We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tour areas include Johnstone Strait and Nuchatlitz Inlet on Vancouver Island, Gwaii Haanas National Park on Haida Gwaii, and the Great Bear Rainforest on BC's central coast. No experience is necessary for most tours and family friendly departures available.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Camping. Tents. and great food besides the outstanding guides and kayaking. All in one trip. Pre trip information was great. Peter and Agnes the guides was very attentive
to skill levels, tides, speeds and weather, hump backs, sea lions, and seals. Equipment provided was perfect. But bring more socks! Would go back with them for another trip.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank tjhostenske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi tjhostenske,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your "Orca Waters Explorer" kayak tour. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us. I will be sure to pass your comments along to Peter and Agnes. Hopefully we will see you on another adventure with us some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"base camp"
in 36 reviews
"haida gwaii"
in 8 reviews
"johnstone strait"
in 10 reviews
"hanson island"
in 12 reviews
"pre trip"
in 7 reviews
"bird life"
in 7 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 15 reviews
"cheesecake"
in 5 reviews
"dry bags"
in 5 reviews
"telegraph cove"
in 13 reviews
"amazing trip"
in 8 reviews
"fresh fruit"
in 4 reviews
"black bear resort"
in 4 reviews
"single kayaks"
in 4 reviews
"food was amazing"
in 4 reviews
"experienced kayakers"
in 3 reviews
"every night"
in 4 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 119 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2016

Fabulous trip, wonderful base camp, great guides, excellent food, loads of wildlife - awesome! A really friendly operation, well organised, in a special place. Little beats going to sleep in your tent with humpbacks blowing just offshore. Definitely recommended.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank MikeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi MikeKiwi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your "Whales and Grizzly Bears" base camp kayak tour. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us. We hope to see you on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2016

As two couples, we booked the 4 day Kayaking with Orcas from a base camp. It was a trip of a lifetime! Wildlife showings included porpoises, seals, sea lions, bald eagles, and the grand prize: several episodes of orca sightings. Three very competent and knowledgeable guides led us on kayaking trips around Hanson Island and the Plumpers, and did double duty in the preparation of meals morning, noon and night. No shortage of delicious food servings...a true "float and bloat' experience. The many special moments are difficult to describe: a curious seal popping its head up out of still waters at different points around the kayak pod; five sea lions jumping aggressively in the water together to take a stand against the passing kayak pod; paddling through dense morning fog and hearing the loud blowhole sound of the humpback whale; catching the shrill voice of the orca as a pod puts on a show -- including several dramatic breeches. The majesty of the region and all it holds was on full display. So rewarding.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Seeber2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi Seeber2015,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your "Kayak With Whales" base camo kayak tour. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us. I will be sure to pass your comments along to your guides. We hope to see you on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

What a great experience, in such a beautiful place. The wildlife was amazing to see in such close proximity. Kim and Allie were amazing guides and looked after us brilliantly. Our thirteen year old daughter loved it. I would definitely recommend kingfisher adventures.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank 390jonathanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi Jonathan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your family base camp kayak tour. I am happy to know you and your family enjoyed your trip with us. I will be sure to pass your comments along to Allie and Kim. We hope to see you on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2016

What a great trip. Fantastic for beginners like us - not too strenuous. We saw so much wildlife - orca whales, humpback whales, dall porpoise, sea lions, seals, bald eagles, ravens, and a mink!

The tents and cots were very comfortable, really close to the water, and what a blast to hear the whooosh of a whale passing by in the middle of the night!

The guides, Agnes and Kelly were very well informed and interesting and they kept the camp running smoothly. The food was simple, but good - and the nightly campfire on the beach was lovely.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Dollykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherKayaking, Owner at Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Hi Dollykat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your base camp kayak tour. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip with us. I will be sure to pass your comments along to Kelly and Agnes. We hope to see you on another adventure some time soon.

Regards,
Andrew Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips also viewed

Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Kingfisher Wilderness Adventures - Orca Waters Kayak Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing