We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tour areas include Johnstone Strait and Nuchatlitz Inlet on Vancouver Island, Gwaii Haanas National Park on Haida Gwaii, and the Great Bear Rainforest on BC's central coast. No experience is necessary for most tours and family friendly departures available.
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Kingfisher is an amazing company! Guest safety and satisfaction are the top priorities, closely followed by minimal environmental impact (key reason we selected them). Kingfisher succeeds on all three objectives. The guides are knowledgeable and friendly, making efforts all day long to ensure guest happiness. Imagine after a day of paddling you are told to relax and await the soon to be delivered appetizers! Which leads to the food; awesome and all that you could want! Imagine linen and dishware on a rock at lunch watching out for whales and you have it.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi Brad,

Thank you for.taking the time to write a review and sharing your humpback whale photo. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us. We look forward to seeing you an another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"base camp"
in 36 reviews
"haida gwaii"
in 8 reviews
"johnstone strait"
in 10 reviews
"hanson island"
in 12 reviews
"pre trip"
in 7 reviews
"bird life"
in 7 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 15 reviews
"cheesecake"
in 5 reviews
"dry bags"
in 5 reviews
"telegraph cove"
in 13 reviews
"amazing trip"
in 8 reviews
"fresh fruit"
in 4 reviews
"black bear resort"
in 4 reviews
"single kayaks"
in 4 reviews
"food was amazing"
in 4 reviews
"experienced kayakers"
in 3 reviews
"every night"
in 4 reviews
Filter

54 - 58 of 119 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2016

We did the 4 day base camp with Orcas trip for part of our honeymoon in June/July. The experience was excellent. Wildlife all over the place. We saw humpbacks breaching the water on several occasions, loads of seals and sea lions, eagles, Dall porpoise, white sided dolphins.. It was incredible scenery too. Kelly and Kelsey were our guides. They were very experienced and had lots of knowledge. The food was delicious and such a great variety considering we were on an island for 4 days. The equipment was great and camp very well thought out. We can't recommend this company enough. We will be back for the 6 day trip as we must see those Orca. We will come at the right time next time haha.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Jennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2016

Hi Jennie,

I am happy to hear that you had such a good time with us during your honeymoon. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Kelly and Kelsie.

We hope to have you join us on a longer adventure sometime soon (choose a trip in mid-July or later for the best chances of viewing orcas).

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2016

What a fantastic experience. Find a way to do this.

We had four days out with Andrew and Lexie on the Orca Waters Tour, base camping on Hansen Island.

The wildlife was amazing - big and small. Humpbacks and Orca right with us in the water. But also a myriad of life in the water (salmon, seals, sea lions) and flying around (eagles, ducks, and others).

And the scenery is spectacular.

Our guides were friendly , helpful and knowledgeable - and the food was delicious.
Campsite was well done - comfortable beds and private tent sites.

All the gear was well suited to the task - double and single kayaks. The paddling was not strenuous, but a good days exercise. Andrew and Lexie know the area very well, so we were always in the right place to see wildlife and not fight the currents.

Tip - follow the gear list - we had warm dry weather in August and it was still cold at night. And even polyprop didn't dry that well.

Another Tip - don't go for a swim, the water is freezing! Even if the top inch has warmed up during the day.

Totally recommend this to anyone who loves nature.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Bruce454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2016

Hi Bruce,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. It was a pleasure having you join us at the base camp and I will be sure to pass your comments on to Lexie as well

We hope to see you on adventure sometime soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2016

I took the "Orca waters explorer" tour two years ago, and all I can say is that it was the best experience of my life! We've seen lots of humpbacks, orcas, sea lions and other marine life, the scenary was very beautiful, the tour guides were extremely friendly, helpful and the most important..they are very respectful towards nature and wildlife!

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank AdaCioban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2016

Hi AdaCioban,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your trip with us. We hope to see you on the water again some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2016

What an amazing place to share with my family! Wildlife of all varieties and a base camp that was amazingly comfortable. Great guides. Thanks for an experience we will never forget.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Hi Chris,

It was great kayaking with you and your family. Seeing the girls' reactions to the orcas and humpback whales was fantastic. Hope to see you on the water again soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips also viewed

Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing