We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Must Do in Smithers

A most impressive Museum and art gallery in a Heritage Building. Neat train car outside (radio... read more

Reviewed August 22, 2019
Teresa H
,
Texada Island, Canada
Museum, art gallery, and farmers market on Saturday fun

We were visiting and walking through the town on a Saturday am and we came across the farmers... read more

Reviewed August 4, 2018
Maurizio3030
,
Cairo, Egypt
via mobile
Read all 11 reviews
  
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
4
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
6
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 11 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Very knowledgeable staff. Good Location.Good archives. They organize an annual walking tour of historic buildings in Smithers BC.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Klaus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016

Really interesting place to visit. Staff were helpful and very well informed. The exhibits and the history of the town are well worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Jimbo999186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015

This is a great place to go if you want to learn about the Smithers and area history. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Artifacts are well displayed. They even had a game the kids played to learn about the area.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Wewilling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2015

Unfortunately this museum has very little space to display all that it has. Many things are stored away somewhere. It is interesting as it is but is missing much of the history of the valley because of lack of space.

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank maryfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 13, 2017

Hi Mary, thanks for your comments! We have been taking steps to respond to visitor feedback by ensuring that with each new exhibit we maximize the artifacts and archival materials on display (while still balancing the need for space for a school group to visit, and accessibility for patrons with mobility issues!). To share more of the artifacts that we have in storage, we have a new website called "Collections Online" where we have over 700 artifacts photographed. Our goal is to eventually have all of our artifacts available to the public online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2014

There was some neat things when I was here: things about European settlement; the First Nations of the area; a local inventor who created the egg carton and the club, among other things; and a mysterious post-war plane crash that the US military still won't talk about.

The people working there were personable and friendly (I was still on my first mocha, so maybe a bit too friendly for me that early) as well as knowledgable. Some neat local things in their store as well. Admittance is by donation, I tossed $5 in, bought a postcard, and signed the guest book. Certainly worth a bit of time, and it's very central, so why not?

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank wmcduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews