We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A once in a lifetime experience ”

Tide Rip Grizzly Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tide Rip Grizzly Tours Ltd. is a small independent company located in Telegraph Cove on Northern Vancouver Island, British Columbia. For over 15 years, Tide Rip has been leading daily boat-based expeditions to view and photograph the wild grizzly bears and other spectacular wildlife native to coastal British Columbia. We subscribe to the philosophy: 'conservation through coexistence' and endeavour to promote that through outreach education programs and presentations, fundraising projects, and sponsoring conservation NGOs, in addition to our daily grizzly bear tours.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A once in a lifetime experience ”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

A truly wonderful day, with wonderful staff! We were lucky enough to see about ten bears, one mother and her triplet cubs who passed right by our little boat! An absolutely amazing day!

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank hootwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    20
    10
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic boat trip with amazing scenery and wildlife, especially as the weather was so good and seas calm!”
Reviewed 24 October 2016

As the weather was sunny and warm, we had a very enjoyable boat trip. We were collected from the jetty at Hidden Cove Lodge around 7:00 am and returned back to the Lodge late afternoon. We boated across the Johnstone Strait and into Knight Inlet, finally docking in Glendale Cove. The two guides were very pleasant, chatty, had many stories and provided lots of detailed information on the wildlife, scenery and the different types of bears. During the outbound and inbound trips, hot drinks and snacks were regularly provided. The small motor boats are enclosed and take about 10 tourists, so the trip was relaxed and intimate. There is also an on-board toilet. During our trip, as we went past various islands, we did see eight black bears, foraging along the shores. The boat was taken slowly close to the bears, so we could get some good photos. The black bears were not put off by the boat drifting close by. When we arrived at Glendale Cove, the boat was docked and we then transferred to a shallow-bottomed skiff. The guides then pushed the skiff, as far up the shallow river as possible, before the skiff became grounded, aiming to improve our chances of seeing any brown bears foraging further up the river. We did see four brown (grizzly) bears, one with a cub, further up the river, but unfortunately they did not come any closer, particularly as the salmon were not yet running! We also saw a variety of sea birds, herons and lots of bald eagles. After several hours constantly scanning for any more brown bears, we returned back to the floating dock, where our guides laid out a very good buffet lunch with soft drinks. On our return trip, our guides took us past different islands, passing several commercial fish farms and tourist lodges. We saw some seals and also came across two humpback whales, which were slowly travelling up the Strait. Our boat followed them quite closely for a while, as the whales dived and breached the surface. As the weather was so good and seas calm, we had a brilliant, relaxed and rewarding boat trip. Only downside was that we only saw a few brown bears in the distance and not close up – but then that’s nature and wildlife!! TIP: book early, especially during the holidays.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitwe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tide Rip Grizzly Tour”
Reviewed 16 October 2016

My sister in law and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The guides gave us lots of opportunities to watch the humpback whales and the dolphins on our way to Knight inlet, then didn't rush us at all when we encountered the grizzlies - 8 in all. The guides were very friendly and knowledgeable and even good chefs! The weather even cooperated! What more could anyone want!!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great but!!!”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Was to be the highlight of the trip, but wild animals being wild animals the bears did not co-operate. Although the guides tried their hardest we did not come across bears. Lots of other wildlife was spotted but stings a bit with what you pay for the day.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank bostonleeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Trip!”
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The guides gave us 110% effort to make sure we got up as close as possible to see bears without disturbing them. We saw whales & dolphins enroute to bear site & the guides made sure we had plenty of photo ops! Everything was well done - guides were enthusiastic & knowledgable - it was a fun, safe trip - even snacks & lunch provided were great!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tide Rip Grizzly Tours also viewed

Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Port McNeill, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Tide Rip Grizzly Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing