54
20
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
54
20
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloat planehot tubmountain bikingtwo nightssteam roomremote locationspruce lakebritish columbialake viewan adventurefood was greattake your timebeautiful locationhour drivepool tablerooms are largetake advantage
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 214 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2014

We were looking to do a circle loop from the Fraser Valley, up the Sea to Sky Highway to Whistler and then through to Lillooet and down the Fraser Canyon. I discovered the option of going through Gold Bridge and staying at Tyax Resort. We initially booked for 2 nights but then switched to 3 on a 3rd night free offer. We took the arduous Hurley FSR which I wouldn't recommend for most unless you drives a 4wd vehicle and are comfortable on steep, mountainous gravel roads. The route along Carpenter Lake Road is relatively simple. We loved the setting and overall were very happy to see a part of BC we hadn't visited before. Unfortunately there are a few nitpicks. As mentioned by other reviewers, the limited choices (4) for the evening main does get boring and only having a buffet option ($17.50 per) for breakfast also got repetitious. On the other hand, we really enjoyed the self-guided Interpretative Walk. Casey @ the Front Desk gave us detailed instructions on how to find our way and we were able to navigate it relatively simply. I thought the "reduced" Wi-Fi would be a problem but it worked relatively well as long as you kept away from the heavy traffic tasks. My wife and I are both "almost Seniors" and I would suggest this location would be more suited to those that are very active and enjoy some of the other activities such as mountain-bike riding, going for overnight horseback rides, and heli-skiing in the winter. That being said, it is a great place to visit for a romantic long weekend as long as you do your homework and recognize the limitations of this remote location.

Room Tip: Lakeview room on the 2nd floor...the dining room is also on this level.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gateway1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2014

The room was pleasant overlooking the lake with a good view. However we were expecting a quiet,peaceful and relaxing 3 nights away in the wilderness enjoying walks and seeing wildlife. However this was not not to be, first morning we were woken early by a chap mowing the lawn,the next by a baby screaming and the third by the float plane having an early start. This coupled with a group on the ground floor having a loud party on the lawn in front of the hotel until 1am one night and the crying baby in the room next door repeatedly waking us up through the night pretty much ruined the chance of any meaningful sleep. The day was little better with the roar of trail bikes on and off throughout the day and the sound of occasional gunshots means that the chance of seeing any wildlife other than a squirrel is remote.

Amazed that they could not provide any details of any walks and to be told that "there are hundreds of trails out there , you just have to find them yourself", simply is not good enough. Off course we could have paid 80 dollars each to have some one show us around these 'unknown ' trails for 3 hours. Appalling service.

Food expensive and choice poor especially considering that they have a monopoly. By the way, the signature dessert, apple pie, is not Apple pie and is more like a strudel and the pastry was raw in the ones we were saved.

We had been looking forward to our stay there as a highlight of our 3 weeks travelling through British Colombia. It turned out to be the worst of the 10 hotels we stayed at by a considerable margin and would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Lake view or somewhere else.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2014

We have recently stayed at Tyax Wilderness Resort and Spa and had a fabulous time.
For one night we stayed in a room and two nights on the campground. We had a campsite right at the Lake which was great - however - showers and out houses are quite far away. There are also only a few showers available for a rather big campsite. The rooms are well looked after, although remember do not bring food as they don't have a fridge to store things. I assume they would like their guests to dine in the restaurant.

Positives:
- great place to relax unwind
- great boats, paddle boards, table tennis, all free of charge
- beautiful drive to Tyax - we saw Bald Eagles and black bears
- guided walks are great - great guides

Could be better:
- the restaurant food is rather average and quite pricey for the quality
- not much information about trails and walks around the property - they want to sell their guided walks, it would be great to get more information though as not everyone wants to be guided.
- ice machine didn't work
- sauna was cold at 8pm even though advertised to be running until 10pm
- their rental bikes need some serious overhaul - if you can bring your own bike, do it.

Anyway we had a great time and I would recommend it to others.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank grossstadtlilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2014

We just spent 3 nights at Tyax Lodge on Lake Tyaughton in the Chilcoutin Mountains. We arrived by float plane rather than make the 3 hour drive through Hurley Pass. It is a great way to travel to the lodge as the views are incredible.

The lodge is a beautiful log structure on pristine Lake Tyaughton. They have canoes, kayaks and SUP's to explore the lake. We went for a canoe ride one sunny morning and saw trout jumping and a family of loons within meters of our canoe. It was an awesome paddle to be alone on a large lake in the middle of the wilderness. The silence was deafening.

While there we went mountain biking with Tyax Adventures, a separate operation from the lodge that offers mountain biking, hiking and horse back riding trips from the lodge. Our experience with them was outstanding. They can use their float plane to drop you into some remote areas so you can hike, bike or ride back to the lodge.

We found the lodge a welcoming retreat. The rooms were comfortable, although I do not understand why they would have such nice bathrooms and then use a $5 faucet on the sink. The food in the restaurant was excellent, prepared by a very good chef. Our only complaint there was the lack of depth to the menu. I suppose it is best to do 4 things really well than offer too much, but I am not sure what you would do if you stayed for a week or more as the food would get a little repetitive.

They have a spa as part of the lodge and the massage we received there was top notch.

Our experience was excellent and we would recommend it to anyone seeking an adventurous holiday in the mountains. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify a lakeside room
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2014

After a nearly 3 hours drive on mainly gravel road, we were not sure what to expect. When we arrived, saw the lake and the lodge, we were amazed. It is a harbor of quiet and calm, and the amenities were perfect. Canoes, kayaks, SUP and pedal boat are for free, so you really can enjoy your time near and on the water. Lack of alternatives, we took our meals at the hotel restaurant. Due to the remoteness of the place, the menu is quite small, but the products are local and the quality of the food was great. We took an excursion with the ploatplane to the glacier, and it was a great experience (even if it was really, really pricy). Servers and staff at the desk were always smiling and very attentive, which makes Tyax a great place to stay when you are in western Canada. We only stayed 2 nights, which was a bit short, considering the time spent on the road.

Room Tip: Opt for a lakeside room!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews