We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but!!!”

Tide Rip Grizzly Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tide Rip Grizzly Tours Ltd. is a small independent company located in Telegraph Cove on Northern Vancouver Island, British Columbia. For over 15 years, Tide Rip has been leading daily boat-based expeditions to view and photograph the wild grizzly bears and other spectacular wildlife native to coastal British Columbia. We subscribe to the philosophy: 'conservation through coexistence' and endeavour to promote that through outreach education programs and presentations, fundraising projects, and sponsoring conservation NGOs, in addition to our daily grizzly bear tours.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great but!!!”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Was to be the highlight of the trip, but wild animals being wild animals the bears did not co-operate. Although the guides tried their hardest we did not come across bears. Lots of other wildlife was spotted but stings a bit with what you pay for the day.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank bostonleeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    20
    10
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Trip!”
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The guides gave us 110% effort to make sure we got up as close as possible to see bears without disturbing them. We saw whales & dolphins enroute to bear site & the guides made sure we had plenty of photo ops! Everything was well done - guides were enthusiastic & knowledgable - it was a fun, safe trip - even snacks & lunch provided were great!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2016

This has been the most exciting day trip I've ever made. You go into Grizzly Bear territory by shallow draft boat pushed by the guys upstream the river and experience a couple of hours close to them. It seems they don't even notice you. We saw at least 9 bears and heard some more moving behind the bushes.
On the way between Telegraph Cove and Knight Inlet we saw Humpback whales, Killer wales and hundreds of dolphins. Every time the boat was stopped for photo opportunities. The late lunch at their boat exchange dock was also of high quality.
Thank you John and James for this beautiful experience.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ipsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grizzly Bear Tour September 2016”
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Wonderful day with two delightful naturalists who explained everything to us in a very presentable way. We saw grizzlies, dolphins, humpback whales and numerous birds. It was a great day and an enjoyable experience

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank marilynsbca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing tour”
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We saw so many bears in their natural environment. We have to reschedule due to weather and once more for logistics, but it was more than worth it. The guides really knew their stuff and they were informative, patient and aware of all things in the environment. The tour itself was smooth and well organized.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTrav999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tide Rip Grizzly Tours also viewed

Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Tide Rip Grizzly Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing