We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
SO much wildlife, incredible food, and awesome people!!!!!

We had such an awesome time on our trip. We had exceptional luck seeing wildlife, we saw humpback... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2021
P6420ZHsabrinac
Kayaking Haida Gwaii with the best

Everything about our trip with Kingfisher was exceptional: - planning and communication around... read more

Reviewed August 24, 2021
DKMBC
,
North Vancouver, Canada
via mobile
Read all 138 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Vancouver Island
from US$101.63
More Info
from US$127.89
More Info
from US$187.50
More Info
from US$77.37
More Info
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
131
3
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
131
3
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews haida gwaii base camp sleeping bags kayak trip hanson island johnstone strait dry bags marine life sea lions pre trip information equipment provided other guests fresh meals plenty to eat culinary skills trip exceeded my expectations wilderness adventure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 138 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2016

We did the Southern Gwaii Hanaas trip with guides Beth Anne and Jake in July. The weather was great, the scenery and the paddling were spectacular, and the guides were amazing. They were always attentive to our comfort and safety. Their knowledge of the tides and currents, the flora and fauna and the history of the area was impressive, and they were just great fun people to be with. The food was nutritious, balanced and freshly prepared. Our group got along amazingly well and it seemed we never stopped laughing. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi DAGWR,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your "Southern Gwaii Haanas Explorer" kayak tour. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us. I will be sure to pass your comments along to Beth Anne and Jake. We hope to see you on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

Thank you for a wonderful trip! Excellent guides Silke and Pete, beautiful old growth forest, amazing wildlife, particularly the intertidal marine life, and great freshly cooked food :) Great flexibility in planning our route with the changing wind and tides - it was really special to be able to arrive at Skung Gwaii by kayak despite the challenges.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank feffajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi feffajj,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your "Southern Gwaii Haanas Explorer" kayak tour. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us. I will be sure to pass your comments along to Silke and Peter. We hope to see you on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2016

This experience was everything we hoped it would be. We saw plenty on our kayak tour (beginner kayakers here, with two children ages 9 and 6) and our guide Kelsey was very patient with the kids, even making it her personal mission to help my son catch a jellyfish in a jar (and of course, put it safely back where it belonged). We saw humpbacks, Dall's porpoises, and a sea lion that seemed to followed us to our lunch destination, seals, eagles and all sorts of tidal pool life. The orcas swam right by base camp and we had a fantastic view of them as they swam by. The camping was great! The food is truly amazing and again, Kingfisher went out of their way to make sure our incredible picky daughter would have stuff to eat that she liked (her brother is a more adventurous eater). I really feel like we could have done another day....I was sad to leave and really jealous of the next group coming in as we were leaving. However we did spend a great afternoon wth Kim in Telegraph Cove and my son really loved the Whale Interpretative Center. He was jabbering to anyone who would listen about whales on our flight home. This is a trip that is definitely worth doing....more than once!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank 683jeannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi Jeanne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to know you and your family enjoyed your trip with us. I will be sue to pass your comments along to Kelsie and Kim. We look forward to seeing you an another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016

4 day orca & whale kayak trip was fantastic!! Came across several Orca pods and Humpback Whales with exceptionally helpful and patient guides. Dave & Agnes offered insight into the whales we were watching and in the case of Agnes, added a First Nation cultural viewpoint that was very educational. We traveled with our two teenage boys who greatly enjoyed the nature and camping experience despite having to leave the electronics at home. We would highly recommend this trip, the scenic beauty and nature were amazing.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Edgar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi Edgar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing some photos from your trip. I am happy to know you and your family enjoyed your trip with us. We look forward to seeing you an another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016

A 16 day trip through the incredible Gwaii Haanas national park (formerly Queen Charlotte Islands). Kingfisher were outstanding - the guides were incredible, and all the gear was high quality and in excellent condition. Stunning wild campsites on beautiful, unspoiled beaches, great food around driftwood campfires, and tents in among the moss-covered ancient cedar forests. Around us, traces of the First Nations could be seen - here a scar on a tall cedar, there a half-finished dugout canoe, sinking slowly into the moss. Whales on the horizon, porpoises on the bow. Paddling was not overly strenuous, and suitable for most ages. Go as soon as you can!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank LightflowMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi LightflowMark,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your "Ultimate Gwaii Haanas Explorer" kayak tour. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us and we look forward to seeing you on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews