We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Museum, art gallery, and farmers market on Saturday fun

We were visiting and walking through the town on a Saturday am and we came across the farmers... read more

Reviewed August 4, 2018
Maurizio3030
,
Cairo, Egypt
via mobile
Wonderful Museum

This is a very nice museum for a small town. The staff are there to answer any questions you may... read more

Reviewed August 8, 2017
gjsamson
,
Alberta, Canada
Read all 11 reviews
  
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
4
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
6
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

We were visiting and walking through the town on a Saturday am and we came across the farmers market which had lots of neat things and local meats and vegetables. There was a piano for people to play and the museum and art gallery in a heritage building it was perfect.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Maurizio3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

This is a very nice museum for a small town. The staff are there to answer any questions you may have. The displays are well done.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank gjsamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

This is what all small museums should be -- it's only a few rooms in the old courthouse, but carefully curated. You get a sense of the conflicts that took place in the town's creation, the dispossession of native peoples, and also -- through an exhibition of ephemera -- a sense of everyday life in Smithers over the years. And I found out the Bulkley Valley's claim to world fame -- the invention of the egg carton! I'd urge all TripAdvisor uses to go, and give a small donation to these guys so they can carry on their good work. The museum is just next to the Visitor Information Centre, which is a great resource. I'd recommend half an hour's stop here to gain knowledge of the town's history.

Date of experience: July 2017
3  Thank Philip6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 17, 2017

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the exhibits, and your appreciation for the work that went into creating the displays made our staff smile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Very knowledgeable staff. Good Location.Good archives. They organize an annual walking tour of historic buildings in Smithers BC.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Klaus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016

Really interesting place to visit. Staff were helpful and very well informed. The exhibits and the history of the town are well worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Jimbo999186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews