We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully presented entrees”

Toscano's Mediterranean Grill
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Comox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a modern West Coast Italian restaurant featuring our local farms, wineries and fisherman. Our fresh pasta is made in house daily and all our food is done from scratch.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal on our last night in Comox. Very pleasant and friendly staff. My husband loved the sausage & pepper penne arrabbiata, excellent but be aware it's spicy! The pan seared Lois lake steelhead was good. They gladly accommodated a tree nut allergy and substituted the romesco nut sauce with a mustard tapenade for the chorizo stuffed chicken breast which was very good. On Wednesday nights they have a nice 1/2 L red wine for $14. We didn't have dessert but had a complimentary plate of chocolate cups with lemon filling on a bed of berry puree, yummy! Highly recommend Toscano's. Ask for a seat by the window for a better view of the harbour.

1  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 242 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

Loved everything. Brought our own wine. Nice young lady served us. Might be best food in town. So glad Kevin is back.

2  Thank saltyhotshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

We hadn’t been to Toscano’s since Bill and Wendy left. Tonight we were in for a big surprise. Moscow Mule Monday. Rob gave us a great welcome; one of the most personable and fun waiters we have ever met. We had three different appetizers between us. All superbly presented and absolutely delicious. The divine chocolates with our bill, were the icing on the cake. A fabulous experience, including a packed restaurant. We look forward to returning many times. Thank you for being a great addition to the ComoxValley.

3  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toscanos T, General Manager at Toscano's Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

Thank you for your kind words! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward serving you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018

We haven't been here for a number of years, but decided to go mostly based on Tripadvisor reviews. It was quite busy when we arrived at 7, but our table was ready almost immediately and service was reasonably prompt throughout. We each had the 3 course menu, and wound up ordering the same thing for appetizer and main course: the grilled Octopus salad and the Sablefish main course. The Octopus was very tender and this doesn't always get done right - get it wrong and octopus can be quite tough. The sauces were a good complement and didn't overpower the octopus.

The sablefish was also done just right; seared and crispy on the very outside and juicy and tender inside. No part was raw, but nothing was overdone either. Some fresh broccolini, peppers etc. complemented it well.

Desert was very generous; I had a deconstructed lemon tart (it had obviously been a huge tart) and my companion had sorbet due to her dairy allergy.

The food was very fresh, perfectly prepared and then the bill was very modest. Decor was fairly plain, but that helps keep the price down. Service was attentive but never annoying or overbearing, and very pleasant and friendly. We'll definitely come again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Henning W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toscanos T, General Manager at Toscano's Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

We are very pleased that you chose to dine at Toscanos and just wanted to thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

Haven't been to comox in awhile and decided to give it a try on our last evening in town. The atmosphere is great, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is absolutely mind blowing. I thought my entree of prosciutto wrapped tuna loin would have been the highlight of the night, but things got even better and it took everything to a whole new level of awe inspiring when the waitress placed the deconstructed lemon tart on the table. Probably the best meal Ive had in several years. The food is beautiful, consistent and simply spectacular. Definitely worth a visit if you're passing through the area, visiting or already living here.

3  Thank DudeWithAFish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toscanos T, General Manager at Toscano's Mediterranean Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us! Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your experience. We look forward to serving you again next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toscano's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

Comox, Comox Valley
Comox, Comox Valley
 
Comox, Comox Valley
Courtenay, Comox Valley
 

Been to Toscano's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing