We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
What a trip

Wonderfull Kayak trip around basecamp. On our 1st day we already saw orcas and humpback whales from... read more

Reviewed October 24, 2018
Ivar1970
,
Kapellen, Belgium
Outstanding company with focus on safety and enjoyment - loved it

We nearly booked a tour with another company but so glad we went with Kingfisher. We also booked... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2018
NewcastleKiwigirl
,
Newcastle, Australia
Read all 119 reviews
  
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
112
3
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
3
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews base camp haida gwaii johnstone strait hanson island pre trip bird life bald eagles cheesecake dry bags telegraph cove amazing trip fresh fruit black bear resort single kayaks food was amazing experienced kayakers every night
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 119 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2015

Fantastic experience - wild and quiet area with beautiful flat water for our kayaking (lucky!)
Very capable guides - friendly and informative with nothing too much trouble for them. Felt very welcome and a very relaxing holiday.
Great views of wildlife - heaps of orcas and a very close encounter with a humpback but we never felt uneasy as the guides managed the group well.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank 618jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2015

Hi 618Jenny,


Thank you for.taking the time to write a review. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us. We look forward to seeing you an another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2015

Gorgeous area, great equipment, guides, food, accommodations. Lots of wildlife. A group of sea lions followed us of about an hour. Magical.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2015

Hi Dawn,

Thank you for the taking the time to write a review. We were happy to have you join us and we hope you can join us on another adventure soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2015

My girlfriend and I went on the 8 day Southern Haida Gwaii trip. It was so simple, everything was provided and we felt safe and comfortable the whole time. Our guides were knowledgable and experienced and wen tht extra mile to ensure we had a great time!

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2015

Hi Penny,

Thank you for the review of your Southern Gwaii Haanas Explorer tour. Gwaii Haanas is a special and we are happy we can make it accessible for people to enjoy.

We hope to see you on another adventure soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2015

My wife and I went on a 6-day kayaking adventure with my family in the Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve with Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures in August/September, 2015. It was an amazing adventure, in a world class location with top-rate guides.

The trip was very well-organized by Kingfisher, from the time we got off the plane in Sandspit, to getting back on the plane just over a week later. Kingfisher had great arrrangements with the local outfitters, which included a B&B where we could stay and a shuttle and zodiac ride to and from-our put-in point. They handled all of the gear, had detailed packing lists for us, and led a pre-trip briefing the night before heading out, all of which made for a logistically pleasant experience.

The location was incredible! There were many beautiful creatures, plants, and landscapes for us to see (and our guides were most knowledgable in explaining them). The weather was unpredictable and at times inclement, but it all added to the adventure, especially under the care of competent guides, and under the layers of PFD and paddling jacket. The beaches and camp sites we got to stay at and explore were phenomenal--lots of old-growth trees, soft moss for tents, and sea shell-laden tidal pools.

The two guides we had on our trip (Sarah and Angela) were excellent. They were competent, organized, worked well as a team, and were good at keeping us motivated and keeping our spirits up in challenging stretches of paddling or inclement weather. And let's not forget their cooking skills!

The trip had some challenging moments due to weather and fatigue, but in my mind, that's all part of the fun and adventure of it.

Thanks for a great trip!
Matt

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2015

Hi Matt,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share some of your photos from your Gwaii Haanas tour. Gwaii Haanas is certainly a special place.

Sarah and Angela are a couple of great guides and I will be sure to pass your comments on to them.

We hope to see you on another adventure soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2015

The location was just beautiful and the experience was truly excellent. I and my family had a great time. The whale experience was of high quality and the camping was well catered for.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2015

Hi Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was great having you join us again, and that this time around your family could join you.

Hopefully you can all join us on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews