We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip”

Stubbs Island Whale Watching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: British Columbia’s first whale watching company was established in 1980. Orca (killer whales) and many other marine mammals frequent the Johnstone Strait and Robson Bight area. Telegraph Cove is located on Northern Vancouver Island.We invite you to join us for an exciting sea adventure from Telegraph Cove, the Whale Watching Capital of British Columbia! You’ll love our island, the magnificent mammals, the rare bird species you’ll see, and the friendly people you’ll meet. Depending on the time of year in British Columbia, you may see, Humpback whales, Dall’s or Harbour porpoises, Minke Whales, Pacific White-sided dolphins, Harbour seals, Stellar sea lions, bears, various birds and of course our famous Orca (killer whales).
Reviewed August 23, 2015

I got the last place available on the boat and I thought I was lucky. But boy, you don't know how lucky!! I spent the whole trip watching incredible animals: orcas, sea lions, humpback whales! Of course, you never know what is out there, but this was a great trip. The captain was very kind and enthusiastic and Jackie, the "on board" marine biology expert, the perfect teacher for such a trip. If you are in Telegraph Cove, don't miss this opportunity!! And remember: a hand for you and a hand for the boat ;-) (be careful when you go down those steps...)(if you get on board the Lukwa you will understand)

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank francis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain wayne"
in 117 reviews
"stellar sea lions"
in 51 reviews
"humpback whales"
in 145 reviews
"marine biologist"
in 22 reviews
"pacific white sided dolphins"
in 27 reviews
"great trip"
in 39 reviews
"knowledgeable crew"
in 10 reviews
"lunge feeding"
in 12 reviews
"individual whales"
in 7 reviews
"campbell river"
in 15 reviews
"answer any questions"
in 7 reviews
"mother nature"
in 7 reviews
"bird life"
in 7 reviews
"sea life"
in 18 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 14 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 11 reviews
"worth every penny"
in 13 reviews
Filter

370 - 374 of 813 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2015

We had the ultimate trip saw so many orcas and humpback whales was absolutely breathtaking and 2 humpback whales flunking simultaneously was absolutely out of this world amazing .i have been on this tour several times and would recommend it love love the trip the crew just a wonderful experience!!!!!!!

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Lauriedesbiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2015

Friendly, knowledgeable skipper and great crew on our morning whale watch trip from Telegraph Cove. Saw humpbacks, orcas and sea birds in spectacular setting. Would recommend going from Telegraph Cove since it's a quaint fishing village on the water with interesting information panels describing the former lives of the well-preserved timber buildings. We would have stayed in Telegraph Cove instead of Port McNeill if we'd booked early enough. Almost booked accom at Alert Bay but luckily we booked whalewatch first and were told that it was a ferry ride from the mainland - good to know when you're planning an early start.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank vidaroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2015

The company is very proficient at what they do – a smooth and well delivered high quality service – friendly and expert staff, comfortable and safe boat, clear and information-rich interpretation, great views of humpback whales, harbour seals, porpoises, sea lion, eagles, salmon and fabulous views of Vancouver Island and the countless islands and bays.
The area where these tours take place, off Telegraph Cove, is relatively calm, so the members of my family who had been very sea sick on another whale watching tour we did out of Tofino on the west side of Vancouver Island, were all perfectly fine on the Stubbs Island tour. So, no worries in that department.
I corresponded with the Company by e-mail in advance when planning my trip, and they were very helpful. Thank you!
They do exactly what they say with do, with style and professional expertise. We really enjoyed everything about the tour and would do it again and again.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Obmit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful trip with captain Wayne. Stubbs staff comes across as very caring about the wildlife you're viewing on their tour. We saw a lot of killer whales, but also heard about stories about people who didn't saw a thing on their tour that week because of the fog. It might we worthwhile checking the cancellation policy in those situations. If the weather is good I'm convinced that you'll see whales on every tour they do, it is a nice area for wildlife spotting.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Suzy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stubbs Island Whale Watching also viewed

Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 
Telegraph Cove, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Stubbs Island Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing