We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just "All right"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nanoose Bay
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We spend a girls night out at Pacific Shores. The room was booked through RCI and we stayed in ajoining rooms in Building 7. The rooms were adequate, but could have been so much more if there had been regular maintenance and upkeep. The rooms definitely showed wear and tear. Stained carpets, waterdamaged wallpaper, dirty grout in showers, etc. The underground parking area was being used to store furniture. This resort is going into receiveship, and it shows.

The view was not bad, had a slight water view if you looked overtop of the building housing the indoor pool.

We all took advantage of the Spa, and most were satisfied.

Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aviawest_management, Manager at Pacific Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

We appreciate your feedback. With multiple waterfront and garden view buildings on site, we do follow a renovation and refurbishing program, and apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. The 700 building is in line for refurbishing; as such, we offer rates that match the location and type of suite.
It is important to clarify that Aviawest Resort Group, which began with Pacific Shores in the early 90s, is not in receivership. Rather, the company is involved in a CCAA process with the goal of restructuring its finances for further long-term success.
Thank you again for your comments. We are pleased to read that you would visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

We won a coupon to stay for 2nights for the price of 1 at the Pacific Shores, and we had a great experience. The apartment was 515A located just in front of the beach, really well equipped and nicely decorated. We ate at the restaurant the first night, the food was really good and the service perfect and the decorum exceptional!. The amenities were very well maintained. We can only rave about the resort and our stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brise1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in early Sept. 2011. Reserved a 2BR thru RCI - what we got was a regular room plus hotel room, opening the common door. Worked out ok, but still felt a bit cramped. We were in the 700 building, which I believe is the oldest building, and it showed. We had torn & stained wallpaper, along with a slightly stained table on the balcony. Not a big deal, but still...
One of the outdoor whirlpools never did function while we were there. In-room internet worked fine.

We ate in the restaurant once, felt it was pricey for the quality.

The location is good for visiting various parts of the island. It wasn't a long way to go into Parksville for groceries, and we had a pretty good view from the balcony, so eating at the condo was nice and relaxing. The BBQ's (ground level) were rather slow/lower heat, but we adjusted.

The grounds were well kept, and the option of using the kayaks (free) was a fun thing to do.

Room Tip: Upper floors in the 700 building will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We booked our room through RCI. Had lots of doubts about the resort as the reviews seemed mixed. BUT, from the moment we arrived until we left our visit was absolutely picture perfect.
Our room was unit 621. We had an amazing few of the bay. Our room was spotless and spacious. We had tons of privacy when we wanted it and plenty of direction when we asked for it. This property is magnificent and we would love to come back again. Only problem being...don't know how it could be topped.

Room Tip: Seriously, I think we had one of the absolute best rooms in the entire complex. Ask for building 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CinDUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed for two nights in the 700 unit. The room was nice. It had a fireplace, a TV, DVD player, a sofa, a chair, and a king size bed. It also had a bar fridge, a coffee maker and a toaster. We had underground parking, which was a great bonus. The resort was lovely with beautiful landscaping and a trail along the bay. We took advantage of the free kayaks and the hiking trails. I really enjoyed the city of Parksville and its proximity to Cathedral Grove, Englishman Falls and Coombs (Goats on the Roof). My only complaint about the room was that there was no hand towel rack or soap dish in the bathroom. Minor details, really. I would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We arrived a bit before the 4 pm check in time but were given our one bedroom unit right away. The young lady was polite and friendly.
Our unit was located on the ground floor and our only view was of the indoor pool across from a maintenance parking pad. Please note that not all rooms have ocean or garden views. The unit was fine for two people but would not be suitable for any more adults.
The kitchen is very tiny with limited counter space. It does have all the appliances including a small dishwasher. We were impressed by the fact that it had a fully stocked spice rack that helped in the preparation of the meals we cooked. There were dishes and utensils for 6. The dishwasher had soiled dishes in it when we arrived.
There are BBQs available throughout the lovely grounds but very few of them. As we could not get one at dinner time, we ended up cooking in the afternoon and reheating the food for the evening.
Our unit had a washer and dryer, a gas fireplace in the livingroom and a small patio. The patio opened onto a paved walkway so we had no privacy and drew our drapes over some of the windows so people passing by could not look in.
The bathroom was large and had a jacuzzi tub and a separate shower stall. It was well supplied with towels but they must last the whole week. One of them was in shreds but the rest were fine.
Our bedroom had a tv and a queen bed. The sheets were changed mid week which was good as our top sheet had a hole in it. The comforter was quite old and past its prime.
Problems were solved quickly. We had occasion to call twice and had service right away.
The resort is located on Craig Bay which is lovely. The tide comes and goes 5 times daily so each time you walk along the gravel paths, you see it at a different level. The shore is rocky and I would not recommend it for swimming. There. is another beach further up the road more suitable for that. Kayaks are available for the guests to use for no charge. While paddling about a seal popped up next to me.... a great experience!
A minimart is on site which appeared well stocked. We bought newspapers there each morning.
The resort has an indoor pool, outdoor hotubs and a gym.
The resort restaurant features large aquariums stocked with local sealife. We ate luch there one day. It was very good. We did not eat dinner there as we felt it was too expensive.
There is NO airconditioning. There was fan in a closet we used to try and make sleeping more comfortable but it was hot, hot!
The nearby town of Parksville [5 minutes away by car] has everytihng you need....groceries, banks, restaurants, coffee shops and interesting stores in which to shop. Check out has a few problems. Checkout is at 10am. Only one person was at the desk so we all had to queue up. More staff is needed at that time.
The great thing about the resort is its location as you can go on several outings in different locations to see the sights. Vancouver Island is a gem. The rainforest is awe inspiring.

Room Tip: birds is wonderful. The birds are very vocal and beautiful to see. Cathedral Groove is awesome...t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Manitobans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The resort seems nice but to be honest we didn’t stay one night of our week long vacation in it. The room that was booked for us was a hotel type room below ground and it was dark and very uninviting. We were expecting a room with some kitchen amenities and living comforts. Two of the biggest issues for us were the bathroom was only Shower, toilet and sink, and it was in the front foyer of a larger unit. Although there was a door between the units the proximity was very uncomfortable. The other issue was the Couch in the corner of the room looked right at a blank wall the TV was in front of the bed (that is just bizarre). Also no AC in the room and the furniture is banged up and not well taken care of.
The biggest issue we had was that when we asked about an upgrade, we would be happy to pay for, we were told no. The manager who may have been able to help was out till Monday. Why would you leave staff at a hotel who aren’t authorized to do what is needed to make guests comfortable. Anyway the manager Lawrence did come in on Monday morning but still did not call us, and when we went back to the resort we were told they were still not authorized to assist us and now Lawrence was in a meeting and could not be disturbed. We left our name and number and to this day we have not heard from Lawrence or anyone else at the resort to explain their position or offer us an apology of any kind. To me that is poor, poor customer service. As far as I am concerned not only did the resort not have our business that week (major lost income), I will tell all people who ask that the service is awful and they should stay at the resort down the street.

Room Tip: Dont stay in one of the hotel suites it makes the $88 highway motel look 5star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emptymag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanoose Bay
26.9 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,588 reviews
6.5 km away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
255 reviews
110.9 km away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,353 reviews
1.8 km away
Sunrise Ridge Waterfront Resort
5.9 km away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Shores Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Resort and Spa

Address: 1-1600 Stroulger Rd, Nanoose Bay, British Columbia V9P 9B7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanoose Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nanoose Bay
Price Range: $98 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Shores Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Shores Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel Nanoose Bay
Pacific Shores Resort And Spa Nanoose Bay, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing