We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
143
58
21
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
143
58
21
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful lake heli skiing lodge spa pilot wood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 238 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2019 via mobile

If you are driving there as we did be ready for the approach road from Lillooet. Its the only road to take but it is no more than a track of 100km (roughly) full of rocks and avalanche risk. Make sure you have a spare wheel and go carefully.

The hotel once you get there is amazing. Small, amazing staff, secluded - it is one in a million. Enjoy it.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank palinscamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherattyax, General Manager at Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2019

Thanks so very much for the great review. Our road......yes, it is a challenge, but also one of the reasons people love us so much. If you DO make the effort, the rewards are tremendous. Once you arrive, you truly appreciate that fine bottle of wine, the luxurious bed linens, and our attentive staff, who are also thrilled to be a part of this area.

We'd love to welcome you back anytime!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2019

Excellent accommodation with very friendly and truly helpful staff. The remote location is packed with both adventures and relaxation surrounded by the most spectacular scenery in British Columbia. Ecologically responsible very limited use of plastic - bathroom amenities feature refillable, pump-action liquid (soaps, shampoos, etc.). Bathrooms are not particularly friendly to those with mobility issues - call before booking. Enjoy your stay - it will be memorable.

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherattyax, General Manager at Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2019

Thanks, Ted, for your 5-star review. Yes, we've been working hard to eliminate, where we can, our reliance on plastic, and reducing our footprint. Our 2 waste treatment team members (pigs) are doing a great job in managing overflow kitchen waste, we added 4 taps to our draft beer program to eliminate most beer bottles, and as you said, our room amenities are refillable, rather than adding to the hundreds of thousands of small individual use shampoos and conditioners. We aren't perfect, but we are trying!!

Hopefully, we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2019

We stayed for two nights in June, at this lodge. We paid extra for a room with a view of the lake which was well worth it, as I could just sit and look at it all day.
The hotel is a two and a half hour drive from Lilooet, down a road with lots of bends that is only partly made up, with stones on the road that have fallen down the mountains. You wonder whether it will be worth it, and then you get there, and the hotel is glorious: Large lawn sloping down to the lake with mountains behind. Huge beams, comfortable bar and lounge, with pool, a piano, board games etc and good service and food. Downstairs, there is a hot tub and sauna. There are canoes to use on the lake, and walks nearby. There is a basic complementary breakfast ( you pay for tea and coffee), but a menu if you want more than cereal, toast and eggs.

Room tip: get a room with a view of the lake
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherreimerattyax, General Manager at Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2019

Thanks for your 5-star review, Tina. We are very glad you felt that our lodge was worth the drive.....we think so too. You are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2019

Tyax is a beautiful and very remote resort and unfortunately has their guests over a barrel. During our stay the resort quite literally ran out of water, leaving us unable to bathe or flush toilets. Given the remoteness and difficulty of getting to Tyax, I was astonished that we were offered a one night's accomodation credit and refused a pro-rated credit for our accommodation cost. Being denied compensation for something as basic as flush toilets and running water at a luxury Canadian resort is unbelievable. Will never go there again.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brigitte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherreimerattyax, General Manager at Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2019

We are sorry that the lodge experienced a water problem during your stay. We actually did not "run out of water", but rather a specialized pump part went out. Given our remote location, we were unable to source a replacement immediately, however, within 24 hours we were up and running again. It is unfortunate that the $300 credit that was offered was not acceptable to you, as we feel this should have made up for the shower you were unable to take the morning of your departure. Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, as this is not what we like to provide for our guests. As you can see from our 4 and 5 star reviews, this was an anomaly, and not the norm. As you have already received a gift certificate, if you are not interested in returning, we hope that you can pass this along to anyone you might wish to give it to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2019

Staying for two nights. At dinner time of the second night, Tyax's water system totally failed. No spare parts, no backup, no secondary system. No showers, no bathrooms facilities, etc.

Cash registers worked ok, charged us the full rate!

Management later offered a free night some time in the future, however as lodge is a nine plus hour drive and ferry trip from our home (each way), this was not an option. Even if it was next door we would not return. An actual embarrassment for Canada as foreign tourists staying were not at all impressed.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Navigator62045674250
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherreimerattyax, General Manager at Tyax Lodge & Heliskiing, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2019

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. A specialized pump part failed, and as such we were unable to replenish our water tanks. Given our remote location, a replacement was not able to be sourced until the next morning. As you are aware, the bathroom facilities were able to be used in other rooms in the short term, and by the morning of your day of departure, we were up and running again. There are challenges that we need to overcome by virtue of our location, and while some clients are adaptable, others are not.

As you are aware, a $300 credit was offered to you, as you were unable to take a shower on the morning of your departure, but to the best of my knowledge, your dinner the night before was served without incident? Should you choose to not take advantage of our offer, we will gladly accept the already provided gift certificate to anyone you would like to give it to.

As most reviewers will see, our normal 4 and 5 star reviews show a consistent level of service standard; unfortunately, during this time period we were unable to provide service as we normally do and for that we apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews