We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location and Units”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residences at Sun Peaks Grand
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Location and Units”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Delta Residences. Two adults and 2 kids stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. We were all very comfortable. There is a large bedroom and a living area with a fold out bed. It was great having a washer and dryer available to clean clothes. The kitchen is very nice with stainless steel and granite well stocked with pots, pans, utensils, and other necessities. The bathroom is very nice with a separate bath and shower. The Residences sit in the middle of the village and is easy to ski in and out of. The hotel and resort is very family friendly with lots of activities for kids of all ages. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: For nicer rooms in the Delta Hotel, ask to stay in the Residences. Book early as they are popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarkMarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    42
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We chose Sun Peaks after reading trip advisor review and did not regret it. The resort was very quiet with hardly any queue for chair lifts in January. We stayed at the Delta Residence in a 2 bedroom suite which was fantastic for our family. The room was very generous and very well maintained. It is fully serviced which means constant supply of basic needs like teas, coffees, towels, laundry detergent, dishwashing detergent, beds made, etc. There is a microwave, stove/ oven, fridge, hairdryers as well. The 3 hot tubs and swimming pool at the Delta hotel were a hit with our kids.

The only downside to this residence is that the ski valet is located at the hotel part which is a bit of a hike but we didn't mind it. There are ample restaurants adjacent to the residence to keep us happy. There is a good liquor store under the residence which has a good selection of BC wines to sample.

The ski in / ski out makes this place the best location on the resort. If we ever get to come to Sun Peaks again, we most definite will chose Delta Residence as our home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylv_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

So to begin this trip we decided it would be a good choice to pick a location that isn't congested like the several other resorts such as Whistler and Big White. We decided that we wanted to check out the Sun Peaks.

For starters the trip to Sun Peaks was amazing. It was beautiful and dangerous all in one. The coquihalla highway was one treacherous highway. The snow and blocked everything and it was a pain to get through the snow. None the less we made it across without any injuries. We drove through Merritt and Kamloops in order to stock up for gas and food.

We finally hot to our hotel. It was ridiculous that we had to pay $13 for parking for each day even though the entire parking lot was empty. It was also unfair to pay for the parking because at the time they were releasing the coolant from the air conditioning in the parking lot and the smell was unbearable.

Moving on... We checked in very quickly and the hotel room was simply amazing. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a full kitchen. No complaints what so ever with the room. Clean. Tidy. Spacious.

Now the problematic issues:

1.) The resort was EMPTY. We went before the peak season to maximize the value of the resort and to not pay an excessive amount for a winter resort either but we never expected for the shops and hotel to be closed and empty.

2.) All activities on the resort are not fully servicing. You can have a horse carriage ride, but besides that you will have to find ways to entertain yourself.

3.) Parking - Already discussed the parking above but it needs to be highlighted that with an empty hotel room, maybe the hotel should consider compensating the patrons? (too much to ask? maybe? free parking for all customers who give us business in dead season? not good? oh well doesn't hurt to ask.)

4.) Food - Besides the food that is offered from the Hotel's restaurant, its hard to find any other open location. Maybe pizza? But no fast food, no nothing. We drove 40 minutes back down to Kamloops to pick up food from the local Safe way. Not pleased with either the drive or the lack of restaurants at Sun Peaks.

Overall I would rate this trip a success even with these small flaws. I would recommend it to the next person only if they follow the advices such as only travel in the peak season, bring your own food, and park in an empty stall across from the hotel for FREEEEE.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a slights better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We came out of season so as other reviews have alluded, the whole place was empty. The hotel was empty, the resort was empty. We just wanted a one night stopover and this seemed worth the extra drive. With hindsight, it probably wasn't. It's a nice enough hotel, if a little dated. But when you walk in after a long drive, having parked in a large car park with only six other cars, we were a little surprised when we were told we'd still have to pay the $15. When we asked if there was anywhere else to park for free we were told there was public parking but it was essentially a field. When I suggested a little strange to be charging for the parking, the receptionist said she agreed with us but there was nothing she could do. Also, given the hotel was empty it was a little disappointing to be given a room with a view of the car park.

As for the hotel, as a I said, nice enough but not really worth the extra way out of Kamloops.

If you're here for ski season I'm sure it's a different story.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

One of the best resorts in Canada for getting away from the crowds. Hard to get to, but well worth it. Skied all day during spring break and never waited in a line. Great runs at all levels.
The hotel bar and and restaurant were by far the best ones around (also expensive). Plenty of other good restaurants and bars nearby if your on a budget.
The ski town has a local feel even though everything is new. Everyone was friendly and glad to see you.
Ski valet was down by the restaurant and across from the ski rentals. It was like a three hallway walk and elevator ride to the residences. Long walk, but all indoors. You could almost walk half the length of the town indoors. To ski back, you had to make your last run from around back or go up the bunny hill.
Can not go wrong with this resort if you love to ski and don't like crowds.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VIPbeachguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at a 1-bedroom suite. Nice suite, modern kitchen with two LCD TVs, washer, dryer. I was very impressed with the suite until at night. I usually turn off air-conditioning when going to bed. There was a humming sound in the background, very annoying. Didn't have a good night sleep. Next day, talked to the residence manager, she was very helpful and understanding. Showed me several suites in the same building. However, they all had this background humming noise. She even offered a upgrade to a 2-bedroom suite but since the building seemed to be the problem so no point in moving the suite. Later, she sent us a nice fruit basket for apology because she could not resolve my problem.

The hotel should have someone to look into this problem. Perhaps some boiler or something has mis-aligned causing this humming noise. I would have enjoyed my stay because the suite was really nice. Similar to Pan Pacific Mountainside at Whistler. However, I do not think we will return because of this.

One final thing, the suite does not seem to have wi-fi which is a bit of inconvenience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missbodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for one night en route from Jasper to Victoria. Why here? I've no idea as it's a 45 minute detour. Nice hotel but the entire town was empty. It literally felt like an episode of The Prisoner. Really strange.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallyg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun Peaks
Coast Sundance Lodge
#4 of 7 in Sun Peaks
242 reviews
Sun Peaks Lodge
#3 of 7 in Sun Peaks
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heffley Boutique Inn
#6 of 7 in Sun Peaks
94 reviews
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Hearthstone Lodge
#5 of 7 in Sun Peaks
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residences at Sun Peaks Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residences at Sun Peaks Grand

Property: Residences at Sun Peaks Grand
Address: 3250 Village Way, Sun Peaks, British Columbia V0E 1Z1, Canada (Formerly Delta Residences at Sun Peaks)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sun Peaks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Sun Peaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residences at Sun Peaks Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residences at Sun Peaks Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Residences At Sun Peaks Hotel Sun Peaks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing