We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passionate crew members”

Tide Rip Grizzly Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tide Rip Grizzly Tours Ltd. is a small independent company located in Telegraph Cove on Northern Vancouver Island, British Columbia. For over 15 years, Tide Rip has been leading daily boat-based expeditions to view and photograph the wild grizzly bears and other spectacular wildlife native to coastal British Columbia. We subscribe to the philosophy: 'conservation through coexistence' and endeavour to promote that through outreach education programs and presentations, fundraising projects, and sponsoring conservation NGOs, in addition to our daily grizzly bear tours.
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The tide was out so we couldn't get very close to the bears we did see but the crew knew the bears, could tell us things about the individual bears, and educated us on their breeding, feeding, and life-style. Thought it was very informative and the passion that these people have for what they do, blew me away.

Thank Christel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017

We found Tde Rip in 2001 and have revisited three times since. We do a lot of wildlife photography (serious amateur) in Africa and North America and have always been more than happy with the opportunities for photos that this trip affords. The captains / guides are passionate about the bears and other wildlife as well as experienced in ensuring the best angle for shots / light whenever possible (not always possible on a boat but they do their best!)

Nate and James were our crew for this tour and found 8 bears before we even got to Glendale Cove (3 mothers, two with two cubs each and one with one cub, the latter feeding on mussels). In the Cove itself, they quickly assessed the bear activity as well as the tide situation and planned the visit accordingly (spending time with another mother and two cubs, then taking the lunch break early to afford us time to observe more bears further down the estuary as the tide rose). The bears were constantly moving, feeding on the grasses, and so Nate constantly adjusted the viewing vessel to afford all guests the best views. In total, we saw 15 bears and, yet again, were exceptionally happy with the experience. If you are looking for a wildlife experience (for photography or otherwise) with bears in their natural habitat, then this is definitely a great trip. Would not hesitate to recommend this trip to anyone, and we will certainly visit again.

Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wonderfulbc, Front Office Manager at Tide Rip Grizzly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Sounds like an awesome day! We are so happy you enjoyed the tour and have come back multiple times! It is quite the magical adventure and we are happy to share with all. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

This is an expensive day out and we did hesitate because of the cost....but we bit the bullet and booked...actually meant completely changing our holiday timetable to fit it in....was it worth it?
YES, YES, YES!!
A great day out and really worth while. The organisation of the day is good, great boats and fantastic crew with a interesting knowledge and passion for their subject.

Tip..take warm clothes and a warm hat..our day was a bit cloudy and watching the bears is a stand still job which can get cold. Breakfast and lunch provided and both were good.

Take a decent camera with you with a good size memory card and spare battery.

Nice tip...if you have a decent long lens lend it for a few minutes to a fellow bear watcher....I just bought a 70/300 lens and it was just the job..leant my camera to a couple of guests for them to use their own memory card in...made their day and mine too.

Maybe a Tide Rip should consider having a long lens boat camera to lend. A second hand canon with half decent lens would not be too expensive.

Don't hesitate get booked up!

Thanks for a great day
John

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wonderfulbc, Manager at Tide Rip Grizzly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thanks John,
That’s a good idea about the lens and camera. And thanks for the Yes, yes, yes!!
Howard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Knight Inlet is a magical place and to see 4 sets of female grizzlies, 2 with cubs was amazing, I got good shots but you must have a telephoto lens. Close is NOT an option for ALL! The bears need space and we need safety. Guides were good.

Thank lhaan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We did this tour 8 years ago when last on Vancouver Island and our recent tour was even better..Got picked up from Hidden Cove Lodge which saved us a drive Not only saw Grizzlies with cubs (one and first year) lone females and a male, but Orcas and on our return black bears! The team were friendly, professional and very knowledgeable which really helped our viewing.
It's a long day (albeit really enjoyable) so would suggest it's not suitable for young children. Martin UK

Thank martinpc2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tide Rip Grizzly Tours also viewed

 
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Tide Rip Grizzly Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing