We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't imagine better guides!”

Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tour areas include Johnstone Strait and Nuchatlitz Inlet on Vancouver Island, Gwaii Haanas National Park on Haida Gwaii, and the Great Bear Rainforest on BC's central coast. No experience is necessary for most tours and family friendly departures available.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

We did the Southern Gwaii Hanaas trip with guides Beth Anne and Jake in July. The weather was great, the scenery and the paddling were spectacular, and the guides were amazing. They were always attentive to our comfort and safety. Their knowledge of the tides and currents, the flora and fauna and the history of the area was impressive, and they were just great fun people to be with. The food was nutritious, balanced and freshly prepared. Our group got along amazingly well and it seemed we never stopped laughing. Highly recommended.

Thank DAGWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi DAGWR,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your "Southern Gwaii Haanas Explorer" kayak tour. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us. I will be sure to pass your comments along to Beth Anne and Jake. We hope to see you on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"base camp"
in 29 reviews
"johnstone strait"
in 8 reviews
"hanson island"
in 10 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 14 reviews
"pre trip"
in 6 reviews
"dry bags"
in 5 reviews
"fresh fruit"
in 4 reviews
"telegraph cove"
in 11 reviews
"single kayaks"
in 4 reviews
"high quality"
in 4 reviews
"every night"
in 4 reviews
"black bear resort"
in 3 reviews
"experienced kayakers"
in 3 reviews
"quinoa salad"
in 3 reviews
"local knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"natural environment"
in 3 reviews
"food was amazing"
in 3 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

Thank you for a wonderful trip! Excellent guides Silke and Pete, beautiful old growth forest, amazing wildlife, particularly the intertidal marine life, and great freshly cooked food :) Great flexibility in planning our route with the changing wind and tides - it was really special to be able to arrive at Skung Gwaii by kayak despite the challenges.

Thank feffajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi feffajj,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your "Southern Gwaii Haanas Explorer" kayak tour. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us. I will be sure to pass your comments along to Silke and Peter. We hope to see you on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2016

This experience was everything we hoped it would be. We saw plenty on our kayak tour (beginner kayakers here, with two children ages 9 and 6) and our guide Kelsey was very patient with the kids, even making it her personal mission to help my son catch a jellyfish in a jar (and of course, put it safely back where it belonged). We saw humpbacks, Dall's porpoises, and a sea lion that seemed to followed us to our lunch destination, seals, eagles and all sorts of tidal pool life. The orcas swam right by base camp and we had a fantastic view of them as they swam by. The camping was great! The food is truly amazing and again, Kingfisher went out of their way to make sure our incredible picky daughter would have stuff to eat that she liked (her brother is a more adventurous eater). I really feel like we could have done another day....I was sad to leave and really jealous of the next group coming in as we were leaving. However we did spend a great afternoon wth Kim in Telegraph Cove and my son really loved the Whale Interpretative Center. He was jabbering to anyone who would listen about whales on our flight home. This is a trip that is definitely worth doing....more than once!

1  Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi Jeanne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to know you and your family enjoyed your trip with us. I will be sue to pass your comments along to Kelsie and Kim. We look forward to seeing you an another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016

4 day orca & whale kayak trip was fantastic!! Came across several Orca pods and Humpback Whales with exceptionally helpful and patient guides. Dave & Agnes offered insight into the whales we were watching and in the case of Agnes, added a First Nation cultural viewpoint that was very educational. We traveled with our two teenage boys who greatly enjoyed the nature and camping experience despite having to leave the electronics at home. We would highly recommend this trip, the scenic beauty and nature were amazing.

Thank Edgar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi Edgar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing some photos from your trip. I am happy to know you and your family enjoyed your trip with us. We look forward to seeing you an another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2016

A 16 day trip through the incredible Gwaii Haanas national park (formerly Queen Charlotte Islands). Kingfisher were outstanding - the guides were incredible, and all the gear was high quality and in excellent condition. Stunning wild campsites on beautiful, unspoiled beaches, great food around driftwood campfires, and tents in among the moss-covered ancient cedar forests. Around us, traces of the First Nations could be seen - here a scar on a tall cedar, there a half-finished dugout canoe, sinking slowly into the moss. Whales on the horizon, porpoises on the bow. Paddling was not overly strenuous, and suitable for most ages. Go as soon as you can!

1  Thank LightflowMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi LightflowMark,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your "Ultimate Gwaii Haanas Explorer" kayak tour. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us and we look forward to seeing you on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips also viewed

Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing