We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
188
201
120
80
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
201
120
80
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub craig bay indoor pool full kitchen vancouver island bedroom unit nice resort gas fireplace washer dryer goats on the roof exercise room resort staff view of the water change rooms minute drive parksville area underground parking
Filter
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 647 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We won a coupon to stay for 2nights for the price of 1 at the Pacific Shores, and we had a great experience. The apartment was 515A located just in front of the beach, really well equipped and nicely decorated. We ate at the restaurant the first night, the food was really good and the service perfect and the decorum exceptional!. The amenities were very well maintained. We can only rave about the resort and our stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brise1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in early Sept. 2011. Reserved a 2BR thru RCI - what we got was a regular room plus hotel room, opening the common door. Worked out ok, but still felt a bit cramped. We were in the 700 building, which I believe is the oldest building, and it showed. We had torn & stained wallpaper, along with a slightly stained table on the balcony. Not a big deal, but still...
One of the outdoor whirlpools never did function while we were there. In-room internet worked fine.

We ate in the restaurant once, felt it was pricey for the quality.

The location is good for visiting various parts of the island. It wasn't a long way to go into Parksville for groceries, and we had a pretty good view from the balcony, so eating at the condo was nice and relaxing. The BBQ's (ground level) were rather slow/lower heat, but we adjusted.

The grounds were well kept, and the option of using the kayaks (free) was a fun thing to do.

Room Tip: Upper floors in the 700 building will have a better view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We booked our room through RCI. Had lots of doubts about the resort as the reviews seemed mixed. BUT, from the moment we arrived until we left our visit was absolutely picture perfect.
Our room was unit 621. We had an amazing few of the bay. Our room was spotless and spacious. We had tons of privacy when we wanted it and plenty of direction when we asked for it. This property is magnificent and we would love to come back again. Only problem being...don't know how it could be topped.

Room Tip: Seriously, I think we had one of the absolute best rooms in the entire complex. Ask for building 6 and a room on the second floor facing the bay.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CinDUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed for two nights in the 700 unit. The room was nice. It had a fireplace, a TV, DVD player, a sofa, a chair, and a king size bed. It also had a bar fridge, a coffee maker and a toaster. We had underground parking, which was a great bonus. The resort was lovely with beautiful landscaping and a trail along the bay. We took advantage of the free kayaks and the hiking trails. I really enjoyed the city of Parksville and its proximity to Cathedral Grove, Englishman Falls and Coombs (Goats on the Roof). My only complaint about the room was that there was no hand towel rack or soap dish in the bathroom. Minor details, really. I would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We arrived a bit before the 4 pm check in time but were given our one bedroom unit right away. The young lady was polite and friendly.
Our unit was located on the ground floor and our only view was of the indoor pool across from a maintenance parking pad. Please note that not all rooms have ocean or garden views. The unit was fine for two people but would not be suitable for any more adults.
The kitchen is very tiny with limited counter space. It does have all the appliances including a small dishwasher. We were impressed by the fact that it had a fully stocked spice rack that helped in the preparation of the meals we cooked. There were dishes and utensils for 6. The dishwasher had soiled dishes in it when we arrived.
There are BBQs available throughout the lovely grounds but very few of them. As we could not get one at dinner time, we ended up cooking in the afternoon and reheating the food for the evening.
Our unit had a washer and dryer, a gas fireplace in the livingroom and a small patio. The patio opened onto a paved walkway so we had no privacy and drew our drapes over some of the windows so people passing by could not look in.
The bathroom was large and had a jacuzzi tub and a separate shower stall. It was well supplied with towels but they must last the whole week. One of them was in shreds but the rest were fine.
Our bedroom had a tv and a queen bed. The sheets were changed mid week which was good as our top sheet had a hole in it. The comforter was quite old and past its prime.
Problems were solved quickly. We had occasion to call twice and had service right away.
The resort is located on Craig Bay which is lovely. The tide comes and goes 5 times daily so each time you walk along the gravel paths, you see it at a different level. The shore is rocky and I would not recommend it for swimming. There. is another beach further up the road more suitable for that. Kayaks are available for the guests to use for no charge. While paddling about a seal popped up next to me.... a great experience!
A minimart is on site which appeared well stocked. We bought newspapers there each morning.
The resort has an indoor pool, outdoor hotubs and a gym.
The resort restaurant features large aquariums stocked with local sealife. We ate luch there one day. It was very good. We did not eat dinner there as we felt it was too expensive.
There is NO airconditioning. There was fan in a closet we used to try and make sleeping more comfortable but it was hot, hot!
The nearby town of Parksville [5 minutes away by car] has everytihng you need....groceries, banks, restaurants, coffee shops and interesting stores in which to shop. Check out has a few problems. Checkout is at 10am. Only one person was at the desk so we all had to queue up. More staff is needed at that time.
The great thing about the resort is its location as you can go on several outings in different locations to see the sights. Vancouver Island is a gem. The rainforest is awe inspiring.

Room Tip: birds is wonderful. The birds are very vocal and beautiful to see. Cathedral Groove is awesome...tall, tall old forest trees and rainforest dripping with moss. See if you can get a room with a view of the sea. Ask for a unit above the ground floor so you have a little privacy as people walk about the walkways that look into the ground floor rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Manitobans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews