We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of the Groupon customers!”
Review of Steeples Restaurant - CLOSED

Steeples Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beware of the Groupon customers!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A restaurant that has fine dining prices but not service. We were asked as soon as we arrived if we were a "groupon" user -- what difference would it make I wonder? Less food - more food? Better service? I don't think that should make any difference at all -- every customer is important. The food is good but the portions are small for the price. And the servers deliver all drinks etc with their hands wrapped around the glasses & plates --- no trays or holding a plate underneath so their fingers aren't touching the edge of your plate. Does NO-ONE train their servers any more??????? We were celebrating an anniversary so were pretty disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank ChrissyW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    43
    28
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We recently purchased a Groupon for dinner for 4 people. This entitled us to 1 appetizer to share for each couple, an entre and a dessert to share for each couple. We both chose the calamari for our appetizers. It was excellent and the portion was large. For our entres, we had steak and lobster, back ribs x 2 and the stuffed pork roast. All of our meals were wonderful and again a large portion. One had to take hers in a to go bag as it was too big for her to finish. For dessert, we chose the lava cake and upgraded the other dessert to Bananas Foster which was done tableside. The Bananas Foster was to die for! It was so good! A great way to end the meal. The lava cake was good but paled in comparison to the Bananas. The only thing that we didn't like was that the dishes that they use are quite loud when banged in the kitchen. There was quite a bit of noise coming from there which was distracting at times. Also, when I made the reservation, I advised that we were coming for a 69th birthday, however, this was not mentioned during our visit. Small thing but.... Overall, we would recommend the restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice place for dinner”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We went there September the 14th. for dinner. I was a bit hesitant reading some of the reviews. But we were pleasantly surprised. Service was excellent and our food was delicious. We went there with a Groupon and got a choice from the limited menu but could order anything we liked at a surcharge. We had a bottle of Damasco, a white wine with a bit of sparkles. very nice and tasty.
Drinks were well presented and reasonable priced.
as a chef and restaurateur I can recommend this place to anyone looking for a pleasant dining experience, We will be back in the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank swissboy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobble Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in the Valley”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Four friends had a great dinner and evening. The owner made us feel welcome and graciously accepted the Goupon certificate.
The menu was diverse and plentiful and we enjoyed four different entres.
All in all a delightful evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The restaurant was closing when we went in with 2 hungry kids and they were very accomodating. They have a very delicious vegetarian quiche. The restaurant is a little on the pricier side but is comparable to a lot of other good restaurants in that area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ORMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steeples Restaurant also viewed

Shawnigan Lake, Vancouver Island
Shawnigan Lake, Vancouver Island
 
Shawnigan Lake, Vancouver Island
Shawnigan Lake, Vancouver Island
 
Shawnigan Lake, Vancouver Island
Shawnigan Lake, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing