We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing Memories on Sea Otter Explorer

The Sea Otter Explorer trip was an amazing adventure. We travelled with a group of friends... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
travelbuddies39
,
Victoria, Canada
SO much wildlife, incredible food, and awesome people!!!!!

We had such an awesome time on our trip. We had exceptional luck seeing wildlife, we saw humpback... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2021
P6420ZHsabrinac
Read all 140 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Vancouver Island
from US$116.68
More Info
from US$128.35
More Info
from US$237.33
More Info
from US$97.63
More Info
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
132
3
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
132
3
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews haida gwaii base camp sleeping bags kayak trip hanson island johnstone strait dry bags marine life sea lions equipment provided pre trip information other guests fresh meals culinary skills trip exceeded my expectations wilderness adventure weather was perfect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 140 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2014

How can one express the sense of wonder and pure joy this trip with Kingfisher brought us?
We did the 4-day Kayak with Orca from16 - 19 September.
Wow wow wow ...
The guides (Andrew and Ali)
The food
The campsite
The kayaking
The company
The wildlife
The wilderness
The weather (well done Andrew)
The local knowledge, especially of tide and current
The organisation
The safety
The care
Would do it all again in a heartbeat ... It took our breath away
Kaz and Al, Australia

Date of experience: September 2014
4  Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2015

Hi Kaz and Al,

Thank you for the nice review. It was great kayaking with you both. I will be sure t pass your review on to Allie as well. I hope to see you on the water again sometime soon.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2014

My husband, 21yr old son and myself did the 4 day camping and kayaking trip with Andrew and Ali as our guides. This trip exceeded my expectations in all areas. The campsite was in a beautiful setting with comfortable beds, the food was superb, the guides were brilliant and the animals were outstanding.
We were treated to the sight of so many whales, seals , sea lions, and bald eagles. I know Andrew and his guides cannot guarantee what visitors will see but they ensure that you get the best opportunity to see what's out there at the time. We were amazed by the amount of wildlife and impressed by the knowledge and information that they shared with us.
The groups they take out are small, we had 3 others in our group and had a lot of laughs around the dinner table as well as out on the water.
I would not hesitate in recommending this trip to anyone, my husband hates camping but would not have missed this for the world.
Many thanks to Andrew and Ali for giving us so many great memories.

Date of experience: September 2014
4  Thank teresac602
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2015

Hi Teresa,

Thank you for the nice review. It was great kayaking with you and your family and I will be sure to pass your comments along to Allie. I hope to see you on the water again sometime soon.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2014

I went on the 8 days Burnaby Narrows to Ninstints kayak trip in Haida Gwaii with Kingfisher in mid August. We were 8 friends and had a spectacular trip. Andrew, the company's owner, was one of the guides and impressed us with his knowledge of the area's culture and natural environment , as well as catching Pink salmon in the creek to BBQ , native style over a fire on a spit one evening!
The other guide, Renee, was also great company and always found the best mossy, or beach front camp kitchens. The guides cooked the food, which was excellent, most vegetarian food, with tuna , greek salads etc for lunch. Lots of fresh fruit and veg and excellent coffee! We all helped set up our tents, carry water, kayaks etc, so it did feel collaborative, although we had lots of downtime while the guides did not. The campsites were amazing...
We were lucky to have gorgeous weather; I was surprised how mild the days and evenings were. We were in a mix of single and double kayaks and always felt very safe, with expert route finding. Lovely swells, the calm of Burnaby Inlet at low tide, and the spectacular Ninstints totem site, were highlights. And of course the humpback whales, sea mammals and birds were incredible.
I recommend going a day early to allow yourself a visit to the Haida Cultural center at Skidigate , 12 km by bike and a short ferry ride, to get the cultural background.
Can't recommend this trip highly enough.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2015

Hi Lesley,

Thank you for the nice review. It was great kayaking in Haida Gwaii with you. I hope to see you on the water again sometime soon.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of six including children aged 22,20,18 and 16 who undertook the orca adventure tour for 6 nights. We could not recommend it more highly.

Lexie and David were highly professional and a lot of laughs. We hadn't read the joining instructions carefully enough and arrived laden with cotton clothes, "the fabric of death" in a damp and salty environment. Lexie patiently helped us reeqip before we headed off in a water taxi to our first campsite.

The kayaking was fun and our guides allowed us to set the pace so no one felt under pressure. Every day we saw jaw dropping sights: humpbacks a few yards from our boat, bald headed eagles swooping with prey in it's talons, seals, sea lions, porpoises and dolphins and we were even lucky enough to have a female orca swim under our kayaks and leap out of the water in front of us.

Lexie and David conjured up mouthwatering meals every few hours to sustain us in our next adventure and the tents and sleeping bags provided were comfortable and snugly.

We are reasonable well travelled and have been lucky enough to see lots of wildlife around the world but this was definitely one of our best experiences. Thank you Lexie and David. You're simply the best and better than all the rest.

4  Thank simonhjcoombeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Hi Simon,

Thank you for joining us this summer with your family and your nice review of our Orca Waters Explorer tour. Both Lexie and Dave commented on what such a great trip it was and the good times they had with you and your family. I will be sure to pass your comments along to them.

I hope you and your family can join us on another adventure soon.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our family (2 girls aged 7 and 9) went on the 3 nights Orca Family tour and brought home a lot of stories to share! Spotting orcas, humpbacks, porpoises, seals, sea lions, jumping salmon, bald eagle, belted kingfisher, rhinoceros auklet and more wildlife from a kayak is quite amazing.

We had such a great time because of our knowlegdeable guide Andrew, who was very well organised, patient, offered us a safe environment, served great food and created a happy atmosphere for us to enjoy.

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for joining us this summer with your family and your nice review of your family trip. Sharing the area and wildlife with you and your family was a treat and one of my favourite trips of the summer.

Hope to see you and your family on the water again sometime soon.

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews