We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely breathtaking”

Stubbs Island Whale Watching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: British Columbia’s first whale watching company was established in 1980. Orca (killer whales) and many other marine mammals frequent the Johnstone Strait and Robson Bight area. Telegraph Cove is located on Northern Vancouver Island.We invite you to join us for an exciting sea adventure from Telegraph Cove, the Whale Watching Capital of British Columbia! You’ll love our island, the magnificent mammals, the rare bird species you’ll see, and the friendly people you’ll meet. Depending on the time of year in British Columbia, you may see, Humpback whales, Dall’s or Harbour porpoises, Minke Whales, Pacific White-sided dolphins, Harbour seals, Stellar sea lions, bears, various birds and of course our famous Orca (killer whales).
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Yesterday I had the best day - whale and nature watching with Stubbs Island whale watching from Telegraph Cove on Vancouver Island. The drive there from Campbell River was very scenic, and Telegraph Cove itself is so quaint and historic. The tour was very well-run. The boat was large enough for everyone on board to see. It was comfortable with washrooms and coffee and spaces to sit both inside and outside. But of course the main attraction was the wildlife - three humpack whales who gave us quite a show several times during our trip, sea lions, dolphins and eagles. Zoe our naturalist was very knowledgeable and ensured that we all knew what to look for. She answered all our questions and was very informative. Captain Larry kept us safe and manoeuvered the boat to allow everyone to have the best views. Finally I found that this tour was much less expensive than others I have seen and definitley better and more comfortable than a previous trip I took with another company. Highly recommend this. AND a bonus is the Whale Interpretive Centre which is right on the same dock. It is small but have an amazing number of artifacts and a ton of information about whales. And admittance is by a small donation - well worth the time.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeJaredHowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    45
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING TRIP!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

I live no where near the ocean so I was VERY excited to see three different species of whales in a short 3 hour trip!! A grey whale, a minke whale, and 2 Humpbacks as well as several seals and eagles made the experience very exciting!! The staff knew what they were talking about and were very knowledgable! I would do this trip again in a heartbeat!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmit-Sickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Captain Wayne makes the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Going out early in the year gives more of a wilderness experience. Very few other boats, but lots of wildlife: stellar and harbor seals, minke whale, lots of dolphins and porpoises, and water fowl. Despite the challenging weather captain Wayne and Naomi, the naturalist, gave us a real experience of northern BC. So much so that we were even outfitted with rain gear and thus could spend most of our time outside taking in the sights and sightings

Helpful?
1 Thank Hjordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
“A memorable afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

We did an afternoon whale watching cruise on Sept 26, 2010 and the experience was worth every penny. The vessel we were on was a historic boat originally built in 1957. The boat was comfortable with lots of viewing space and an upper deck. There weren't too many other passengers on the boat so we didn't feel crowded for space. Almost immediately on the tour we saw humpback whales, one came within 10 feet of the boat and we managed to record a video of it breaching. We watched the humpbacks for probably an hour before moving on to other wildlife. We also saw Steller sea lions, Pacific harbour seals, and bald eagles. The only thing we missed were the killer whales (orcas), they had moved south for the day but I don't feel like the experience was diminished because of that. I would absolutely recommend this activity for a memorable day on Vancouver Island.

Helpful?
Thank Leau77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great views of whales!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

This was a terrific trip - bringing us close to whales, birds and a wealth of other wildlife. A comfortable boat, with a friendly and knowledgeable crew plus refreshments on tap in a comfortable itting area.

Helpful?
Thank MaggieT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stubbs Island Whale Watching also viewed

Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Stubbs Island Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing