We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Easy Summer Get A Way Well Worth the Drive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Tyax is a 2 hour drive North of Pemberton, BC and well worth the drive! The facility has recently been upgraded and the rooms are well laid out, with modern decor and amenities. The restaurant and many of the rooms over look beautiful Tyaughton Lake where Loons, canoes, kids and SUPS share a wide open, truly Canadiana space. The lake is perfect for swimming, the dock makes it easy to relax, read a book or participate in the many activities provided by the resort. The mountain biking in this area is truly fantastic, a must stop for anyone wanting a true cross country mountain experience via bike. Hiking and horseback riding are also readily available. If that's not enough, relax in their newly updated Spa area. We can highly recommend this resort and look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: The Lake View rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KendraLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2014

We were looking to do a circle loop from the Fraser Valley, up the Sea to Sky Highway to Whistler and then through to Lillooet and down the Fraser Canyon. I discovered the option of going through Gold Bridge and staying at Tyax Resort. We initially booked for 2 nights but then switched to 3 on a 3rd night free offer. We took the arduous Hurley FSR which I wouldn't recommend for most unless you drives a 4wd vehicle and are comfortable on steep, mountainous gravel roads. The route along Carpenter Lake Road is relatively simple. We loved the setting and overall were very happy to see a part of BC we hadn't visited before. Unfortunately there are a few nitpicks. As mentioned by other reviewers, the limited choices (4) for the evening main does get boring and only having a buffet option ($17.50 per) for breakfast also got repetitious. On the other hand, we really enjoyed the self-guided Interpretative Walk. Casey @ the Front Desk gave us detailed instructions on how to find our way and we were able to navigate it relatively simply. I thought the "reduced" Wi-Fi would be a problem but it worked relatively well as long as you kept away from the heavy traffic tasks. My wife and I are both "almost Seniors" and I would suggest this location would be more suited to those that are very active and enjoy some of the other activities such as mountain-bike riding, going for overnight horseback rides, and heli-skiing in the winter. That being said, it is a great place to visit for a romantic long weekend as long as you do your homework and recognize the limitations of this remote location.

Room Tip: Lakeview room on the 2nd floor...the dining room is also on this level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gateway1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2014

The room was pleasant overlooking the lake with a good view. However we were expecting a quiet,peaceful and relaxing 3 nights away in the wilderness enjoying walks and seeing wildlife. However this was not not to be, first morning we were woken early by a chap mowing the lawn,the next by a baby screaming and the third by the float plane having an early start. This coupled with a group on the ground floor having a loud party on the lawn in front of the hotel until 1am one night and the crying baby in the room next door repeatedly waking us up through the night pretty much ruined the chance of any meaningful sleep. The day was little better with the roar of trail bikes on and off throughout the day and the sound of occasional gunshots means that the chance of seeing any wildlife other than a squirrel is remote.

Amazed that they could not provide any details of any walks and to be told that "there are hundreds of trails out there , you just have to find them yourself", simply is not good enough. Off course we could have paid 80 dollars each to have some one show us around these 'unknown ' trails for 3 hours. Appalling service.

Food expensive and choice poor especially considering that they have a monopoly. By the way, the signature dessert, apple pie, is not Apple pie and is more like a strudel and the pastry was raw in the ones we were saved.

We had been looking forward to our stay there as a highlight of our 3 weeks travelling through British Colombia. It turned out to be the worst of the 10 hotels we stayed at by a considerable margin and would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Lake view or somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We have recently stayed at Tyax Wilderness Resort and Spa and had a fabulous time.
For one night we stayed in a room and two nights on the campground. We had a campsite right at the Lake which was great - however - showers and out houses are quite far away. There are also only a few showers available for a rather big campsite. The rooms are well looked after, although remember do not bring food as they don't have a fridge to store things. I assume they would like their guests to dine in the restaurant.

Positives:
- great place to relax unwind
- great boats, paddle boards, table tennis, all free of charge
- beautiful drive to Tyax - we saw Bald Eagles and black bears
- guided walks are great - great guides

Could be better:
- the restaurant food is rather average and quite pricey for the quality
- not much information about trails and walks around the property - they want to sell their guided walks, it would be great to get more information though as not everyone wants to be guided.
- ice machine didn't work
- sauna was cold at 8pm even though advertised to be running until 10pm
- their rental bikes need some serious overhaul - if you can bring your own bike, do it.

Anyway we had a great time and I would recommend it to others.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank grossstadtlilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014

We just spent 3 nights at Tyax Lodge on Lake Tyaughton in the Chilcoutin Mountains. We arrived by float plane rather than make the 3 hour drive through Hurley Pass. It is a great way to travel to the lodge as the views are incredible.

The lodge is a beautiful log structure on pristine Lake Tyaughton. They have canoes, kayaks and SUP's to explore the lake. We went for a canoe ride one sunny morning and saw trout jumping and a family of loons within meters of our canoe. It was an awesome paddle to be alone on a large lake in the middle of the wilderness. The silence was deafening.

While there we went mountain biking with Tyax Adventures, a separate operation from the lodge that offers mountain biking, hiking and horse back riding trips from the lodge. Our experience with them was outstanding. They can use their float plane to drop you into some remote areas so you can hike, bike or ride back to the lodge.

We found the lodge a welcoming retreat. The rooms were comfortable, although I do not understand why they would have such nice bathrooms and then use a $5 faucet on the sink. The food in the restaurant was excellent, prepared by a very good chef. Our only complaint there was the lack of depth to the menu. I suppose it is best to do 4 things really well than offer too much, but I am not sure what you would do if you stayed for a week or more as the food would get a little repetitive.

They have a spa as part of the lodge and the massage we received there was top notch.

Our experience was excellent and we would recommend it to anyone seeking an adventurous holiday in the mountains. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

After a nearly 3 hours drive on mainly gravel road, we were not sure what to expect. When we arrived, saw the lake and the lodge, we were amazed. It is a harbor of quiet and calm, and the amenities were perfect. Canoes, kayaks, SUP and pedal boat are for free, so you really can enjoy your time near and on the water. Lack of alternatives, we took our meals at the hotel restaurant. Due to the remoteness of the place, the menu is quite small, but the products are local and the quality of the food was great. We took an excursion with the ploatplane to the glacier, and it was a great experience (even if it was really, really pricy). Servers and staff at the desk were always smiling and very attentive, which makes Tyax a great place to stay when you are in western Canada. We only stayed 2 nights, which was a bit short, considering the time spent on the road.

Room Tip: Opt for a lakeside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our trip to Tyax was over all very enjoyable. It is a beautiful lodge in the Chilcotin which helps you access some of the most amazing mountain biking terrain in B.C. It was not hard to relax on the grass beside the amazing lake after a long day on the dusty trails.
It seams that many reviews mentioned the unhelpful and poor staff but we did not find that to be the case, but we never ate in the dinning restaurant. I did find that they were quite vague with info when it came to telling you about the trail system around the lodge. Weather this was by design or ignorance it was little tiring. I understand if they can't direct people to trespass on private lands but it almost seamed they were skirting the issue and hoping that you would sign up for a tour or something. When talking to one employee I was told that there was hundred of trails but only a couple were on the map. A new and updated trail map would be great.
Now to the camping. If you managed to get a spot on the lake then you had a great site and were probably totally happy if you were on the hill above and in #5 then you were probably not very happy. Once we arrived at #5 were found that some sort out building took up a third of the site. This would have been OK but the site was so unlevel that it was near imposable to get two tents in the place. If you have ever spent a night in an slopping tent you know that there is not a lot of restful sleep going on. When we mentioned this to the front desk and inquired about another site we were told that they were completely booked. Fair enough. But as the weekend went on and the site across from us, which was huge and flat was, was left vacant it was a little disappointing. We had booked at least three months prior. Maybe they should have an online map of the campsite and offer a choice of spots given availability. Or have a first come first serve policy. Since we arrived quite early there were a number of other site available. Again it felt like it was the same sorta not providing information up front. If you have been there and know to ask then that is great but for first time visitors it is a little vague.
The free shower and unlimited hot water was great and the cleanliness top notch.
The smell from the out houses was a little strong. Out houses are inherently a fairly smelly operation in general but when you can smell them all the way to the bottom of the hill something needs to be done. I think this is a n easy fix with some lime, sawdust, ash or more regular pumping.
Coming with your fee is unlimited use of paddle boards, kayaks, Canoes and pedal boats this is pretty cool since most resorts would be charging you for usage.

Now to the DESSERT. My girl friend decide to surprise us with some desert which she purchased from the lodge restaurant. Upon being presented with an ice cream sandwich which was lightly cover in chocolate sauce but other wise quite plain I casually inquired as to the price. i figured such a desert could not have cost more then four or five dollars but not the not the NINE dollars it did. I was shocked. If this had been the best desert in Chilcotin then maybe. But with such a bland tasting and generally uninspiring presentation it was a little over the top. If this was an example of the quality and value of the food then I was very happy that we had not decided to eat in the restaurant and spent a hundred dollars for some average food.

In short I would return to the Tyax but reserve a better campsite, bring a trail guide if one exists and not even venture into such an over priced restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamL999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing

Address: 1 Tyaughton Lake Road, Gold Bridge, British Columbia V0K 1P0, Canada (Formerly Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Gold Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gold Bridge
Price Range: $258 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyax Wilderness Resort & Spa is a unique property, sitting on Tyaughton Lake and surrounded by the towering peaks of the Southern Chilcotin Mountains in British Columbia. The lodge is one of Canada's largest log structures and offers a fusion of luxury and comfort while retaining a rustic lodge atmosphere. The area is renowned for outdoor adventure and recreation, with an endless trail system which provides some of the best alpine mountain biking routes, hiking trails, nature walks, and horseback rides that British Columbia has to offer. Recreational fishing, kayaking, canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, and floatplane tours add to the experience. The resort boasts a beautiful lake view dining room & patio with stunning views, high arched ceilings and a breathtaking stone fireplace. The kitchen features a seasonal à la carte menu from an incredibly talented team of chefs. The Spa includes 3 treatment rooms, an infrared sauna, dry sauna, eucalyptus steam room, 22 person outdoor Hot Tub, yoga studio, and body work professionals who can assist you after sport or during your absorption of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyax Wilderness Hotel Gold Bridge
Tyax Mountain Lake Hotel
Hotel Tyax Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing