We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SunandMarg
Vancouver, Canada

Disappointing stay. Beautiful view

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 14, 2023
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, while our family was in Parksville for a sports tournament.

Pro's:
- The location is fantastic. You are walking distance to the beach, but its far enough from other hotels that it is super quiet even on a busy weekend.
- It's very close to Parksville, restaurants and the highway.
- There is a really big inside pool that the kids loved, with Showers and change rooms
- There is an outside hot tub and wading pool for small kids outside.
- It is pet friendly
- The room we stayed in looked renovated
- The room was clean.
- There is a sofa bed in the living room
- There is a small kitchen
- The patio has a table and chairs to enjoy meals outside.
- There were 2 fans in the closet
- There is a washer and dryer & dishwasher in the room.

Con's:
- The rooms are renovated, but not really well. It looks great in photos, but when you actually look at it, it's not done well. (Its fine for a few days.)
- The beds are NOT comfortable and the pillows are very lumpy. Think sleeping on a bag of cotton balls.
- There are NO windows that open in the room at all. There are two patio doors. At night it got really hot, and stuffy (it's August even with two fans running all night. We stayed in a room on the ground floor and didn't feel comfortable leaving the patio doors open at night.
- The Shower was not thought out when renovated. It looks nice, but there is no door to close, the basin is shallow, and water gets all over the bathroom floor.
- They have free sports rentals but only 8am to 4pm, and it depends on the tide. (paddle boards/Kayaks) The tide needed to be at least 3m we were told to rent a paddle board. That wasn't happening during our stay until late afternoon, every day. So we weren't able to use the amenity during our stay.
- Front desk staff was not friendly.

Overall, for the price of the hotel ($500/night after tax in August) we were expecting more in terms of comfort & service.
But the location, peace and quiet, and beach made up for the areas that fell short.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: If you come with a dog ask for a ground floor room.
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.2 km from Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
5.2 km from Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
    2.6 km from Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
    Free Wifi
      5.3 km from Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      close to everything !
      C$179
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        C$179
      • Booking.com
      4.6 km from Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      C$418
      C$349
      • Priceline
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      5.9 km from Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Comfortable bed
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        C$287
      • Expedia.com
        C$319
      6.0 km from Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      15.8 km from Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      19.8 km from Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • eDreams
      • Vio.com
      1.7 km from Pacific Shores Resort and Spa
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Nanoose Bay
      Reviews (728)
      Filter reviews
      728 results
      Traveller rating
      214
      215
      139
      90
      70
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      214
      215
      139
      90
      70
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews vancouver island sofa bed parksville area tubs suite ocean
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      6 - 11 of 728 reviews
      Reviewed July 14, 2023

      Totally agree with "Me from Canada." There is zero service here. They will not even collect the garbage or used towels, you have to take to the basement yourself. However, the room was very clean when we got here. The spa is not open either. Family friendly = lots of screaming kids right in front of the rentals. Pet friendly = lot of barking dogs. You can hear every door slam all the time and the bed is hard and noisy. Positives are the location with well cared for area and close to beach with sundeck. The in-room laundry and the jetted tub was good. Their ad states free parking but they charge a resort fee of $40. per stay supposedly for parking and wifi. Overall I do not know what I paid $254 per night for. Very poor value for the money. Would not stay again and would not recommend.

      Room tip: Look for a cheaper option on the beach front.
      Date of stay: July 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank Daydream489675
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Guest services, Guest Services / Front Office at Pacific Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2023

      Dear Guest,

      We’re very sorry that your stay wasn’t to your satisfaction. Unfortunately, we’re not able to service in stay rooms at this time and noted on pre arrival reminder and the confirmation letter. With regards to rates, I assure you that our rates are reasonably competitive or lower than other similar Resorts in the area. If we can be any further assistance, or how we could improve our service, please feel free to email us at guestservices@pacificshoresbc.com.
      Sincerely,
      Guest Services

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed July 8, 2023 via mobile

      Would not stay here again, I guess they forgot to tell us that there wasn’t any housekeeping…. At all….Had to go down for clean towels twice, ice machine is in the bottom floor of the main hotel, quite a long distance, no view, looked out at the building at the back of us. The hot tub was very small…pictures of the place are very deceiving. Obvious condo development, around us… heard after we left that the hotel had been bankrupt prior. Walls thin, you could hear everything being said in the next room, was not good value for money…..

      Date of stay: July 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank danrS2699EB
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Guest services, Guest Services / Front Office at Pacific Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2023

      Dear Guest,
      Thank you for your stay at Pacific Shores Resort! We're very sorry to hear that your stay was not to your satisfaction. We have set up auto pre arrival letter to all our arriving guests informing in stay cleaning is not provided at this time, however any extra amenities or linens or towels are provided upon request. If you haven't received one and didn't get notified, we apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We will keep striving to serve our guest's needs as best as possible and we hope you can consider staying with us again in the future. We appreciate for taking your time to write us about your experience. If there's anything else that we could assist, please feel free to email us at GuestServices@pacificshoresbc.com or call us at 250 586 7262.
      Sincerely,

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed May 31, 2023 via mobile

      Unable to add the restaurant as its own entity - Pacific Moon Rising - horrible meal… after touring NZ and Fiji for over 2 months, this was totally our worst meal. After their kitchen not having food after 7pm on Tuesday, we made a reservation for Wednesday evening at 6pm. We showed up to be told that they didn’t have our reservation and they did not have a window seat (we actually popped in at lunch and witnessed the manager writing our names in the book & she noted that we had requested a window seat)… Should have known better and turned around right there and then…. There was a “reserved table” behind us that eventually had the sign removed after we were there for 40 minutes. Took a bit for my beer - understandable - they had to change out the keg… but seemed to take a bit longer than normal.. Hubby ordered the Sockeye Salmon and I ordered the Steak Sandwich - we were going to share…. We got there at 6pm…. Our meal came out shortly after 7pm. Only hot items were the carrot on the salmon and the onion rings on the steak. Everything else, at best was lukewarm. The steak was well done instead of medium and very small - they sliced it - 6 slices. Hubbies salmon was also quite small. Food was tasty, and would have been great if a bit warmer…. Except the fries - I think they dug those out of their dish pit… they were cold, dry, horrible excuses for fries. At $80 before tip, definitely the worse meal we have had out in 2 months. As an aside - I had no fault with the server. Needless to say, I will never visit this restaurant again. While there are not currently a lot of casual eateries available in the Nanoose/Parksville area, I would prefer a Save-On sandwich to their offerings.

      Date of stay: June 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank dd0
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Guest services, Guest Services / Front Office at Pacific Shores Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2023

      Dear Guest,
      Thank you for sharing your experience with us from our on site restaurant. We'll definitely share your feedback with the restaurant management with hope for improvement in the future. We sincerely apologize on their behalf.
      Sincerely,
      Guest Services

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed May 23, 2023

      We stayed here for a girls weekend. This place has an area that is a hotel and the rest are all owned individually. We called a head and found out we could arrive early and use the pool, hot tubs and the beach access, all we had to do was get a key from the front desk.
      On arrival the guy had no problem getting us set up to use the pool areas. He mentioned to come back at noon and see if our room is ready. They offered us towels and off we went. The is a locker room and showers you just need to remember a lock if you would like to lock your stuff up you will need to bring your own lock. It has a nice warm but not overly hot sauna, ok size indoor hot tub and a good size pool. How this was over May Long Weekend it was full of kids and the space really echoed. It would have been nice if there was adult only time, even if it was later or only for an hour. There is also an outdoor hot tub and a small kids pool together. Kids playground closeby. There was a well equipped gym and a game room that offered air hockey and ping pong.
      At noon they checked us into our room. The room was small and basic, the terrace was pathetic. After talking to an owner the hotel has a different set up. So the rooms are xxxxA or xxxxB.So rooms that end with "A" have a kitchenette, living space, bed and bathroom. Rooms that end with "B" can be adjoined, but only have a bed, love seat (sofa bed) and bathroom with a small fridge and Microwave. They were not well insulated. You could hear everyone above you and everyone nice door. There was also no AC and it was very hot. There was a fan but it did not do enough.
      the lobby is big and offers coffee, lots of sitting spaces, They even had a section for gaming that had a playstation and TV.
      The property was large, they offer activities such as paddle boarding, kayaking, pickle ball and boccie ball, etc. The one thing that would have been nice would have been lounge chairs somewhere on the property. There is an on site restaurant that only offers lunch & dinner. If you did want to cook your own meal there was some outdoor grilling areas.

      Date of stay: May 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Amanda M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed May 7, 2023

      While the rooms are a bit dated, they surprisingly spacious and very well equipped. Getting WIFI hooked up was a bit of a trial and could be simplified. The staff could use a lesson in bed--making. But these are details that are soon rectified. A lovely setting in a great location

      Date of stay: May 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank ratherbetravellin
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews