We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip was excellent!”

Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fully outfitted and guided sea kayaking tour of Northern Vancouver Island, Haida Gwaii, and the Great Bear Rainforest in British Columbia, Canada. Tours range from stays at Kingfisher's comfortable base camps surrounded by abundant wildlife to more remote and rugged expedition style tours. No experience is necessary for most tours and family friendly departures are available.
Reviewed August 14, 2016

This experience was everything we hoped it would be. We saw plenty on our kayak tour (beginner kayakers here, with two children ages 9 and 6) and our guide Kelsey was very patient with the kids, even making it her personal mission to help my son catch a jellyfish in a jar (and of course, put it safely back where it belonged). We saw humpbacks, Dall's porpoises, and a sea lion that seemed to followed us to our lunch destination, seals, eagles and all sorts of tidal pool life. The orcas swam right by base camp and we had a fantastic view of them as they swam by. The camping was great! The food is truly amazing and again, Kingfisher went out of their way to make sure our incredible picky daughter would have stuff to eat that she liked (her brother is a more adventurous eater). I really feel like we could have done another day....I was sad to leave and really jealous of the next group coming in as we were leaving. However we did spend a great afternoon wth Kim in Telegraph Cove and my son really loved the Whale Interpretative Center. He was jabbering to anyone who would listen about whales on our flight home. This is a trip that is definitely worth doing....more than once!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank 683jeannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi Jeanne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to know you and your family enjoyed your trip with us. I will be sue to pass your comments along to Kelsie and Kim. We look forward to seeing you an another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"base camp"
in 36 reviews
"haida gwaii"
in 8 reviews
"kayak trip"
in 11 reviews
"johnstone strait"
in 10 reviews
"hanson island"
in 12 reviews
"pre trip"
in 7 reviews
"bird life"
in 7 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 15 reviews
"cheesecake"
in 5 reviews
"dry bags"
in 5 reviews
"telegraph cove"
in 13 reviews
"sea kayaking"
in 6 reviews
"amazing trip"
in 8 reviews
"fresh fruit"
in 4 reviews
"black bear resort"
in 4 reviews
"single kayaks"
in 4 reviews
"food was amazing"
in 4 reviews
Filter

48 - 52 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2016

4 day orca & whale kayak trip was fantastic!! Came across several Orca pods and Humpback Whales with exceptionally helpful and patient guides. Dave & Agnes offered insight into the whales we were watching and in the case of Agnes, added a First Nation cultural viewpoint that was very educational. We traveled with our two teenage boys who greatly enjoyed the nature and camping experience despite having to leave the electronics at home. We would highly recommend this trip, the scenic beauty and nature were amazing.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Edgar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi Edgar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing some photos from your trip. I am happy to know you and your family enjoyed your trip with us. We look forward to seeing you an another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016

A 16 day trip through the incredible Gwaii Haanas national park (formerly Queen Charlotte Islands). Kingfisher were outstanding - the guides were incredible, and all the gear was high quality and in excellent condition. Stunning wild campsites on beautiful, unspoiled beaches, great food around driftwood campfires, and tents in among the moss-covered ancient cedar forests. Around us, traces of the First Nations could be seen - here a scar on a tall cedar, there a half-finished dugout canoe, sinking slowly into the moss. Whales on the horizon, porpoises on the bow. Paddling was not overly strenuous, and suitable for most ages. Go as soon as you can!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank LightflowMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi LightflowMark,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your "Ultimate Gwaii Haanas Explorer" kayak tour. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us and we look forward to seeing you on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Just came back from the 4 day whales and grizzly bear basecamp trip and am still smiling! My family and I went out as beginner kayakers and had a blast traversing through the Johnstone Strait. Ali and Renee (our guides) took exceptional care of us and made it a point to show us the beauty of the area from the sea kelp to the orcas and the adorable seal pups that followed us around one afternoon. It was so incredible to hear the whales travelling past our campground every night! I will definitely go back and this next time, I'm taking 7 of my closest friends/family with me to share this incredible experience. Such an adventure!!! Thanks to Andrew, Ali & Renee for the trip of a lifetime!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank rhondag15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi Rhonda,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your Whales and Grizzly bears tour. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us and we look forward to seeing you (plus friends and family) on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Two weeks paddling from Klemtu to BellaBella in Great Bear Rainforest of BC - my third extended trip with Kingfisher (Haida Gwaii in 2011 and Great Bear in 2013). Each trip was amazing in its own right, affording a wide-ranging experience of what each area had to offer: paddling and camping in varied conditions, the wildlife to be found on land and on the waters, First American cultures that have inhabited the region for millennia, extraordinary vistas and sunsets, and fabulous people with hom to share the experience. Our guides on each trip took the trouble to learn each clients' hopes and expectations, and do their best (weather and other conditions permitting) to tailor an experience that would fulfill them. On each trip, I learned a great deal, in a safe environment, while having loads of fun.
As a native of the eastern United States, I have been again and again astounded by the extent and majesty of the wilderness in coastal BC, the scale of the first growth forests in Haida Gwaii to be sure, and in both areas the diversity of life to be found in the forests and waters, and especially the intertidal zones. On this most recent trip, we found wolf and bear tracks, saw deer gamboling at waters edge and swimming between islands, minks scrambling along a white sand beach at sunset, humpback whales feeding in a channel a few yards from our campsite, seals, sea lions, and river otters, eagles, ravens, osprey, herons, harlequin ducks, oystercatchers.... I cannot begin to name all of the stars, jellies, anemones, urchins, crabs, sea cucumbers, and other life in the shallows. Our special treat this trip while paddling on the outer coast was to encounter dozens of sea otters playing in and around kelp forests, some with their babies playfully clinging to their bellies as they swam.
Paddlers should have intermediate skills, have some experience kayak camping and be moderately fit for these expeditions.The boats were top quality expedition kayaks and fully loaded, which made them very stable on the water but also required some heavy lifting by the group to get them up beyond the level of the next high tide when landing to set up camp for the night (tides range about 15-20 feet). Kingfisher provided quality camping equipment (tents and tarps, Thermarests, sleeping bags, etc.) and a fully equiped, well-stocked kitchen--suffice to say our experience of wilderness camping was a pampered one, with a varied menu of breakfasts, lunch, dinner and snacks that incorporated fresh fruits and vegetables throughout the two week journey. We didn't do any fishing this time, but one of the highlights of a previous trip was the fresh-caught salmon Andrew prepared over an open fire on the beach.
Kingfisher is outstanding. Andrew recruits and develops excellent people to lead his trips. He maintains excellent, respectful relationships with the First American peoples in the area. His trips are well planned and respectful of the environments visited.
My trips provided, as several previous posters have noted, many lifetime memories, of a beautiful part of the world, of great people, of personal challenges met. Thank you, Andrew, and Don and Allie, Jeremy, Silke and Darren --you're great!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi Oliver,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth review highlighting all three tours you have done with over the years. I am happy to know you enjoyed your latest trip with us and hopefully we will have you join us on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures also viewed

Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing